We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun way to see how tequila is made” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tequila Express

Tequila Express
Av Washington #11 esq. Calzada Independencia, Guadalajara, Mexico
+52 33 1175 2737
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$49*
and up
Tlaquepaque and Tonala Day Trip from Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/train
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small luxury train travels the hilly landscape between Guadalajara and Tequila.Hello Friend welcome at the Best Tour of Tequila with our Mariachi, tequila and our National Sport La Charreria.With de Code PROM21 You Get a discount.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fun way to see how tequila is made”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Lots of fun and a great way to go see the town of Tequila. It's great that it takes you to amatitan to see tequila herradura, which in my opinion is the best! great to have mariachis on the train and free flowing beer and tequila! a great show at lunch with singing, traditional dancing and mexican cowboys! highly recommended!

Visited December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    23
    14
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“2nd time and still enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is a great tour, especially for those who enjoy tequila. I had taken this tour about 10 years ago and really enjoyed it. I had first time visitors to Guadalajara traveling with me and knew that this would be a great tour to take them on.
It's not an inexpensive tour, about $100 per person, but to me it was well worth it.
The train itself is very clean and comfortable. You get all you can drink beverages, including beer, mixed tequila drinks in a can, tequila shots as well as non-alcoholic drinks for those who don't drink. You also get a small breakfast snack and juice when you first board and snacks to go with your drinks during the train ride to Tequila.
Once you arrive at the Herradura plant you take a short tour of how tequila was and is processed. You are offered a cold beverage during your tour. When the tour is over, you are led to a covered patio where the Mexican buffet is served. The food was excellent. While you're dining, there is entertainment on the stage for you to enjoy. Definitely a great time.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“Great fun - do not take it too seriously”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We took the trip on March 20 and loved it. There was mass confusion to board and with getting tickets (so bad we decided to stay away for the Panamerican Games - the chamber of commerce of Guadalajara is pretty inept.)

However, once we got going, it was all smiles and people working hard so that all have a good time - yes, it is a fiesta with a bit of history (and Tequila Herradura is now owned by Brown Forman so it is a US company) and how to make tequila.

Great day, great fun, make new friends and relax. Worth doing once.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“the best trip ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

My friends and I had a great time!! the agave landscape was wonderful as well as theTequila Hacienda...The staff was very kind and helpful, they made our trip very fun!! the food and the drinks, we could have as many as we wanted, so it was worth every nickel....and the very best was having all these mexican traditions at the same time like the mariachi, folcloric dances and the "charros"...I really recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“NO BUENO in my opinion!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

When I took the Tequila Express, it was more let's get smashed on the way to Tequila and back. I would recommend a million times more going on the bus that leaves from Camino Real that goes to Mundo Cuervo. It is first class - the tour is first class, the information, the guides, everything...a bit pricey but I think worth it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila Express also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Tequila Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tequila Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.