We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core to your Saves list
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We chose this hotel thanks to the good reviews in tripadvisor. It is located near the city center in a wonderful colonial style building. We stayed there for 4 nights. The staff is very friendly and the room was very big with all commodities and very clean. Safe, facilities for making tea/coffee, ironing board, TV, free internet (with your laptop). It was definitively one of the most beautiful non-chain hotels we stayed in. If you are interested to make tours to the surroundings such as e.g. the city of Tequila, ask at the front desk. There are tours you can book from there and the bus will pick you up directly at the hotel. We can warmly recommend this hotel and would stay there anytime again.

  • Liked — hotel design + location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    205
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
119
266
65
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

I strongly recommend the hotel for its aesthetics, central location, price, computer access with free internet, and most of all for its customer service!

Per our request, the staff at the hotel suggested great places to eat and the $10 tour bus ride of Guadalajara and Tlaquepaque. The tour takes 2 hours in each city if you choose not to get off and on at the interest points. If you start the tour early in the morning then its an all day ticket so you can enjoy shopping at Teqeupeque and site seeing at various locations. The tour is well worth your money!

*A few days upon returning home. We realized we left the battery and charger to our professional camera at the hotel. We contacted the hotel via email. They promptly responded and helped us make the accommodations needed to mail the items to our home. It was unbelievable. They were absolutely wonderful, courteous, and kept in constant communication via email as they arranged the packaging and shipping of the items via regular "snail mail" upon receiving our payment for S/H through western union.

As to be real just note that the mattresses are a bit hard.

Enjoy your stay at Hotel Morales!!!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We stayed her last year and it was super nice. But they have let it go. The pergo floors were so bloody dirty I was disapointed. The bed spread was dirty and worn as was the blanket. The sheets were pilly and both of us scratched all night! In the morning I woke up with bit marks on my lower legs and ankles. The bathroom was also not cleaned well. The bathroom door wouldn't close so no privacy....good god!

More about how dirty the room was.....wall to wall it needed to be scrubbed. The bathroom toilet was disgusting. The tub had soap scum on the sides, the windows were so dirty they were fogged.

It was nosey too. I didn't recall that from last year. The traffic is so bad I had to take a sleeping pill, but woke up to check the sheets for what ever was causing me to itch so much!!


Jacuzzi didn't work, no internet in the room. Didn't work, but they kept telling me it should. Refrigerator buzzed all night. I hate that they don't understand a little maintenance goes a long way to keeping clients happy.

One thing after another...this will sound petty but we ordered a ham sandwich in the restaurant and ended up with toated bread, letuce and no ham. It's little things like that...that make me wonder if these folks care even just a little about getting it right.

No I do not recommend the Morales. But the alternative in the immediate area are worse. Get one of the hotels out of town. Everything is cheep now, don't be miserable in a dirty room.

And yes....I complained to the desk staff.

One good thing was the towels are big. I put them all over the floor so I didn't have to walk on it.

  • Liked — Towels
  • Disliked — DIRTY....Worn sheets and bedding......filthy dirty floors.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Central Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Great location, large clean rooms, fine service.

  • Liked — Room Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

I stayed here for a night before flying back into the states. I was sooo impressed with this hotel...it had everything that you would want in a hotel while staying in a foreign country.....character, warm ambieance, great location, a friendly staff that spoke your native language, and a great price! I stayed here with my parents and grandfather, and we ALL loved it!! Recognized by Frommer's, Foder's pick, AAA and Expedia....it's a must stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The food for breakfast buffet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Located just 4 blocks from the main square where all the main historical buildings are, it is easy to navigate the city from this property.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, from the bell boy that gave me great advice where to eat (he send me to La Chata, less than 2 blocks away; don't miss this authentic mexican restaurant) to the front desk, who helped me in everything I requested.
Rooms are huge & comfortable with a seating area apart from the main bedroom. The bathroom was just OK... shower needs some improvement but nothing major. They were very clean and stuffed with all amenities needed -including tooth brush!!
It is decorated as a mid 19th century spanish style, very traditional and well kept.
I will come back to this place on my next trip to Guadalajara!

  • Liked — Location & Rooms/value
  • Disliked — i missed a pool....
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

Great Hotel in a great location. Colonial style hotel, nice rooms, clean, staff was friendly and courtesy, and it is walking distance to all the historic sites of city center.

  • Liked — Location... (2) comp water bottles, free internet (not a business office)
  • Disliked — my only problem, rooms stayed a bit warm (dec)... not a lot of ventilation... and had to run the fan constantly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Address: Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#20 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.