We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury at a Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core to your Saves list
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pure luxury at a Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

This was Pure luxury at a great central location . It was near everything and most taxi drivers knew exactly where to take if you simply say the name......seems the place place is quite famous . I stayed in the imperial suite (with a balcony that over looks the square )which had 2 showers,jacuzzi and possibly the biggest and most comfortable super-king size bed I have ever seen or slept in throughout my travels to over 61 countries....,true elegance / luxury at its very best. The Cable TV was on the blink while I was there as they was switching over to another cable service This was a business trip but the hotel could easily be a great weekend getaway for some intense romance . Pamper yourself and stay here .

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    244
    40
    26
    14
See reviews for
135
305
69
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Perfect location to explore the Centro area of Guadalajara. The service was excellent - the doormen always had directions and restaurant recommendations. The Concierge easily arranged a private tour of Tequila for us and our small group. During our stay, it seems the hotel activated the wifi network for the back of the hotel, where our room was located, so we even had internet service for free. My only nit was that the room key cards would deactivate easily in your pocket next to a cell phone. Never had that happen before. Would definately stay here again next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This hotel is absolutely wonderful.

The rooms are spacious with separate seating area and good sized bathroom completely separate from main sleeping area.

Service in the restaurant and bar is great; doormen are a bit cautious (perhaps because they are used to fearful Americans? Who knows; but they were genuinely concerned for our safety at every turn, which was completely over the top as this is a safe city....!)

It's hard to describe how lovely this place is...best advice...just book it! You won't be disappointed...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poza Rica, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The hotel is well located and you'll find all the historical sites at walking distance.
As most downtown areas, traffic is awful my recommendation walk or get a cab.
If your driving to Guadalajara be aware that since the Hotel is in the heart on the downtown, trying to park in front of the hotel is complicated and makes very difficult to unload and load the car(Stressful at least for me). The hotel has Valet Parking service (very nice indeed) and the parking lot is just 20 meters.
The staff is very nice, helpful. Breakfast was OK, with typical Mexican food or standard continental.
Air conditioned partially worked, not a problem since October nights in Guadalajara are cold, but in mid Summer could be an issue.
Bathroom shower was spilling water all over. That needs to be improved. Also needs Hanging hooks, since there is too little space to hang the towels
The hotel insights are spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed in the Morales for three days. The location is perfect in the middle of everything, easy walking to the nightclub and discotheque area and shopping streets as well as the Cathedral and main squares.
Large and very clean room, very large bathroom, new furnishing in conservative style, flatiron, good comfort.
Big advantage: Free internet LAN.
Only thing I did not like: The only room window showed to a public balcony, so people walking by could look into the room. This is due to the typical patio architecture, but as the room was in a remote corner of the hotel, not many people walked by.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Beautiful old building, excellent location. Night management lacks social skills. Card/Keys never worked, needed to be recharged at least twice per day. When one asks to have the card/keys recharged,one is accused of mistreating them. It was almost impossible to get an extra towel without begging. Then one is berated and told it is a special favor. Forget about getting enough drinking water in your room. There were two adults and two children in our room, and we told that we were only entitled to two bottles of water in our room and two towels. I had to grovel for an extra facecloth. We were charged for extra water. In the closets are big signs that read (translated) "There are 6 hangers in this closet, and if any are missing after your stay, you will charged for them." There were only five hangers in my closet, so I immediately alerted the mgt. There are no bureaus or drawers in the rooms, only 6 hangers in a closet with two shelves.Their website promises free coffee in the rooms, but there was only a coffee maker sans the coffee/creamer etc.. When I called night mgt. to see about the missing coffee, they refused to believe me. They told me to keep looking. Finally after being assertive, I got them to deliver the coffee. Business Center consists of 2 barely working slow old PCs. No printer or fax. One is charged for making local calls on the hotel phones. There are better places in el centro historico GDL for the same price, and with better service. Good thing: the restaurant waiters are very competent and well mannered.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Nice hotel, centrally located just 3 blocks from the heart of Guadalajara. Spacious and clean rooms. Breakfast buffet is quite nice (be aware that some dishes are included in the buffet but you have to order them from the waiter).

As a day trip (about 40 minute car ride), be sure to see the nearby village of Tlaquepaque!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Address: Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#15 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.