We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and honest food, affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Chouchou

Chez Chouchou
Pedro Moreno 1290, Jose Ma Vigil 2905 | Colonia Americana, Colonia Providencia, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
+52 38250218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 585 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Valet Parking
Description: Chez-Chouchou appears as a new French gastronomic offer in unique and original place. In Chez-Chouchou, we q ue feel at home, enjoying traditional French dishes with exquisite Mexican flair. Chez-Chouchou is place to hang out with friends, colleagues and family. A place that blends both traditional and modern in a cozy space. You can enjoy a gourmet coffee, a glass of French wine, one of their delicious desserts, and discover our mountain cheese as the "raclette". The personalized attention of its creators, as well as its rich cuisine offers its customers a unforgettable and unique experience in Guadalajara. Un lieu pour profiter, gouter et revenir.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good and honest food, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food: great, french specialties, far from the fancy-gourmet-expensive-not tasty food you can find in plenty of GDL restaurants. Here it's real french dishes, well prepared, well served. Similar to what you would find in a french bistro.
Price: quite cheap for the quality! The 3 courses menu is only 85 pesos, which is the price of a carls junior combo... so save yourself a fat burger and go for this delicious option!
Ambiance: nice and simple. No show off here. It's nice to avoid the "I come for the status and not the food" group of people you can meet at other places in GDL.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    51
    23
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Preety good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I really like this place...Beautiful décor, the most friendly owners/servers...Great value on wine at 200 pesos and a rose at 220...BUT, they need someone to council the chef to tighten his technique...I am trained in Paris and he just needs a few tips to clarify the dishes...he is almost there but not quite...really nice place though...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, México
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cozy dining style français!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Gratefully surprised with this place! The food was the best of everything! Also, it is worth it to mention the staff was very, very friendly. They're still a new place, though (4.5 months for what I learned) and the service kind of needs some polishing:

(1) I wasn't sure who exactly my server was,
(2) they forgot to put a fork in my table and
(3) they gave me a skunked beer.

Still, I highly recommend it, hoping they are in the process of improving and given the food is simply delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just off Pedro Moreno by Chapultepec there is this simple dining called Chez Chouchou. Delicious mixers (sparkling chez chouchou mango, for example), salads, raclette, ratatouille, also snails and profiteroles or tarte tatin for dessert. It is a blend of tasty elements very well cooked within a careless atmosphere that keeps the loud crowds away. They even offer a fix price menu for lunch (Mexican time 2-5 pm). over a warm Caguama. This place is made to eat, not to flirt drunken. Read a vague review and decide to jump in twice in two days... Guadalajara is a great place to try different places every day, this could be an exception because it does deserve a second or third try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

arrived early around 8pm, we were greeted warmly by the waitress. She was very helpful in explaning the menu.The decor is modern and very romantic. The food was a culinary experience;please try the duck a l'orange to die for. Antoine and Raoul the owners were charming and very hospitable. If you are ever in Guadalajara I highly recommend you try chez chouchou. I now understand why it is rated the 2nd best restaurant in Guadalajara by trip advisor. Keep up the good work boys and all the success. Rejean & Norm

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Chouchou also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Chez Chouchou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Chouchou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.