We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Japanese Restaurant in Guadalajara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suehiro

Suehiro
De la paz 1701, Guadalajara, Mexico
33 3826 0094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 582 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Japanese Restaurant in Guadalajara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Although the atmosphere is a bit old fashioned and reserved, the food is excellent and the service is good. I would easily recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    41
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Keep coming back for more after 25 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Quality is an obsession here. Especially if you are a sushi freak like me, you will appreciate it. I've tried many other offerings in GDL but I keep coming back for my sushi fix regularly. Whether you are into Classical Japanese style sushi, or are willing to try local creations you won't be disappointed. You may want to try the teppanyaki experience or eat family style from a boiling Tetsunabe your shabu shabu. Nice setting, on the expensive side if compared with all the low quality Japanese restaurants in town. But the value is right. Two tips out of the ordinary: the best "naranjada" in town and my favorite dessert is the tapioca, although Suehiro is famous for its tempura ice cream. Check these gorgeous chutoro tuna nigiris

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in GDL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My family has been visiting Suehiro for around 30 years and it has always kept the highest quality standards. Great food great quality.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guadalajara
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Impeccable service, fabulous food; a sanctuary from the city's bustle...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's hard to say which is the more distinctive factor when describing Suehiro: the food is delicious and beautifully presented, I am always struck by how 'above and beyond' the service is, and the setting provides a completely serene getaway from any urban stress. Even on days like today with several lively but respectful groups celebrating luncheon events, it is easy to have a calm conversation in the beautiful and beautifully organized dining room, overlooking the lovely garden with its waterfall and koi pond.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Restaurant of Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Whenever I come home from business trips, my wife always asks me if I would like to go out for dinner and where. It has now come to the point where she no longer needs to ask. However this comes with a caveat. The cooked food is still excellent quality, however myself, I have a penchant for the Sashimi. On the last couple of times, the sashimi has not been as fresh as it could be, and on one occasion, was still slightly frosty. I let this slide, as the number of times the servce, food, and welcome we have had in this place far outweighs the negative. And every restaurant is allowed to have an "off day". Just not too many, OK?

To the manager, to it hard to get to the top spot, but just remember it is even harder to stay there.

Recommend the seasonal 7 course menus, and an excellent Sake menu! :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suehiro also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Suehiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suehiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.