We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Save Saved
You added Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 113 hotels in Guadalajara
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in feb 2009, and although the streets were messy because they are being fixed and traffic can get hectic, the deal was great. The location perfect. The buffet breakfast was nothing special, and we decided not to go for it again. We stayed at a room on the back of the hotel on the first 2 nights, which was very big, clean, and comfortable. The last night we adventured into a suite, but for our disappointment, the last standard room was way better, the suite was a bit noisy, worn out, and the difference was a jacuzzi. The lobby bar is very nice, with drinks and live music, and the staff very helpful. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    195
    31
    19
    12
See reviews for
103
242
61
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

A hidden gem! Only a few blocks from the Catedral and Plaza de Armas. The rooms are small and a bit stuffy, but that is easily overlooked by the beauty of this hotel. The staff are wonderful. If noise is an issue, request a room that doesn't face Av. Corona. It seems to be busy almost 24/7. Next trip to Guadalajara - I'm staying here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, in the old colonial style but with all the modern amenities, including internet access in the lobby, and, if you are lucky, in the room. Some of the courtyard rooms have windows on the interior courtyard, but once we got the air-conditioning working properly, that was not a problem. The rooms are large with anteroom and bedroom, the bathrooms are a good size, and the towels are thick and soft. The beds, however, even with pillow top mattresses, were too hard for my comfort.

The staff from front desk to garage attendant will go out of their way to help you if you need it and have excellent recommendations on restaurants, driving directions and sightseeing.

The dining room provided a great light meal - soup (try the cream of mushroom) and salad -- on our first night in Guadalajara -- just the thing after a long day of travelling. The terrace on the fourth floor is a lovely private spot if you need to get away from it all for awhile. One day we even took the lunch we ordered in the dining room up to the terrace to eat.

On Wednesdays and Thursdays, the lobby bar provides entertainment (the band was quite good, actually) which we could hear in our room on the third floor, but the music stopped by 10 PM.

The hotel is central to all the sights in Guadalajara and within walking distance of most of them. La Chata and La Gorda up the street are great spots for breakfast and some fabulous restaurants are only an inexpensive taxi ride away.

One warning -- they are digging up the Avenue Corona to replace water pipes and the resulting traffic jam around the hotel is pretty horrendous.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

I stayed here twice last week when in Guadalajara on business. Each stay was for only one night. The first night I had a room with one queen size bed, with windows facing a quiet side street. The second night I had a room with two double beds with windows facing a the noisier front side of the building. The bed the first night was fine but unremarkable. The bed the other night had a new pillow-top mattress and wonderful pillows -- the most comfortable bed I've had in Mexico (and I've had a lot). The whole hotel has a European grandeur to it. Rooms were spacious and every nook and cranny was spotlessly clean. Reservations staff and front desk staff were efficient. Overall, it's a clean, efficiently-run hotel with high quality furnishings. The only thing that could make it even nicer would be warmer and more helpful service from the bellmen and the breakfast room staff.


Tip: I phoned the hotel to make the reservation and asked if any promotions or discounts were available and was offered a 150 peso discount if I paid in cash.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

I travel often, and I research hotels before I commit myself. When a hotel has 95% positive reviews, I figure, "they must be doing something right!" So I took a chance. Well, right they are! The style is authentically Colonial, in the historical district, as central as you can get! The rooms have obviously been recently retrofitted, excellent wood floors, tiles in the bathroom, toiletries, luxurious towels, spacious rooms, clean as a whistle, EXCELLENT showers, lots of hot water and pressure. The restaurant had great food, good value, and the staff was above and beyond the call of duty - co-operative and friendly. We were thrilled, and felt we'd discovered a gem. A bargain at twice the price. I regret that I only have five stars to offer. They deserve them ALL!
We will be back. Go for it.

  • Liked — LOL ... everything. Can't find a single fault, it was a terrific experience. All hotels should be this good.
  • Disliked — Nothing, I loved it all ... and 'm fussy. I travel a lot, and have high standards.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

I can only confirm what most of the reviews have said about the Hotel Morales in Guadalajara. The character and history of the place hits you the minute you walk in. The lobby is impressive and a great place to sit and relax. The staff were helpful and polite, and they all spoke excellent English. Free internet access in the Business Centre was handy.

The room was a good size, with high quality furnishings, marble and tile in the bathroom, and very clean. The beds were actually comfortable, and there was a coffee maker. The kind of room you're not in a big hurry to leave. According to the staff, there was a problem with their cable so the TV didn't work for the majority of the four nights we were there. Guadalajara is very European feeling, with lots of strolling in the evening in the plazas and pedestrianized streets, so we didn't miss the TV.

Guadalajara is a noisy big city, with music playing and car horns honking at all hours. But considering the noise level, the room was about as quiet as they could make it. Breakfast was fine in the hotel restaurant, but you can probably find a better breakfast for less at La Chata or La Gorda, just a couple of minutes up Avenida Corona.

Location is perfect too. A short walk from the main sights of the colonial centre of the city. Add in a very reasonable price and it's hard to find fault with this hotel. Highest recommendation.

  • Liked — Character and location.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

This was a rare case of a hotel meeting and exceeding our expectations after having found it on the web.
The Morales is a historic hotel that has recently (3 years maybe?) been updated or reopened. The 4 story hotel surrounds a colonial style courtyard that has been roofed in. We chose to "splurge" for an Imperial Suite. We had a huge bedroom with 2 small seating areas, high ceilings, mini-fridge, a large jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and balconies from which to view the street action, as well as all the other amenities you would expect. For this we paid about $116.00/night at the current exchange rate. The cathedral is about 4 blocks away and we had a view of it from our balcony. There is a nice terrace on the roof with panoramic views. We watched the sun go down one night from the terrace.
The restaurant was good and the lobby is nice and cozy.
If you're looking for a nice place to stay in the historic zone, you cannot go wrong with this place.

  • Liked — The spaciousness of the room and the ambience of the hotel.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Address: Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#7 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.