We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled, but still lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara to your Saves list
Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Remodeled, but still lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What we liked best about this hotel was its location and the updated, modern design of the rooms. Unfortunately, our experience there was not the greatest. We tried to get an early check-in at 1 p.m. but were told no rooms were available. After an hour in the bar, we tried again with no luck. So we left our bags and went to lunch at Canelo's (five minute walk, great Mexican food, Mariachi's, etc.). Upon return around 5:30 p.m. our room was finally ready, but the bathroom wasn't that clean and the shower floor was wet as if someone had just showered. Normally we would have requested another room immediately, but we were so late by then we didn't have time to wait for another room.

Other criticisms: When we put our valuables in the closet safe we realized it wasn't bolted down to anything. You could just pick it up and remove it. The glass door in the shower wasn't properly sealed so water leaked all over the bathroom floor when we showered. And the sink was very slow to drain.

On a positive note, the bed, pillows and linens were better than average. And the service in the reception and the bar was friendly and professional, even if it wasn't the speediest. In the hotel's defense, we were there during the FIL, the largest book fair in Latin America, and all the hotels, not just the InterContinental, were packed. Note: if you're going to the Expo, you can walk there from the hotel, but expect it to take 20-25 minutes and be very careful crossing the street because pedestrians are rarely given the right of way. Or take a taxi for 35 pesos (US$3).

Despite our problems with our room, we'd give this hotel another chance the next time we're back in Guadalajara.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise, request a high floor and/or a room that is not overlooking Lopez Mateos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    89
    27
    21
    18
See reviews for
28
35
20
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here last Feb for 4 days only.
The check in process is smooth but takes some time.
The food during breakfast is very nice.
The staff greets you with the smile.
The room is clean and smells good.
The location is just across a shopping area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were very pleased with the Intercontinental ! We had a really nice corner room with a view of the city, if you are a light sleeper you might want a room away from the street. You could hear the traffic at night. Beds were comfortable. Nice restaurant with a great breakfast buffet. Lounge had a nice variety of tequilas and live music. Shopping center across the street. Only about 20 minutes from the airport...

Room Tip: Corner suites have beautiful view but if you face the Main Street, you can hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at the Presidente Intercontinental in Guadalajara attending a conference. On the outside it looked rather old but I was surprised at the updated and very comfortable room. Also the room service is quite good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great hotel for a great price. For a modest fee (about US$35 a day after taxes), you can get their club benefits including a nicer room and Internet access and breakfast each day and snacks and non-alcoholic drinks.
The rooms were decorated with modern touches, and the bathrooms were very nice.
At no point did I feel unsafe. I felt safer there than in my hometown in the United States. We walked the streets at night with no problems.
Their water out of the tap is filtered and safe to drink. We drank it and did not get sick.
The location of the hotel is very convenient for shopping and dining. There is a mall across the street with a supermarket (Soriana) and nice department stores.
I would not hesitate to stay here again if I had business in Zapopan. For tourists, the hotel might be far from the historic attractions in the center of Guadalajara, but those still are only 15 minutes away by taxi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This Hotel is located in a very good zone of Guadalajara, it is located in Zapopan, which is a very quiet, nice looking zone, and right in front of a horizaontal Mall called Plaza del Sol where you can buy practically everything you need for your trip. It has restaurants near of all kind of prices. The services are quite well with everithing for business, It has a pool with warm water and a cardio zone in case you want to travel with family, and all the places to go or things to do are just a 15-20 minutes by taxi (which are quite expensive btw), the rooms are well spaced with clean bathrooms and clothes, the beds are very comfortables with 4 kinds of pillows (you know, softeness!) and they have TV, games, good Internet access and minibar, the prices of the drinking water are very expensive but you can go just in fron of the Hotel to the Sanborns store and buy one for the 7th of the price... The breakfast is very good and varied... ah! and they have spa too....In general a good choice if you are on a business or tourist trip. Don't forget to visit Tlaquepaque once you get there.

Room Tip: Rooms towards Moctezuma street have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The rooms are extremely large (showers and bathrooms are awesome) and it is easy to upgrade for a little extra to nicer suites. The breakfast buffet is amazing and the bar makes some great margaritas and has a 2 for 1 happy hour. The hotel in general is quiet, and I slept well. There was no "store" to buy bottled water or small travel items which was unfortunate as I wouldn't feel comfortable as a foreigner wandering on the street for a store. Also, there aren't many restaurants nearby, although in Guadalajara taxing a cab ANYWHERE is highly advised. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
We really appreciate your great feedback, however, we sincerely regret the lack of a convenience store inside the hotel, nevertheless, our concierge will always be happy to cross the street to Sanbors tobacco shop and buy all the items you may need.

Thank you for your preference shown for our hotel and our staff, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Staufert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara

Address: Av Lopez Mateos and Moctezuma | crossing the street you will find Mall Plaza del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#12 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely remodeled.• Magnificent location across Plaza del Sol shopping mallwhich features more than 250 stores and restaurants,5 minutes away from Expo Guadalajara.• 4 Diamonds by the AAA, H Distinctive and HTDistinctive (High Technology).• 423 fully remodeled guestrooms.• “El Chante” Spa, Gym, Sauna, Steam, Jacuzzi, HeatedPool and Massages.• Chef’s Table (unique concept in town) y The ExclusiveTequila Collection Bar.• 21 different meeting rooms for up to 1500 pax.• 24 hour services: Gym, Business Center and RoomService. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Intercontinental Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Intercontinental Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente InterContinental Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.