We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core to your Saves list
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

For my second visit to Guadalajara, I thought I'd give the most famous historical hotel a go, and it did not disappoint overall. We got a good deal and I'd say it was worth it. Its location can't be beat - right in the city centre. Although the area can get a little dodgy at night, the hotel felt secure, and it was good that there was a taxi rank just outside, so we didn't need to wander around looking for one

The rooms were spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. Wifi worked well and the staff were friendly and spent time telling us what to see around the city.

We didn't have the breakfast as it was a little expensive, given that you can get traditional Mexican food within the same block for a fraction of the price. Overall, I would recommend it if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences during your stay in our hotel, We appreciate your comments as they are helpful to improve our services.

Hope to see you soon in Morales Hotel.

kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    205
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
119
266
65
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The service at Hotel Morales in Guadalajara was of a very high quality. The Captain of the Bell Boys, Jose was of considerable assistance to us. He spoke excellent English and gave us good recommendations for day trips. We asked him to assist us by arranging bus tickets for our trip to Guanajuato. He ran out of the hotel and was back with 10 minutes with our tickets in hand. We were most grateful for this as we could not have done it so quickly ourselves. It gave us time to relax after our day trip to Chapala and Ajicijic which Jose recommended to us.
Other staff were also obliging and helpful and did not "get in your face" as some hotel staff are inclined to do. The next time we are in Guadalajara we will stay at Hotel Morales

Room Tip: Choose a room facing an inside courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write review about your recent stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and that our Staff was able to assist you during your stay.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Morales Hotel is Magnificent. If you want an authentic experience in a unique hotel, stay here. If you prefer cookie cutters, you know to choose the chain hotels. With the age and individuality of this hotel, there are bound to be a few minor inconveniences. The minuscule problems I encountered were greatly out shadowed by this amazing property. The courtyards are colorful and charming. The furnishings are fabulous and fantastic. The meals were marvelous. The location is in the very heart of the historic district with MANY diversions and options within easy walking distance, including the multi-lingual double decker bus tours located next to the Cathedral. A few staff members were bilingual, providing great assistance when needed. Particularly helpful, professional, fun, and informative were Nayely, Liliana, and Livier all at the front desk. If you're on a budget, try reserving this hotel on booking.com or trivago and you'll save even more money. On more of a budget? Take the airport shuttle van right outside the airport near the taxi que and you'll likely receive a private ride. This service drops you off less than two blocks from the hotel. Returning to the airport, do the same. Both services leave each direction on the hour and cost only 80 pesos ($6.50) each direction compared to 350 pesos. Very few American tourists were in the entire city, but should be if interested in culture, history, outstanding architecture, arts and an authentic experience. My only real complaint about the Morales is that it was difficult to get management to understand why they might want to match the above mentioned internet rates.

Room Tip: For extra quiet, request an inside courtyard room. For a more robust experience, request a street f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback our Hotel, we appreciate and value all our guest review. These types of reviews are what make our staff so proud to work for the Hotel Morales. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely historic hotel. We loved the location and the service was top class. The facilities were fantastic with pool, taxi & airport shuttle service. It was a bonus having the restaurant on site.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have been enjoying your stays at the Hotel Morales Downtown.
Hope on your next visit to Guadalajara we can be your first choice.

kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in Guadalajara and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. The hotel is beautiful, Staff is very friendly and helpful and the on sight restaurant had a great buffet for breakfast. The showers were the best I have seen in all my travels! I can not wait to go back to Guadalajara and I wouldn't stay anywhere other than Hotel Morales! Note: Make sure you head to the roof! Amazing views!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am glad that you have had such brilliant stays with us. I will be sure to pass on your terrific feedback to our staff.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We live in Manzanillo and stay here every time we come to Guadalajara. We especially like to bring visitors here so that they can experience the colonial charm of the place. The room rates are very reasonable for a hotel of this caliber in centro. The rooms have been refurbished and the beds have comfortable mattresses.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review once more our hotel. We appreciate and value all of our guests’ feedback and are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

hope we can still be for many times your house in Guadalajara.

kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

very frendly and very helpful employees. Clean rooms, nice comfortable beds beautiful mexican style hotel. great breakfast buffet. great central location and it was good not to be next to the busy area of the basilica which made it more quite, however easy and close to walk there. we felt very safe.
The only complain is the water in the shower never got warm making it difficult.

Room Tip: our room was in the interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences during your stay in our hotel, We appreciate your comments as they are helpful to improve our services.

Hope you can give us the pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Guadalajara.

kindly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Address: Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#20 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.