We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best restaurants I have visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santo Coyote

Santo Coyote
Lerdo de Tejada #2379, Guadalajara, Mexico
+52 33 3616 8472
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Santo Coyote is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 486 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Francisco Javier Gamboa & Juan Ruiz de Alarcon
Description: Thirteen Sioux tribes, a thousand rituals, one magical place: Santa Fe, New Mexico. The catholic missions arrived in the area of Albuquerque & there the legend was born. The Great Sioux Chef, whose names means the mix of two cultures & the birth of a third: the pagan religion, we honor this at Santo Coyote. It is a place where the Creole cuisine, great wine, & a great atmosphere, converge to create the true host.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“one of the best restaurants I have visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was there for dinner and had a great time with my wife. We were not expecting to visit such a good restaurant that weekend. Actually, the previous night we visited another Mariachi style restaurant and the experience was average. But we felt so good at Santo Coyote that night that we decided to try the Breakfast Buffet the following morning, and it was excellent as well. Dinner was obviously a little more expensive than the Breakfast buffet, but our plates were cooked to perfection, beverages were perfect as well. Service was excellent in both occasions, actually I tipped the server with 40% due to the great service that morning... in other words it is not pricey at all. I spent waaay more in my hotel mini buffet the morning before (self service)... I am planing my next visit to Guadalajara and this restaurant with some more family soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    146
    75
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Sunday brunch is perfect at Santo Coyote, a family gathering at a restaurant with great food, good service and the nicest restaurant I've ever visited!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREAT FALLS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First and Last Visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had high expectations of this restaurant. We were kept waiting to sit down more than 20 minutes while the restaurant was probably 30% full. The food we were served was unacceptable, the service very poor and the floor show left a lot to be desired. The margaritas were watered down, other drinks did not taste well. The place is very attractive and rustic but the restaurant failed in every respect when it comes to food and service. The price was ridiculous considering the poor dining experience. Never again!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pricey bad food!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Been there three times...and there won't be a fourth one! Food is bad, and prices are "New York style"... Anything is $30-$50 per main entree... The restaurant is nice and different, but if you want to go there, jut go for a drink....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
“How much is a beer or a plain old drink ?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Never been to this joint, just wondering if it's worth it to go sit and have a cold one or a drink. Is there cool music, IDK ?

I was reading a post from a chick named Gail, very messed up crap they pulled on her, I don't wanna go if they are going to be messing with me !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santo Coyote also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Santo Coyote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo Coyote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.