We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ruins of Guachimontones, are well worth a look !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guachimontones Pyramids

Guachimontones Pyramids
Guadalajara, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 146 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The Ruins of Guachimontones, are well worth a look !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Unlike many Indian ruins found throughout Mexico, these were round pyramids ! It is a very peaceful and beautifully situated site. The on site museum is a must see. Enjoy ! Skippyfrizz

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    81
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

These pyramids were fascinating, so unlike an others I've seen and they aren't even nearly all uncovered. I very much enjoyed walking around the site. There was hardly anyone there so we could really enjoy the feel of the place. The museum is very well put together and beautifully designed.too, so it's worth stopping in there to see the short video (in English or Spanish) and the exhibits before heading up to the pyramids themselves.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fascinating lost culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Guachimontones Pyramids is a fascinating area located near Guadalajara and within easy driving distance from the Lake Chapala area. I strongly recommend you go to the small museum outside the pyramids to see what the area looked like. By so doing, you will be able to better visualize what stood in the location where you see mostly ruins.

Overall, the pyramids, which aren't really pyramids, are a fascinating half day trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Visually fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'd probably give this a 5 had I not shown up on a Monday when the museum was closed (it looked impressive from the outside). Even the private tour guide we hired didn't know before we arrived and he's been there many times. (Though I now understand that many museums are closed on Mondays around Guadalajara.) At any rate, we did enjoy it quite a bit. I wish we'd had more time to relax on site with a picnic lunch because it's worth the time. Regarding getting there, I didn't see any taxis in Teuchitlan. So the bus from Guadalajara option could be rough unless you're ready for a long walk up to Guachimontones. I had a young child with me so that definitely would not have worked.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We took a group of social studies students to this site. It is one of the most peaceful and spiritual locations in the vicinity of Guadaljara. Very low key. These pyramids are different from the traditional forms, rather rounded. It is a comfortable day trip. About a half hour bus ride from Guadalajara--an hour round trip. small village nearby for lunch and relaxation. Not yet a tourist destination, so very tranquil. Wear comfortable shows becasue there is a bit of walking. If you don't want a guioded tour, make sure to see the movie first so that you have an idea of what you are looking at and what the history is about.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guachimontones Pyramids also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Guachimontones Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guachimontones Pyramids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.