We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Church.....But Don't Miss The Dancing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expiatory Temple

Expiatory Temple
Madero 935, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 154 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church.....But Don't Miss The Dancing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a beautiful church and well worth the visit....but don't miss the dancing. Every Sunday evening in the plaza in front of the church there is Guadalajara's version of ballroom dancing! There are apparently lessons/practice starting at 7:00 PM with the more advanced dancers appearing at 9:00 PM??. As we watched the very formal spinning and stepping my wife and I just stood their with our happy smiles.....then we were off to churros at La Bombilla as a night time treat with all of the locals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnandJeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    114
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

enjoyed it all !! Great very very old place ! not touristy at all many vendors about for drinks etc Must be respectful as this IS a currently used local church

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank larryfromiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best church in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stained glass and amazing architecture. Very different plaza with only native art for sale. So quiet.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AWESOME ... INCREDIBLE ... AMAZING ARCHTECTURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Its like traveling through time ... the architecture is incredible definately a must see in guadalajara

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabbiezazueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Truly, my favorite church in Guadalajara.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have always enjoyed this gothic temple. It is one of the very few edifices in the city that kept true to the original design and style of architecture. Like many churches that were built 400+ years ago, they tend to change archtecturally with the changing centuries. But this gothic beauty only took just over a century to build!! So it is the original design. You have to see it in the afternoon to really get the beauty from inside as well with the stained glass- a wonder in itself!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expiatory Temple also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Expiatory Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing