We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Save Saved
You added Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 113 hotels in Guadalajara
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Old, historic building in the heart of Guadalajara close to all attractions, full of surprises with wonderful shady courtyards. Rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished. Restaurant has a good selection and excellent service. Rooftop swimming pool is perfect after a hot day sightseeing. Enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: We faced the main street and there was some traffic noise, not too intrusive, but rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    189
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
104
243
61
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is located in two beautifully restored buildings in central Guadalajara. Our room was huge, clean and well decorated with a no-charge safe. The A/C in the room was more than adequaate. The roof top pool is very nice on a hot afternoon. The service was impeccable, we arrived in a private car with friends who live in a small town near Guadalajara; their car was whisked away to free parking while we walked to La Chata for lunch. Upon our return our room was ready and their car was brought around. The staff was efficient and friendly. Taxis are available out front and the staff tells you how much the fare will be. Our room was quiet even though we were facing the street. Take time to explore the labyrinth that is this hotel, see all of the courtyards with their beautiful tile work.
I highly recommend this hotel for its style, staff and location. Breakfast is not provided and is fairly expensive in the hotel but El Gordo and some coffee shops are just down the street.
The only glitch was no hot water one morning - but that is common in Mexico.

Room Tip: There are 98 rooms in the hotel, we peeked into some, they vary in size. I would try to get one that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading the Trip Advisor reviews and the hotel exceeded our expectations!!! We extended our stay, partly because we liked the hotel but also because we loved Guadalajara.
The hotel was quiet and well located for the central historic district. We appreciated the free valet parking and left our car in the garage while we wandered the streets, market, parks and pedestrian malls.
I booked directly with the hotel not through one of the hotel booking sites and they gave us a promotional price. We asked for a room with a balcony at check-in and got a lovely, LARGE room with queen bed. We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay and found it to be good food and a good value with lots of variety. All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room and all the common areas were clean and well maintained.
If you want to experience a historic Mexican hotel with updated amenities I would highly recommend Hotel Morales.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and enjoy the street scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I travel to GDL 3 to 4 times a year. Hotel morales is by far one of my favorite hotels I stay at. It is actually quite surprising as you approach the hotel and enter it as its near the historic district and feels like it may be a 2nd rate style hotel. When you walk into the lobby, the classic mexican presentation, inviting high roof and balconies all add to the feel. The rooms were way above my expectations...with crazy wild great water pressure. I got to take a pressure washed shower! The location is a few blocks away from central historic locations that make it worth while. I can´t speak for the vening meals...but the breakfast buffet was all that i needed it to be and enjoyed simple american style breakfasts a few mornings too. Nothing to complain about and will be staying here again when i return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First of all, the hotel is beautiful inside and just amazingly immaculate in every area of the property -- form the hallways, to the lobby, to the rooms, to the pool, to the outside deck!

The water fountain in the center and the faux sky atrium hanging above the center are just so wonderful and attractive. Very nice.

I got in late to the hotel (flight from the states) and when I arrived they had informed me that they had rented out my room because they weren't sure if I was going to honor the reservation and someone walked up with need for 3 nights. So, to make it up to me, they gave me the Suite Imperial (room 116) and it was DA BOMB. 14 foot ceilings, 3 balcones, a giant jacuzzi in the bathroom, and quite large room. I was so very happy. Close to the free internet (really only available in the lobby or 1st floor rooms near the lobby, despite what they might say.

Front desk wasn't overly friendly but they did their jobs and were helpful. The hotel is right smack dab in the middle of everything and is just so gorgeous. Perfect spot to make home base.

Pool area was gorgeous (and looks MUCH better in person than on their website) although the sun chairs are in desperate need of cushions. So very hard and uncomfortable.

FOREWARNING: I had an outside room and noise was QUITE substantial. Being on floor 1 didn't help! I live on the 5th floor of a high rise, in Atlanta, so i am used to noise from the city, but the noise here was much more. If noise bothers you, please don't get a room facing the street. You'll have a miserable experience.

Bed hard but most Mexican beds are. ULTRA firm.

Only real thing I can post negatively about this hotel was the room service. It was simply dreadful. No flavor or salt on anything. Not good. The best thing about my order was the guac (very good) and french fries (came with a sandwich). Rest was just horrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pheonix
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

THe bullfighters hotel in el centro. Glad we picked this place for our 4 day exploration in Guadalajara. It has a great location to all the historic buildings. The rooms are the small old style but overall it is a nice colonial hotel in a great location. Breakfast was a bit overpriced but quite good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Morales for a total of 5 nights (four when we first arrived in Guadalajara and then one night upon return from a side trip to San Miguel de Allende).
When we first arrived, we were booked in a room that was very nice (I had requested an outside room with a terrace) that was huge. However, it had quite a bit street noise. The next day, asked for a quieter room and the bellman showed me several different rooms. The inside room was smaller and darker--but it was still quite charming and lovely,
The staff could not have been more accommodating. The concierge was terrific. Not only did he advise us on restaurants, but also gave us good tips on local and long distance modes of travel. In addition, when we were lamenting the fact that we hadn't bought a guide book, he pulled one out from a box under this desk (a Moon Guide) and gave it to us as a loan.
Don't miss the pool. Although it's not a spa quality pool area, the deck has a good view of the city and the pool itself is clean. Also, don't miss the roof deck--another nice view of the city---especially at night.
Overall--a wonderful hotel experience.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are larger but noiser. Interior rooms are smaller but still nice and quieter (if dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core

Address: Avenida Ramon Corona 243, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#8 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have Colonial Decoration & Architecture, T.V. with Cable and Remote Control, Free High-speed Internet access and/or wifi, Air Conditioning, Safe Box, Wood Floor, Electronic Lock, Coffee Maker with a free courtesy on the first night, Telephone, Wardrobe , Alarm clock, Iron & Ironing Board and Private Bathroom with Hairdryer and Vanity Mirror. We are happy to inform you that we have a CONCIERGE who can help you with just about anything you need: Car rental, restaurant reservations, information about the different tours or places to visit in Guadalajara, etc. His name is Manuel Mejia FACILITIES:guest's Parking, Restaurant, Swimming Pool, Gym, Room Service 24 hrs,Bar with live music Wednesday and Thursday from 19:00 to 22:00 , Panoramic Terrace, Meeting Rooms, Two Elevators, Business Center, Public Telephones, among other services. Historic & Colonial building under protection of I.N.A.H. (National Anthropology & History Board of Mexico). Artistic Heritage and Architectonical Jewel of this city, restored in 2005. Is is located 3 blocks away from Cathedral, Government Palaces and Degollado Theater. Do not forget to visit our web page where you will find everything about the fascinating Hotel Morales our History and our most distinguished guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Morales Historical And Colonial Downtown Core
Hotel Morales Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.