We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Chouchou

Chez Chouchou
Pedro Moreno 1290 | Col. Americana, Guadalajara, Mexico
33 38250218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 475 restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Chez-Chouchou aparece como una nueva propuesta gastronomica francesa en lugar unico y original. En Chez-Chouchou, queremos que se sienta como en casa, disfrutando de los platillos tipicos franceses con un exquisito toque mexicano.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just off Pedro Moreno by Chapultepec there is this simple dining called Chez Chouchou. Delicious mixers (sparkling chez chouchou mango, for example), salads, raclette, ratatouille, also snails and profiteroles or tarte tatin for dessert. It is a blend of tasty elements very well cooked within a careless atmosphere that keeps the loud crowds away. They even offer a fix price menu for lunch (Mexican time 2-5 pm). over a warm Caguama. This place is made to eat, not to flirt drunken. Read a vague review and decide to jump in twice in two days... Guadalajara is a great place to try different places every day, this could be an exception because it does deserve a second or third try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    107
    33
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

arrived early around 8pm, we were greeted warmly by the waitress. She was very helpful in explaning the menu.The decor is modern and very romantic. The food was a culinary experience;please try the duck a l'orange to die for. Antoine and Raoul the owners were charming and very hospitable. If you are ever in Guadalajara I highly recommend you try chez chouchou. I now understand why it is rated the 2nd best restaurant in Guadalajara by trip advisor. Keep up the good work boys and all the success. Rejean & Norm

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you have spent a number of days vacationing in Guadalajara the local Mexican menus all begin to look and taste the same, This little gem tucked into the area around the University of Guadalajara is a wonderfully french change of pace. We walked along Ave. Jaurez from our hotel on the corner of Jaurez and Federalisimo and enjoyed looking in the windows of all the bridal shops along the way. The restaurant is on the ground floor of a modern building one block north on Pedro Moreno just off Enrique Diaz de Leon Sur. It is modestly and modernly decorated but the small tables, color scheme and high brick ceiling make a lovely romantic setting. Tables are well space. We started with the chef's special appetizer, asparagus with parma ham and a buere blanc sauce. The asparagus was perfectly cooked and the sauce was subtly delicious. We flowed with the crochette of chicken and mushrooms and the house specialty, canard d'loronge. Both were excellent. The duck was accompanied by small slices of poached pear and a julienne medley of vegetables.The flavors were layered, none over powering the other and the duck cooked a perfect medium with a small layer of fat beautifully seared. The attractive and well groomed servers were fluent in English and .very attentive. We finished the evening with one of the best creme brullie I've ever eaten, a nutella crepe and capachinos. A touch of flaming tequila added a delicate hint of flavor to the creme brullie This is a must go to restaurant if you are staying in the centro historic district. 610 pesos (50$) with two glasses of wine and tip.
































guadalajara

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
1 review
“Wow its a must see ,must do in guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What can I say it was a very good experience I went with some friends and we looked up Chez Chou Chou in tripadvisor and since we where around so we gave it a go, its something new to the french cusine giving it that special mexican touch ,it is somthing unique never tried anything like it .once we sat down we had some aperitive cocktails one they call a Spring Paris and Mango Chou Chou very good ,We had as starters somthing diffrent each like eggant ravioles (amazing),exotic salad and a pear salad that is a good way to start your lounch or dinner and are main course where duck l'orange with a very special orange souce with hthis mexican spice that gives it a great flavor ,tha hamburger with raclette cheese (very special taest) and some duck panuchos that where a big wow!!! You would have to try it and kow what I mean and the cherry on top where the desserts that we had creme brule flamed with tequila ,caramel fondant and canelle plus this place has this special vibe ,its cozy the disigne is very nice with some vintage touch thumbs up for this place will for sure come back to this place .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Chouchou also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area

Been to Chez Chouchou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Chouchou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.