We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Venezuela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guadalajara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Venezuela
Save
You added Casa Venezuela to your Saves list
Venezuela 459 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Wheeling, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

George couldn't have made us feel more at home. He was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions and even walked us to the corner to help us get a taxi.

The B&B is lovely, decorated with Mexican art and artifacts (see photo), and is kept immaculate. The accommodations were very comfortable, the towels and robes luxurious.

Francisco's cooking was fabulous! We sampled genuine Mexican food and he even made the local dessert specialty (jericalla--see photo) especially for us.

George, Francisco, and Muffy (the cat) helped make our stay in Guadalajara memorable and enjoyable. You couldn't do better than Casa Venezuela!

Darlene from Wheeling, Illinois

  • Liked — It was well kept, comfortable, and full of wonderful art and artifacts.
  • Disliked — We had to leave.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
38
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

THIS IS WHERE YOU SHOULD STAY IN GUADALAJARA!!! We found this gem on Purple Roofs, and took a gamble, because the reviews looked so great. WOW is all I can say. Every aspect of our visit was a pleasure, and we are picky travelers. George was incredibly responsive to our emails before we got there, he was flexible to our arrival time (we arrived at 7am, and he made us BREAKFAST!), the price was pefect, and the service.... Well I already mentioned breakfast, but also a wine and beer hour, clean beautiful rooms all with personal touches, including wonderful amenities, and George took the time to show us how to get around and to visit with us. We arrived from Mexico City, and from staying at the W which is one of Westin's flagship properties, and honestly, this place put the W to shame. We will reccomend Casa Venezuela to every person who wants to go to Guadalajara. The neighborhood is safe, a short bus or taxi ride to the center of town, walk to the University/cathederal. This was part of our engagement trip, and we may just have to return on our honeymoon.

  • Liked — Personal Service
  • Disliked — That I cannot live there everyday
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

Luxurious convenient gay owned BandB recently opened near downtown in Colonia Americana. All rooms have private baths and full breakfast is included. The home is a delight, full of wonderful Mexican furnishings. The beds are comfortable, the linens and towels top of the line. Within easy walking distance are lots of restaurants and clubs, and city buses pass half a block from the house. It is a 5 star lodging in a great city. I will certainly stay there on my next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto vallarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Casa Venezuela is a very warm B&B. The owner George is extremely friendly and accomadating. He has managed a major hotel in the past and the nice touches he did made our stay extrenely comfortable. Our breakfast was included and we all enjoyed the fresh squeezed juice, lovely fresh fruits that were presented each morning followed by more than we needed for breakfast. I must admit we ate it all and enjoyed each bite.

We are looking forward to our next visit to Guadalajara and would not consider staying at another place. Our bedroom was tastefully decorated. The sitting area for the house was lovely and the dining area was charning. Our favorite of all was the small patio where we gathered with our laptops and shared conversations with our friends and new acquaintences. We stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

For our first trip to Guadalajara we could not have made a better choice than staying at Casa Venezuela. George and Gabriel are the most excellent hosts.

The casa is beautifully appointed. The neighborhood is safe and excellent. The hosts are absolutely the most gracious we have ever found at a B&B. George's 18 years experience with a major hotel chain in food and beverage and Gabriel's natural Mexican hospitality are clearly evident. They were so accommodating and willing to do what they could to make our stay in Guadalajara the best it could be. The service is excellent, learning our preferences, such as my friend's preference for a diet soda in the morning, and stocking the refrigerator accordingly, and the food is excellent. In fact, we didn't need to each lunch because we had such a great breakfast!

My friend and I felt totally at home at Casa Venezuela. We even stayed home in the evening talking into the late hours with George, Gabriel, and some other guests.

The neighborhood is great and within walking distance of the historic city center, though some might consider it a long walk, but it's easily doable, and interesting. The art museum of the University of Guadalajara is nearby, and well worth the visit. Gay travelers will find several bars within walking distance as well.

This traveler will certainly make Casa Venezuela our home away from home when visiting Guadalajara. We look forward to returning soon.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

My husband and I make regular trips to Guadalajara and have stayed in both Bed and Breakfasts and the big chain hotels. We chose Casa Venezuela this trip because we love the intimate charm and attentive service that comes from a small run B&B. We were 'stuck' because we could not find a sitter for our little dog. George and Gabriel were more than happy to accomodate the three of us, and went above and beyond to make sure that not only we were taken care of but went out of their way to pamper our pet. George anticipated our call late in the evening as we drove with his intruction to find the inn. From the momment we arrived we were received with hospitality second to none. We ejoyed a glass of wine in the cozy courtyard and the quiet company of fellow guests. Our room was comfortable, private, fresh and clean. Everything we needed and more was there for us. After a peaceful quiet nights sleep our delicious breakfast was served in the morning with fresh coffee either in the courtyard or in the beautiful interior dining area. If Mexican charm and warm attentive yet unobtrusive service of a top notch B&B is what you are after you will not be dissappointed with Casa Venezuela. We will be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

I stayed at Casa Venezuela in early January for a week and it was magnificent. The house is kept very clean and orderly and my hosts were very pleasant and responded promptly if I needed anything. If you stay here, look forward to beautiful patios and gardens, a delicious breakfast, lots of local artwork and a comfortable night's sleep. I hope to stay again when I return to Guadalajara next time.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Venezuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Venezuela

Address: Venezuela 459 | Colonia Americana, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Venezuela , a Bed & Breakfast in a century old house in the Colonia Americana section of Guadalajara, close to the historic center, many restaurants, night clubs, a short cab ride to many of the cities attractions. We offer comfortable rooms all with private bath, full breakfast, luxurious linens, comp cocktail each evening, all rooms have TV, DVD players, smoking permitted on any of our three patios. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Venezuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.