We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Chouchou

Chez Chouchou
Pedro Moreno 1290, Jose Ma Vigil 2905 | Colonia Americana, Colonia Providencia, Guadalajara 44160, Mexico
+52 38250218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 640 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Valet Parking
Description: Chez-Chouchou appears as a new French gastronomic offer in unique and original place. In Chez-Chouchou, we q ue feel at home, enjoying traditional French dishes with exquisite Mexican flair. Chez-Chouchou is place to hang out with friends, colleagues and family. A place that blends both traditional and modern in a cozy space. You can enjoy a gourmet coffee, a glass of French wine, one of their delicious desserts, and discover our mountain cheese as the "raclette". The personalized attention of its creators, as well as its rich cuisine offers its customers a unforgettable and unique experience in Guadalajara. Un lieu pour profiter, gouter et revenir.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just off Pedro Moreno by Chapultepec there is this simple dining called Chez Chouchou. Delicious mixers (sparkling chez chouchou mango, for example), salads, raclette, ratatouille, also snails and profiteroles or tarte tatin for dessert. It is a blend of tasty elements very well cooked within a careless atmosphere that keeps the loud crowds away. They even offer a fix price menu for lunch (Mexican time 2-5 pm). over a warm Caguama. This place is made to eat, not to flirt drunken. Read a vague review and decide to jump in twice in two days... Guadalajara is a great place to try different places every day, this could be an exception because it does deserve a second or third try.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    61
    25
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

arrived early around 8pm, we were greeted warmly by the waitress. She was very helpful in explaning the menu.The decor is modern and very romantic. The food was a culinary experience;please try the duck a l'orange to die for. Antoine and Raoul the owners were charming and very hospitable. If you are ever in Guadalajara I highly recommend you try chez chouchou. I now understand why it is rated the 2nd best restaurant in Guadalajara by trip advisor. Keep up the good work boys and all the success. Rejean & Norm

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you have spent a number of days vacationing in Guadalajara the local Mexican menus all begin to look and taste the same, This little gem tucked into the area around the University of Guadalajara is a wonderfully french change of pace. We walked along Ave. Jaurez from our hotel on the corner of Jaurez and Federalisimo and enjoyed looking in the windows of all the bridal shops along the way. The restaurant is on the ground floor of a modern building one block north on Pedro Moreno just off Enrique Diaz de Leon Sur. It is modestly and modernly decorated but the small tables, color scheme and high brick ceiling make a lovely romantic setting. Tables are well space. We started with the chef's special appetizer, asparagus with parma ham and a buere blanc sauce. The asparagus was perfectly cooked and the sauce was subtly delicious. We flowed with the crochette of chicken and mushrooms and the house specialty, canard d'loronge. Both were excellent. The duck was accompanied by small slices of poached pear and a julienne medley of vegetables.The flavors were layered, none over powering the other and the duck cooked a perfect medium with a small layer of fat beautifully seared. The attractive and well groomed servers were fluent in English and .very attentive. We finished the evening with one of the best creme brullie I've ever eaten, a nutella crepe and capachinos. A touch of flaming tequila added a delicate hint of flavor to the creme brullie This is a must go to restaurant if you are staying in the centro historic district. 610 pesos (50$) with two glasses of wine and tip.
































guadalajara

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
1 review
“Wow its a must see ,must do in guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What can I say it was a very good experience I went with some friends and we looked up Chez Chou Chou in tripadvisor and since we where around so we gave it a go, its something new to the french cusine giving it that special mexican touch ,it is somthing unique never tried anything like it .once we sat down we had some aperitive cocktails one they call a Spring Paris and Mango Chou Chou very good ,We had as starters somthing diffrent each like eggant ravioles (amazing),exotic salad and a pear salad that is a good way to start your lounch or dinner and are main course where duck l'orange with a very special orange souce with hthis mexican spice that gives it a great flavor ,tha hamburger with raclette cheese (very special taest) and some duck panuchos that where a big wow!!! You would have to try it and kow what I mean and the cherry on top where the desserts that we had creme brule flamed with tequila ,caramel fondant and canelle plus this place has this special vibe ,its cozy the disigne is very nice with some vintage touch thumbs up for this place will for sure come back to this place .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Chouchou also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Chez Chouchou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Chouchou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.