We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Mexico” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Bangalore, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Viva Mexico”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed at the Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara for a week in September 2010. It was a decent hotel. Nothing much to write home about except that for the price it was pretty good. I stayed in a room on the 10th floor which had a great view of the sunrise behind some small hills in the backdrop. Room very clean & neat. Usual hotel, nothing out of the ordinary but again, for the price it was good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    83
    24
    21
    17
See reviews for
27
32
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Presidente, and this time I had much more pleasant experience. I bought the $30 "upgrade package" on this visit, and was given a really great corner room! There were floor-to-ceiling windows on three sides, so the room had great light and a nice view. Bathroom was large and pretty luxurious with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower.

Maybe the best part about the room was that it was separated from all the noise - from the parties downstairs and from the elevator that dings all night long! That along with the comfortable bed allowed me to have a great night sleep.

Restaurant and bar are decent, but pricey. Also, stay away from the Mariachi place that the hotel inevitably recommends - Hacienda Canelos. It looks great - outdoor garden type atmosphere - but the service is slow and the food is horrendous.

Staff is helpful and courteous - overall very good business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Internet you have to pay daily, yet more often then not, its down time
Problems with safe from checked in.. waited 2hours, after 4 phone calls before anyone come up and that took him 30mins to solve.. and this is immediately after checking in, after 10hours of fight.. you think they serves you better.. or even give you a free cocktail.. NOTHING!
Every piece of paper printing we have to pay..despite booking their conference business room, and coffee and cakes for our meetings.. not even a complimentary ballpen!!!
Staff for a 5star hotel, you expect all can speak english.. not the case. and more often passed on from one person to another
2 positive to say about this hotel: The spa is FANTASTIC.. thank god for that
and the room was very roomy and beautiful views, and across great shopping complex.
With more better training, this hotel can be great. So its not all lost. But would be nice if they compensated even a free breakfast or a free cocktail for the stress this hotel gave me. Oh and when one of my colleague from Mexico came to visit us, they wont let him up our room. Unknown to us, he was made to wait in the lobby lounge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

My wife and I went to the Intercontinental in Guadalajara for a nights getaway. The Hotel is fabulous, clean and and the rooms spacious. The Hotel also has a great bar and restaurant. I booked for a Club room with all the amenities. The web site advertises "Dinner snacks, Complimentary Drink"s", Free Morning Paper Delivered to the Room, Separate Check in area, Turndown service and Complimentary Continental Breakfast." We didnt receive a morning paper,nor the turndown service. The Dinner snacks were limited, you had to ask for the hot ones, and the complimentary drinks (plural) turned out to be "One Cocktail" which they prepare for you and you have no choice of cocktails. They should change their advertising to "complimentary cocktail of the day" rather than the plural "drinks". This is very different from other Intercontinental Hotels I have been to in the past. The continental breakfast was very good. Not sure the Club is entirely worth it if you cant enjoy a couple of cocktails of your choice before going to dinner. In saying the above, I would recommend the hotel and the rooms are great as well as the bar and restaurant and the location is good.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I'll try to prevent myself from writing a novel, but I feel compelled to express my thanks to the staff at this hotel. To be honest, the trip started in disaster. Yet the hotel Management and Staff did everything possible to make my stay a memorable one.

I usually stay at the Hilton Expo about 1 1/2 miles away. I was booked at the Intercontinental for two weeks in October due to lack of availability at the Hilton. The Presidente Intercontinental is in a much better location for shopping and transport and the bar/wait staff had always been good when I would visit for dinner or drinks at night with colleagues who were staying there. I also needed just a few nights to acheive Platinum status with ICH Priority Club so I thought "what the heck". The rate I was quoted was farily high (249.00) for a standard room, but due to major events in GDL it was to be expected.

I won't go into all the details. Let's just say the first night of my stay was a nightmare. I contacted ICH Priority Club Rewards via the internet and expressed my displeasure in an honest yet fairly insensitive way. The next night there was a letter in my room asking me to come downstairs and speak with the Manager. I went down and received an apology from the front desk and they asked if I would like to have another room for the duration of my stay. I agreed and was presented with a key to a magnificent room on the top floor (23rd). Simply put, it was sick (in a good way). The service I received throughout my 12 nights was incredible and the hotel was in tip top condition. I really appreciate it and have passed this information to my company which books hundreds of nights a year in the GDL area.

I still feel you can't go wrong with the Hilton, and I would stay there again. But for my money the Presidente is worth the few extra bucks. Close to shopping, restaurants, casinos, etc. Great staff with admirable English. Decent restaurants and shops. 24 Hour room service. A Spa. Everything you need for a great stay in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

It took about 40 minutes to check in, desk staff were rude and unhelpful the entire week. Their website boasts a "24 hour" fitness center, but the fitness center hours are 5:30 - 9:00. I asked permission to work out early before staying there - they said "no problem". The first morning they let me into the center, the second morning they said they changed their policy. Despite me reminding them they stated "24 hours" and assured me it would be OK to work out earlier. So the second morning, I exercised on the bike IN THE DARK! Yes, in the dark, because they would not turn the lights on. The rooms have irons, but no ironing boards. I'm a priority club platinum/gold member, but no acknowledgement of this fact. Internet service costs 100 pesos per day and did not work the first two days...Don't ruin your stay in Guadalajara by using this hotel....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntercontinentalGDL, kathy_altamirano@interconti.com at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, December 23, 2010
Dear Mr or Ms.

Thank you for share your experience. We appreciate the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to address your concerns.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of slow check in, the Fitness Center poor condition and the unhelpful front office staff. We are very sorry that our new cardio center did not meet your expectations. This new concept came with the latest renovation and unfortunately we have not been able to change the web site information.

InterContinental Hotels Group prides itself on the highest degree of customer satisfaction. We have fallen short of your expectations on this occasion, which is of great concern to us. Please be assured a record of this report will be maintained in the corporate office as well for consideration upon standards evaluation for this specific property.

In addition, Mr. Gustavo Staufert general manager is taking care of the follow up with the Fitness Center new administration. We are confident they will take the appropriate steps to ensure a similar situation will not occur again.

Once again, please accept our extended apologies.

Kathy Altamirano
General Manager Assistant
Presidente Intercontinental Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I spent one night with my family in this hotel. I got a very good deal with advance purchase on their website, so the price was great- 90$ for a two double beds room.
The room is very moderns, very clean, nice amenities and furniture. The mimibar was well appointed, good AC. The only minuses are that somehow the room and bathroom are a little bit small in respect to other 5star hotel rooms, anyway much bigger than in Europe.
The food was great too: very good saturday brunch with varied international cuisine at only 20$ per person. Another plus for me was the coffee: authentic italian espresso at the bar.
Internet was not free not even in the lobby or pool. We tried the pool too though it was kind of a cold water in it.
Parking place is for like 4$ per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Address: Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#21 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled.• Magnificent location across Plaza del Sol shopping mallwhich features more than 250 stores and restaurants,5 minutes away from Expo Guadalajara.• 4 Diamonds by the AAA, H Distinctive and HTDistinctive (High Technology).• 423 fully remodeled guestrooms.• “El Chante” Spa, Gym, Sauna, Steam, Jacuzzi, HeatedPool and Massages.• Chef’s Table (unique concept in town) y The ExclusiveTequila Collection Bar.• 21 different meeting rooms for up to 1500 pax.• 24 hour services: Gym, Business Center and RoomService. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Intercontinental Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.