We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To pray, meditate or just comtemplate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expiatory Temple

Expiatory Temple
Madero 935, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 145 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“To pray, meditate or just comtemplate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It is a Beautiful temple with a peaceful silent environment.
You can just stand there for a long time, just admiring all aspects of the temple, taking a look at every details, the beautiful vitral's refraction on the temple's walls.

It worhts the visit and to spend some time with yourself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    50
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit and calm for a moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This church is one of my favorite spots in Guadalajara.
The construction is Gothic-ish, it is a good place to check, feel amazed by the complexity, sit down and calm, pray if you feel like.

Don't miss the chance to go there if you are in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We liked it all. We have been there before, but was a bit disappointed the saints or holy men that came out of the front of the temple on what looked like a track of some sort, on a timed basis was not working.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I loved the solomness of the place. I loved the attention to detail and and all the artifacts for all to see. It moved m”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Every thing was written in spanish. It was so beautiful to see but I could see a travelar who only speacks english a bit and doesnt know a word of spanish can feel confused at what they are seeing

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church.....But Don't Miss The Dancing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautiful church and well worth the visit....but don't miss the dancing. Every Sunday evening in the plaza in front of the church there is Guadalajara's version of ballroom dancing! There are apparently lessons/practice starting at 7:00 PM with the more advanced dancers appearing at 9:00 PM??. As we watched the very formal spinning and stepping my wife and I just stood their with our happy smiles.....then we were off to churros at La Bombilla as a night time treat with all of the locals.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expiatory Temple also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Expiatory Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expiatory Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.