We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful event space” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 1.7 Carreterra Tesistan-Colotlan | Zapopan, Guadalajara 40060, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful event space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We hosted a wedding celebration at Hacienda La Magdalena - the Hacienda's event spaces are beautiful and the event coordinator Perla is very professional and easy to work with. Our guests raved about the service, food and location. We would highly recommend hosting a destination wedding at Hacienda La Magdalena!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hdalamagdalena, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Google Translation
GRACIAS! Si, nuestro firme compromiso es brindar un excelente servicio y cubrir todas las necesidades que puedan tener nuestros clientes al llevar a cabo su evento en nuestra hacienda. Siempre nos ocupamos de supervisar y dirigir los servicios para que los eventos logren cautivar a todos los invitados. les esperamos siempre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
600 reviews 600 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall the hotel was the weekend escape from Mexico City that I was looking for. Very picturesque and tranquil ... a few details ... the jacuzzi outside was lukewarm with no functioning jets. A few too many flies in the restaurant area. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is hard to believe that this beautiful Hacienda is located within minutes from downtown Zapopan. Once you enter the Hacienda you feel like you are miles away from anything. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept, the rooms are decorated with a very good taste and they are all very comfortable and spacious and the food is amazing. The staff is very friendly and you can tell they enjoy what they do. It is a perfect place for a relaxing weekend getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same size, the difference is basically the decor and the bathrooms, since so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spend the evening after a Wedding celebration here at Hacienda La Magdalena. Our suite was perfect, set up as a little casita: Great space, loved the furniture, comfortable robes, and perfect setting for romance. The service match every detail. Breakfast was included and we received a call late morning reminding us of breakfast and offered room service as an alternative. Greatly appreciated, but we decided to eat out by the patio. It was a beautiful day and breakfast was delicious. Fresh coffee with canela (cinnamon sticks) - loved the flavors together. Corn tortillas were freshly made. We indulged in a 2-hour 5-course meal. Grounds are great for a leisure walk, can get lost in time, but not much for a running trails. No gym, but spa. Services we didn't use as we had to meet family in the afternoon. The Hacienda La Magdalena is great destination wedding location. They offer several settings... I have great memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had an amazing experience, first of all the staff is friendly, polite and helpful, we got the Presidential Suite and was cleaner in every detail, the hacienda is a magic place and sometimes it feels you're not so close to the city because the quite and natural environment the Spa is amazing and relaxing, the Snacks and Breakfast are good but the dinner was not greater as we expected but it was good enough.
Excellent experience, definitely I'll highly recommend Hacienda La Magdalena.

Room Tip: Presidential Suite, the perfect room, exquisite, quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A nice ex-hacienda converted to a nice hotel, with big bedrooms, the quietness of the place is excellent, it has a spa service but we didn't take it, but it looks excellent. Overall a excellent hotel, the breakfast is excellent, only eggs, chilaquiles and fruit, but it's great.

My only complaint is the dinner, there aren't places to eat nearby at night and the dinner was a little expensive for what they gave, but other than that, a great place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights in this lovely hacienda while visiting Guadalajara, Tlaquepaque and Tequila. The place is about 30-40 minutes outside the city center and very good accessible by one of the mainstreets going out of town. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, room very comfortable but maybe a bit cold (January). Staff was friendly and very helpful. We felt very safe. Surroundings (garden, pool) looked very nice, but we did not take advantage to relax there... unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel

Address: Km. 1.7 Carreterra Tesistan-Colotlan | Zapopan, Guadalajara 40060, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Magdalena was once an oasis of safety in the war torn history of Mexico. It's 4 ft. thick walls protected not just the wealthy landowners, but the church, the homes and the shops of the workers on the hacienda. Today it has opened its strong gates as a boutique hotel and meeting and event center. Hacienda La Magdalena is located just 15 minutes from Guadalajara making it convenient to all the sightseeing attractions of the historic center, and commercial districts, but the many acres of surrounding gardens, beautifully appointed rooms and patios, large pavilions, and state of the art meeting rooms, provide a buffer to the busy life outside its high walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.