We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Guadalajara to your Saves list
Aloft Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de las Americas 1528 | Colonia Country Club, Guadalajara 44637, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed at this Aloft as an SPG member, and had a wonderful stay. I contacted the hotel in advance, as I was there for medical recovery, and Miguel Angel Bautista, the reservations chief, was extremely considerate and made sure that the hotel accommodated my requests. In fact, as someone who stays in Alofts regularly, I am pleased to say that this was the best Aloft experience I have had (and I always like Aloft). The staff was all extremely friendly and helpful. The room was exceptionally clean. The view was gorgeous (a view of the whole city), and the location was convenient. As I was confined to the room for three days straight, the fact that all these aspects were so well taken care of made a real difference to me. If you are going to Guadalajara, I highly recommend this Aloft.

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman R, General Manager at Aloft Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Rollie,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Herman Reeling Brouwer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
20
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Aloft is not a full service hotel, so think Holiday Inn Express with a modern fresh look. You basically let yourself in into this property; no one to help with luggage. The main reason I chose the property was the extremely generous “Free Nights SPG Awards”. Based on points/value equation, this property is an excellent choice.

The location is in a growing “suburban” area with tons of traffic, so take transit times into account. I normally stay in Expo area, and getting into out of hotels there are much easier. Here, if you have a car, getting in and out is a pain because there not much turning space, with difficult to access parking.

Staff is not overly friendly and for the most part do not even acknowledge you . I asked for a wake call, never got it, I guess that’s why they have alarm clocks in the room. Daniel, at checkin was the friendliest and I mostly dealt with him. I asked for late checkout extension, and he said no problem.

The hotel definitely grew on me. I initially was turned off by the feel o walking into a converted warehouse with exposed concrete walls, but innovative design. There are mostly pluses with the room, the shower had lots of water pressure. There are ample lights. The beds were comfortable. Free fast internet. Getting to the room is very easy and fast, no need to walk through a lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman R, General Manager at Aloft Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Ezra,

Muchas Gracias por su comentario positivo acerca de nuestro hotel! Nos alegra que Ud. haya disfrutado su estancia con nosotros y esperamos poder pronto verlo de vuelta.

Atentamente,

Herman Reeling Brouwer
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, BCS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was our first stay in an ALOFT hotel and it certainly did not disappoint. We're Starwood fans and as SPG members, this hotel offers unbeatable value (so use your Starpoints)! Normally we stay in the Westin when visiting Guadalajara, however this trip we decided to try something new & we're so happy we did.

The hotel has a fresh design style and the modern, contemporary feel certainly appealed to us. From the "non-elevator" elevator music to the self-serve (yet still very cool & convenient) eatery & bar in the lobby, this hotel brought a refreshing change from the sleek, yet very business-like feel of the Westin, GDL. Danny & Patty, the front desk staff, were definitely (as torilove73 stated) "uber friendly", as were all of the hotel staff that we dealt with. I loved their energy and eagerness to assist with anything we needed.

The surrounding area is neat as well, and offers plenty of unique eateries adjacent to the hotel, as well as a couple of commercial centers which are within a 5 min. taxi ride. The Parque Lineal is just a couple blocks up and offers a great 1.2 mile jogging path with a number of exercise apparatuses along the way.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found that the only thing we missed were the Heavenly Beds & bathrobes (funnily enough) offered @ the Westin. Kudos again to the staff for being awesome. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view. You'll fall asleep to the city lights and wake up to manicured fairw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman R, General Manager at Aloft Guadalajara, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Cabo Chinito.
Thank you for your positive rank and comments about Aloft Guadalajara. I am very please to know that we meet your expectations and that you embrace our concept so nicely; also I want to thank you for taking time to let us know that our staff are doing well, we are proud of our talets, It is very important for Aloft team to know that our our efforts are on track to deliver a good service that make you feel in good energy, this is the real spirit of Aloft Hotels.
Come back soon.

Herman Reeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel is brand new, but it has everything I come to expect from ALOFT hotels. The design is chic, contemporary, but with a nice Mexican influence. If you know ALOFT hotels, then you won't be dissapointed. The staff was very friendly. Always accomodating and always lending a helping hand. Upon arrival you are greeted with a warm smile and hello. The bar area (although mostly empty when I was there) has a cool vibe. My bartender was engaging and offered up the best little Mexican treats from their restaurant menu. To me, this felt like a little piece of NYC in Guadalajara. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman R, Manager at Aloft Guadalajara, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello JavC0

Thank you very much for share your comments about The Aloft Guadalajara Style, it is our goal to make you feel the Mexican taste inside Aloft modern and refreshing signature. I am very glad that our friendly talents make your stay special.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Regards,

Herman Reeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Chic design. Uber friendly staff. Great location, some of the best food and entertainment in the city. Casino a cross the street as well. Nice pool! We liked everything about this hotel. One word of advice, it is not super close to the center but there are many easy options for transit from about $1 usd for public to about $5 for a taxi... or if you have a car, your golden!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman R, General Manager at Aloft Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello torilove73. Thank you very much for staying at Aloft Guadalajara and taking the time to share your comments. It makes me very happy that our privileged location and friendly talents have met your expectations; our challenge is to excel in your next visit.

Regards,

Herman Reeling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Aloft is a very nice hotel in a great suburban location of Guadalajara, adjacent to the Guadalajara Country Club. It just opened and there are still some minor adjustments for the staff getting used to running the hotel, but all in all, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman R, General Manager at Aloft Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Google Translation
Hola BrainDoc90,
Gracias por hospedarte en Aloft Guadalajara y por tomarte el tiempo en relatarnos tu experiencia. En estas semanas hemos hecho muchos cambios, esperamos puedas venir a visitarnos y nos brindes tu valiosa retroalimentación

Saludos,
Herman Reeling Brouwer
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

For anyone who finds themselves needing CENTRAL accommodation in Guadalajara, I would recommend the Aloft for sure. It is probably the NEWEST hotel in GDL as of this writing.

It's a younger crowd, with no-frills accommodation and without fussy service. The staff are super friendly, not super professional. In a good way. The rooms have what you would need and nothing you don't. The hotel just opened when I stayed here and as a result the infinity pool has no lounge chairs or towels and the floor its on is a construction site. Literally. Drywall and wires exposed...

The in room coffee maker was not clean upon arrival (meh - just coffee) and I was not blessed with another packet of coffee from the maid one day after using mine one morning (and I even left a note saying thanks for giving me more! In Spanish!).

Note that it's probably a 2-star hotel by US standards: showers have those soap dispensers on the walls; the bed duvet cover, well it just "covers" the duvet, with the sides leaving the duvet exposed; the building materials and light switches and cheap-o alarm clock, et al... are of economy standards and the barren concrete walls and hallways might be a turn off for the more seasoned travelers expecting a more Marriott experience. (For that, go across the way to the NH, which is a phenomenal Spanish chain.)

There is no valet, no bellboy service, the reception is not on the ground floor and the two elevators seemed to choke under the Friday night load of guests (not to mention the cleaning staff seem not to have their own service elevator). The staff is eager to speak English (although I speak Spanish) and are playfully clad in pink polo shirts.

Skip the breakfast and go across the street. Their little 24-hour "snack bar" can be convenient if you need a little pick-me-up though.

It's in a nice area of GDL. First timers - I wouldn't stay in the center. From here you can walk down Av Pablo Neruda for cafes/restaurants (or across the street to the mall Punto Sao Palo), take a cab downtown, head over to Andares, stroll down avenida Chapultapec....

All in all a great experience, and if you are an SPG member, I could think of worse ways to use 3-4,000 points for a free night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman R, General Manager at Aloft Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Google Translation
Hola BretW,

Agradecemos tus comentarios ya que éstos nos motivan para seguir mejorando día a día. El concepto Aloft fue desarrollado como una alternativa renovada, divertida y vanguardista para un público que busca una nueva opción de hospedaje informal en el segmento de Select Service y ubicado en la estratégica zona financiera y comercial de Guadalajara.
El hotel desde su inicio en el mes de Febrero 2014 ha logrado adecuarse al mercado y esperamos que pronto puedas venir a visitarnos nuevamente para que brindes tu valiosa retroalimentación

Saludos,
Herman Reeling Brouwer
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Guadalajara

Address: Av. de las Americas 1528 | Colonia Country Club, Guadalajara 44637, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Guadalajara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.