We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best church in Guadalajara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expiatory Temple

Expiatory Temple
Madero 935, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 111 Attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best church in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stained glass and amazing architecture. Very different plaza with only native art for sale. So quiet.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    38
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AWESOME ... INCREDIBLE ... AMAZING ARCHTECTURE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Its like traveling through time ... the architecture is incredible definately a must see in guadalajara

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Truly, my favorite church in Guadalajara.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have always enjoyed this gothic temple. It is one of the very few edifices in the city that kept true to the original design and style of architecture. Like many churches that were built 400+ years ago, they tend to change archtecturally with the changing centuries. But this gothic beauty only took just over a century to build!! So it is the original design. You have to see it in the afternoon to really get the beauty from inside as well with the stained glass- a wonder in itself!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love this place so much. I got married here! It is just beautiful inside and out. And there is nothing better than being surrounded by Mexican culture - which you can really absorb in the court yard in front of the church. One of Guadalajara's true gems. Love it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“magnificent sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Expiatorio was my favorite place in central Guadalajara only a 20 minute walk from the very center of the historic district. I walked there a number of times during my short stay in Guadalajara and sat in the back of the church during a catholic mass. Its soaring aisles and gothic architecture are spectacular and compare favorably with European cathedrals.At night the plaza outside fills with street vendors and music. This is well worth a visit if you need a quiet, contemplative hour away from the traffic chaos of the city.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expiatory Temple also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Expiatory Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expiatory Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;