We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly, my favorite church in Guadalajara.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expiatory Temple

Expiatory Temple
Madero 935, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 111 attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Truly, my favorite church in Guadalajara.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have always enjoyed this gothic temple. It is one of the very few edifices in the city that kept true to the original design and style of architecture. Like many churches that were built 400+ years ago, they tend to change archtecturally with the changing centuries. But this gothic beauty only took just over a century to build!! So it is the original design. You have to see it in the afternoon to really get the beauty from inside as well with the stained glass- a wonder in itself!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    31
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I love this place so much. I got married here! It is just beautiful inside and out. And there is nothing better than being surrounded by Mexican culture - which you can really absorb in the court yard in front of the church. One of Guadalajara's true gems. Love it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“magnificent sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Expiatorio was my favorite place in central Guadalajara only a 20 minute walk from the very center of the historic district. I walked there a number of times during my short stay in Guadalajara and sat in the back of the church during a catholic mass. Its soaring aisles and gothic architecture are spectacular and compare favorably with European cathedrals.At night the plaza outside fills with street vendors and music. This is well worth a visit if you need a quiet, contemplative hour away from the traffic chaos of the city.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“On par with cathedrals in Europe. Beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Gothic architecture. Great stained glass. A parade of the twelve apostles coming out of the clock tower after mass just like in some German clocks.
It looked just like some of the great cathedrals in Spain and France.
Definitely worth a short stop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“And the food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

At night the plaza outside comes alive with incredible eats and artesian vendors. One of my favorite spots in the whole city and only a 10 minute walk from the center of Guadalajara.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expiatory Temple also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Expiatory Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expiatory Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Expiatory Temple to your Saves list