We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guachimontones Pyramids

Guachimontones Pyramids
Guadalajara, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 111 attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed this beautiful sight with views over a lovely valley. Very unique circular pyramids. A great little museum-very modern and educational.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    54
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Ruins of Guachimontones, are well worth a look !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Unlike many Indian ruins found throughout Mexico, these were round pyramids ! It is a very peaceful and beautifully situated site. The on site museum is a must see. Enjoy ! Skippyfrizz

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

These pyramids were fascinating, so unlike an others I've seen and they aren't even nearly all uncovered. I very much enjoyed walking around the site. There was hardly anyone there so we could really enjoy the feel of the place. The museum is very well put together and beautifully designed.too, so it's worth stopping in there to see the short video (in English or Spanish) and the exhibits before heading up to the pyramids themselves.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating lost culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Guachimontones Pyramids is a fascinating area located near Guadalajara and within easy driving distance from the Lake Chapala area. I strongly recommend you go to the small museum outside the pyramids to see what the area looked like. By so doing, you will be able to better visualize what stood in the location where you see mostly ruins.

Overall, the pyramids, which aren't really pyramids, are a fascinating half day trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Visually fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'd probably give this a 5 had I not shown up on a Monday when the museum was closed (it looked impressive from the outside). Even the private tour guide we hired didn't know before we arrived and he's been there many times. (Though I now understand that many museums are closed on Mondays around Guadalajara.) At any rate, we did enjoy it quite a bit. I wish we'd had more time to relax on site with a picnic lunch because it's worth the time. Regarding getting there, I didn't see any taxis in Teuchitlan. So the bus from Guadalajara option could be rough unless you're ready for a long walk up to Guachimontones. I had a young child with me so that definitely would not have worked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guachimontones Pyramids also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Guachimontones Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guachimontones Pyramids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guachimontones Pyramids to your Saves list