We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor, you've got the wrong address and spot on map for this place! It's clear across town from where it's listed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 113 hotels in Guadalajara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor, you've got the wrong address and spot on map for this place! It's clear across town from where it's listed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice place, pool is heated to 30' c, and I was told they had cheap massages, but it's $150 for 80 min!
It's located southwest of the center, other reviews describe location. There's a mall across the street, with some food options too, and you can take bus #258 into the center for 6pesos, takes about 20-30 min.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    82
    24
    21
    16
See reviews for
27
31
19
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you're in the area for business, not a bad option, as the rooms have been renovated and are quite nice -- at least on the club floor hallways. Modern, nice, and comfortable rooms with well appointed and big bathrooms.

However, some things to be weary of:

1. What other travellers have said regarding the A/C is quite true. You're either a popsicle by morning's come, or you're a sweaty mess (depending on if you left the A/C on or off); there is no scaling of A/C in these rooms.

2. There is a nice Nespresso machine in the room with 4 varieties of espresso coffee for the morning. Since there are no creamer packets, you can only go with the espresso option (no cafe americano option w/o creamer or cream). I was disappointed since i like my coffee with cream or creamer, but I needed a jolt, so I made an espresso in room with the maker. No other coffee machine or coffee was in the room. I get my folio later that day and find that there was a 48 peso charge for my 2 oz. cup of espresso that I made myself earlier that morning. I couldn't believe it since i'd never heard of charging someone $4.50, basically, to make a 2 oz. cup of espresso in their own room, without any sign on the espresso/coffee machine. I had to dig into the mini-bar book to find that there was a charge for the capsule of espresso. SO not cool. This is so low on so many levels.

I paid for the capsule, told the staff it was sneaky and shoddy, and also promised that I'd never stay at this property for crap like that. And of course I'll never stay here again.

Also, the lobby and bar -- while very nicely renovated -- are run by staff members who could care one iota whether you're enjoying yourself or even are being served. Very poor service but not as poor as teh quality of drinks they serve. Only 25 mL pours in their alcoholic cocktails (1/2 of a US shot) and they charged about $10 USD for a simple 1/2 shot of gin Tom Collins. Really??

Also, the club level staff are hit and miss too. Miguel is a very nice server (and friendly) but the other guys are quite rude and have very few high end customer skills). Not a fan of the rest of the staff at all. The afternoon snacks weren't bad but very very limited. Also, you're only allowed one glass of atrociously bad Mexican wine or a beer (better go with the beer if you want to live) in the club level in the evening. Anything above that or liquor in nature, carries a charge. The morning club level breakfast was neat (poached eggs on tostadas, but without any flavor at all. One juice was offered (OJ) and no water at all, unless you asked for it. Very disappointed in the "Club" level.

The front desk staff (and porters) were much nicer and friendlier than most of the other service staff). The facility staff were also very nice and friendly.

Management was nowhere to be found in the restaurants, bars, club room, or front desk. Ever.



Overall: nice new room, pleasant bathroom, and pleasant front desk staff. Enjoyed my room. Did not enjoy most of the wait staff and found the 48 peso charge for a make your own 2 oz. coffee in room (with no signage) just abominable. What's next? I need to check under the bathroom sink to see if there is a secret slab announcing the price for my shampoo and conditioner? Highly ridiculous. You won't see any member of management respond to my post in protest, because all of it is 100% accurate, unfortunately. Sad.

Room Tip: Club rooms have all been renovated, but will cost you about $25 more a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear ATLconsultant,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. It is nice to know that you found the rooms comfortable. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had over the unsatisfactory service and quality you had on the Club level. In addition, I sincerely apologize for the air conditioning issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. These issues will be addressed immediately. Again, I do apologize and regret that these impacted your experience at our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was recently renovated and looks great. If you happen to have Ambassador status with Intercontinental, then you will be upgraded to the Club floor and enjoy free breakfast and evening snacks at the club lounge. The rooms are clean, wide and fresh looking as well as the shower and bath. There is only one restaurant for the hotel though other options available outside at the nearby open shopping mall. I would recommend staying here if you are Ambassador member or have business near by.

Room Tip: Ask for Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staff was super nice, helpul, friendly, excellent personal presentation all the staff.
Contemporary hotel design, nice installations, clean, a mix between warm and little bit of sofistication hotel, very nice one!

Room Tip: The higher levels of the hotel are the best views. Ask the Front desk they give you a great room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo S, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Presidente Intercontinental Guadalaja.

It is always a pleasure to hear, that our facilities and service was up to your expectations.

We hope that you will continue to use IHG Hotels as your lodging of choice, and I will look forward to welcome you back to this beautiful city.

Regards,

Gustavo Staufert
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very nice hotel for business and family. It has been renewed and It looks very good. Service and spa was great. I think It is an excelent option for business and family proposals. It is very clase to other restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo S, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I thank you for sharing with us your recent experiences at Presidentente Intercontinental Guadalajara, It is a pleasure to hear, that our staff and our facilities exceeded your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you again

Sincerely,

Gustavo Staufert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service is great! Perfect for business meetings.

Make sure you upgrade to the business floor, it includes breakfast, quiet room and acess to the business area.

The hotel is across the street from a mall and close to go anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental in Guadalajara recently for a wedding and had a pretty good stay. This property isn't as nice as other Intercontinental properties, but was nicer than a lot of the other hotels we looked at in Guadalajara.

For the most part this was a stay without many problems. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was always helpful. The food was excellent, and breakfast was free (and delicious!) as part of the club room booking.

Two small hiccups were: check-in was much delayed, and after a day of traveling to get there, having to wait for four hours for our room wasn't great (mind you, this was well after the normal check-in time...it's not like we arrived at 10 a.m.). Also, the hotel needs to invest in some better gym equipment. What they have is old and not in good shape - squeeky gears, etc. And, there are no weights. It would have been nice to have at least some hand weights to use. Having stayed at several other Intercontinental properties, I had higher hopes for the gym.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Address: Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#19 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled.• Magnificent location across Plaza del Sol shopping mallwhich features more than 250 stores and restaurants,5 minutes away from Expo Guadalajara.• 4 Diamonds by the AAA, H Distinctive and HTDistinctive (High Technology).• 423 fully remodeled guestrooms.• “El Chante” Spa, Gym, Sauna, Steam, Jacuzzi, HeatedPool and Massages.• Chef’s Table (unique concept in town) y The ExclusiveTequila Collection Bar.• 21 different meeting rooms for up to 1500 pax.• 24 hour services: Gym, Business Center and RoomService. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Intercontinental Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.