We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guachimontones worth your visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guachimontones Pyramids

Guachimontones Pyramids
Guadalajara, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 145 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
San Luis Obispo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Guachimontones worth your visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The setting is lovely and the museum presents the artifacts clearly and artistically. It is a smaller site, but is unique with its round pyramids. We had a local guide and he was excellent. What a rich culture Mexico has.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    75
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

take a private taxi and arrange the price before hand. surprisingly great, go early and spend the whole day, a wonderful short film and also a lovely sun drenched balcony to have coffee and enjoy, this was one of my best experiences in gdl. , not a cheap outing but if you can put it together with a buddy o r two and share the costs, really not to be missed, there is not too much to be seen from the pyramids but enough to make it worthwhile. the area is very scenic and lovely, don't miss it. !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Guadalajara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We hired a taxi for the day from Guadalajara for $75 US Dollars. He took us to the site and back - including a quick tequila tasting. The taxi was allowed to take us all the way to the top of the hill so we didn't have to do the long hike up to the ruins. We hired an English speaking guide for another $15 US Dollars which was well worth it. The entrance tickets were $2 US Dollars. The site is unique and we liked it better than many of the ruins in Mexico as it was not overrun with vendors selling trinkets. The view from the top of the valley below is gorgeous. The ruins themselves are super well maintained and easy to walk around.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tour guide and a site you must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Staff very nice and helpful, clean bathrooms, and awesome views! I recommend this site to get some fresh air and learn a little bit about history.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culiacan, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very close to our location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We did not know about these ruins. I have never seen round pyramids! What a treat for the whole family.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guachimontones Pyramids also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Guachimontones Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guachimontones Pyramids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.