We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 113 hotels in Guadalajara
Port Moody
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed last week from Sunday to Thursday and it was perfectly fine. I spent a little extra to upgrade to a Jr. Suite in the Executive area (room 1701) and it was bright and modern and well worth the minor upgrade charge per night. Large master with TV, very big bathroom with a huge soaker tub, a large walk-in Shower with two shower heads and a large closet. There was a separate living room and big desk to work at. My bed had lots of plugins for my electronics. The decor was white with a splash of colour. I faced west and could see a beautiful sunset each night. Bed was comfy and they even brought the requested foam pillows. The secret seems to be to get on the 17th floor or above as my co-workers were on lower floors and did not have as nice of a room as they had not been remodeled yet.

One side note: put your chain on at night (I know -seems obvious). One of my co-workers did not and had a maid (or one that looked like a maid) use her pass key to enter his room in the middle of the night. She clearly did not expect him there. There was no valid reason I could think of for an employee to just walk into a room without knocking in the middle of the night. Very suspcicious in my opinion, but he does not speak Spanish and so she may have said something to explain her presence at the time that he did not understand. When he reported this the next day it did not seem concerning to the front desk staff, so I am not sure if anything was done about that.

Staff was wonderful. They had a great buffet breakfast. don't miss the papaya and pinapple - so sweet and fresh. The chilaquiles were great as well.

Room service was prompt and the food was tasty. Don't miss the tacos Dorados. I actually received my wakeup call as requested.

Overall I would definitely stay there again on my next trip to GDL.

Don't miss El Sacramonto restaurant - easily my favourite meal of the trip. It is an eclectic place with very very good gourmet food, beautifully presented. Excellent service. terrific price ( 4 of us with appies, main course, 2 tequilas and one main desert came to around $100USD. If you want a real Mexican dinner (not Tex-Mex), this is a wonderful and charming place.

Room Tip: 1701 was great. see the detail in my review but it was a super room. It faced west and was very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    24
    20
    15
See reviews for
27
30
19
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This enormous, gloomy hotel may not need a lot of tourist trade, they seemed to mostly cater for business people, but if they do want more tourists they must do better than they did with me.

The vast lobby is dark and unwelcoming, though the reception staff were friendly and eventually I was shown to my room. The room was quite pleasant but the air conditioning was deafening & almost impossible to switch off. Due to us being in a special corridor (locked) we were told to use a special room for breakfast. I don't know if this was a punishment or something, but we were shown to a small crowded room with computers in it where we were told to wait for a table. While we waited more people came in and sat without waiting. The food was very average and the atmosphere dreadful.

The worst part of the stay was the evening we decided to have a drink in the bar (again very dark and rather chilly). Having signed the 2 drinks to my room we were chased out into the lobby by a waitress and told to wait. She spent several minutes trying to get someones attention. I asked why we were waiting. She said she had to check the credit card. When she spoke to someone they proceeded to slowly check. I asked what is the problem again. I was told they hadn't swiped my Amex properly when I checked in and I must pay cash now. I told her I had used the minibar but she said it wasn't the same. I felt like I had done something wrong, and it was all rather embarrassing. But mostly I was amazed, having never been to an hotel where the clientele were so mistrusted that you can't sign for drinks.

All in all I would urge potential guests to look around. Of the four hotels we stayed at in Mexico, 2 were large like this one, and 2 were small. The small hotels were infinitely better run than the large ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo S, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for share with us your experience at the Presidente InterContinental Hotel Guadalajara. We appreciate the time you have taken to bring this matter to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to improve our services.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as a result of the room assignment and the staff attention services. InterContinental Hotels Group prides itself on the highest degree of customer satisfaction. We have fallen short on your expectations, which is of great concern to us.

In addition, We want to assure you that We will take the appropriate steps to ensure a similar situation will not occur again in the future.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Staufert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a week on business. The check in went smoothly, all employees I interacted with had very good English skills. Room was wonderful. The bar and restaurant at the Presidente were both very good. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. A little busy at check out but no troubles for me. It appeared there were a lot of people awhile had early flights out on Friday. Just make sure you leave a bit of extra time on departure in case you run into the same situation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I generally enjoy the Intercontinental chain, but this place needs some help.
Their water system is such that for three days in a row I would work to set a comfortable temperature in the shower, only to randomly have it spike up and down to freezing or scalding temperatures. No exaggeration here, it was really painful. That is, of course, after reattaching the handle that fell off when I first grabbed it.

A visit to the gym is a must if you don't mind broken machines; of the six cardio devices available, three were out of order during my stay.

Be careful when sitting at the desk in your room. The faux wood grain trim at your side has VERY sharp edges and I cut my knee twice during my stay.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo S, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We are also very sorry for any inconvenience the condition of the room may have caused you.

It is IHG’s goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Staufert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A good hotel for business and holiday. The rooms are nice. Bed is very comfortable. But the airconditioning was very cold. Even when I set the temperature to 24ºC, but the aircond temperature is maintained at 18~20ºC. Breakfast was good. They have a nice lounge and bar (with good Tequila of course!!). There is a hop-on-hop-off bus stop in front of the hotel. It is a good and fast way of seeing Guadalajara (just 90 peso for a whole day trip).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo S, General Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Please accept my apologies, I am concerned about our shortcomings and We are reviewing our facilities and procedures to improve the quality of our guest service and to make sure that this kind of incidents will be solved in the shortest period of time.

We hope that these incident does not tarnish your preference towards our hotel

Regardes,

Gustavo Staufert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is old and the service is really bad. The rooms are very small. The street in front is very noise. They are not responsible for your car in the valet parking service. They crash your car and don't proivide any answer.

El hotel es viejo y el servicio muy malo. Las habitaciones son muy pequeñas comparado con otros hoteles de ese precio, es incomodo. En el valet parking chocan tu carro y no responden nada.

Recomiendo no usar este hotel

Room Tip: No quedarse en este hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Raul G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am truly sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What we liked best about this hotel was its location and the updated, modern design of the rooms. Unfortunately, our experience there was not the greatest. We tried to get an early check-in at 1 p.m. but were told no rooms were available. After an hour in the bar, we tried again with no luck. So we left our bags and went to lunch at Canelo's (five minute walk, great Mexican food, Mariachi's, etc.). Upon return around 5:30 p.m. our room was finally ready, but the bathroom wasn't that clean and the shower floor was wet as if someone had just showered. Normally we would have requested another room immediately, but we were so late by then we didn't have time to wait for another room.

Other criticisms: When we put our valuables in the closet safe we realized it wasn't bolted down to anything. You could just pick it up and remove it. The glass door in the shower wasn't properly sealed so water leaked all over the bathroom floor when we showered. And the sink was very slow to drain.

On a positive note, the bed, pillows and linens were better than average. And the service in the reception and the bar was friendly and professional, even if it wasn't the speediest. In the hotel's defense, we were there during the FIL, the largest book fair in Latin America, and all the hotels, not just the InterContinental, were packed. Note: if you're going to the Expo, you can walk there from the hotel, but expect it to take 20-25 minutes and be very careful crossing the street because pedestrians are rarely given the right of way. Or take a taxi for 35 pesos (US$3).

Despite our problems with our room, we'd give this hotel another chance the next time we're back in Guadalajara.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise, request a high floor and/or a room that is not overlooking Lopez Mateos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Address: Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#14 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#18 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled.• Magnificent location across Plaza del Sol shopping mallwhich features more than 250 stores and restaurants,5 minutes away from Expo Guadalajara.• 4 Diamonds by the AAA, H Distinctive and HTDistinctive (High Technology).• 423 fully remodeled guestrooms.• “El Chante” Spa, Gym, Sauna, Steam, Jacuzzi, HeatedPool and Massages.• Chef’s Table (unique concept in town) y The ExclusiveTequila Collection Bar.• 21 different meeting rooms for up to 1500 pax.• 24 hour services: Gym, Business Center and RoomService. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Intercontinental Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.