We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tequila

La Tequila
Avenida Mexico #2830 | Colonia Ladron de Guevara, Guadalajara 44600, Mexico
3336403440
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tequila is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 514 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Napoleon
Description: Known for their huge selection of tequila, and the food is excellent as well. A particular standout is the Chile en Nogada, made with 37 different ingredients. ¡Great for business and family!
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The restaurant is very nice - beautiful to look at and a nice, welcoming ambiance. Started out with some great salsa (was a little too spicy for some at the table) and a little cup of some shrimp broth.

Ask for the escamoles and gusanos -I don't believe they're on the menu. If you're visiting from outside Mexico (or you don't have experience in eating insects), both of the items are a great way to start exploring insects as food. The gusanos (maguey worm) are deep fried and served with guacamole and tortillas, while the escamoles (ant eggs) are served, from what I remember, in a bowl with similar accompaniments.

Overall, a nice experience, but not the best value for Guadalajara.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    132
    33
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good new GDL experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

La Tequila was a new experience for me in Guadalajara. It was quieter and more subdued than most of the dinner experiences I have had here. However, the service was very attentive and the food was excellent. It started with cold beers and fresh salsa made to your specifications at tableside. I am not a tequila drinker, but if you are, you literally have hundreds to choose from, all colorfully displayed as you walk into the restaurant. Everyone seemed to have a different meal, but the reaction from all was great. The restaurant seemes to cater to large groups and all were having fun. I would come again without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

La Tequila restaurant is a great restaurant. The hostess is the first to greet you and she always is pleasant and receives you with a smile. They do their out most to accommodate your seating wish. Once you are seated the service begins to unfold a captain greets you and explains the specials of the day and asks for your prefernce of beverage. After your drinks are served the captain explains the specials of the day, the manner this is done is not to rush you and just to inform you of the latest dishes they have added. The waiter than comes to your table and asks if you want your sauce mild medium or hot. This sauce is homemade it is made with roasted tomatoes roasted onions and roasted peppers and they are crushed in your presence in a "Molcajete," the stone hand grinder. This sauce is than placed at the center of your table with "Totopos" home made tortilla chips and nopalitos, a cactus salad.

The menu is made up of Mexican Contemporaneous, it is all exquisite with plenty different flavors which includes vegetarian, fish, poultry and meat. The meals are all good they are all cooked on the spot, you are never rushed and you fell pampered. Once the bill is brought to you you realized that this five star meal was very reasonable and it was worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“try the hormigas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I think over 2,000 different tequilas to chosse from. Wait staff exceptional, all also speak english. Try the hormigas (ant eggs), excellent. They can also show you a video of how they get them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun, delicious and a little different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We ate at La Tequila for a corporate dinner of about 20 people. When you walk in there are giant glass walls featuring over 500 bottles of tequila. As you walk around the corner you walk over, yes over, a glass-roofed wine cellar. And then as you enter the man dining room you can't help but be mesmerized by the huge metal tree decorated with gorgeous glass hearts and teardrops. There was also a huge mural of a cityscape along the wall with little buildings and stars that that lit up.
I started with a mango margarita and it was sweet and delicious! There were great appetizers including pulled pork on tortillas and an interesting (and surprisingly good) local ant larvae with tortillas. We each had a spiced ceviche appetizer as well. I moved to margaritas on the rocks, while several of my companions moved onto Mezcal. For a main course, I ordered the Mar y Tierra Molcajetes and it was amazing. Savory and spicy and delicious. For dessert I shared a couple bites of the Tequila crepes and they were amazing! It was a wonderful traditional dining experience that I would recommend to locals and visitors alike.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tequila also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to La Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tequila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.