We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ganz to your Saves list
Villa Ganz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a relaxing and comfortable stay. The rooms were beautiful and well kept. The service was great.

The most amazing thing though about our stay was the service AFTER we left. We managed to forget our laptop at the airport on our way home and Villa Ganz was instrumental in getting it back for us. This included writing a special letter and sending a courier to the airport multiple times. Finally, after much difficulty dealing with the authorities at the airport we received our laptop back via FedEx. Thank you Villa Ganz!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MChristoff4,

It has been our pleasure to welcome you to Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, and being able to assist you, not only during your stay, but afterwards.

We truly believe a travel experience begins before the actual travel and ends until you are at home. Every detail, every moment counts, and either can make or break the memories of the entire trip.

Thank you for your trust and preference, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the future once again.

Best regards,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
106
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot say enough good things about Villa Ganz. Beautiful atmosphere, unique rooms, wonderful staff. This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever visited. The food was delicious too! We were here for a wedding and would gladly return to Villa Ganz in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear MCJMHouston_Texas,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your visit as a wedding guest in Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. We are honored by your comments. it motivates us to continue improving and giving our best at all times.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we look forward to welcome you again.

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a gem in the heart of Guadalajara....if you are in the area and you have the opportunity to stay in this hotel, I highly recommend it to you. Also the service was outstanding!
They make you feel right at home. Thank you so much we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were in the suite and it was awesome but we are sure the other rooms are fantastic as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Annesc2006,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your stay with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

It is our goal to make sure our guests feel welcomed, pampered, with all the assistance to experience the best time.

Should your future travels brings you to Guadalajara again, we would love to welcome you once again.

Warm regards,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have never felt more comfortable or more welcomed than at Villa Ganz. From the moment we walked in, we felt relaxed and at home. The staff are absolutely amazing, speak English, and are always ready to assist you in any way. The rooms and common areas are impeccably clean and extraordinarily well decorated. If I ever return to Guadalajara, I will most definitely stay again at Villa Ganz.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kathy K,

Thank you so much for including Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel on your first visit to Guadalajara. We enjoyed assisting you during your stay.

We feel proud of our team that truly enjoys going the extra mile with our guests. I will share your comments with them.

Should you ever return to our city, we will be more than happy to welcome you once again!

Warm regards,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I loved my eight-day stay in Villa Ganz: exceptional service, a beautiful house with great ambiance, excellent food served in a tropical garden.

I highly recommend Villa Ganz for business and couples.

A romantic oasis in the big city of Guadalajara.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Clovis1307,

We enjoyed having you at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel during your travels in Guadalajara.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

From the entire Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, we thank you for your preference and we look forward to welcome you once again.

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galveston, texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

POSITIVES - The Villa's employees were very nice to us. They helped with cabs, luggage and restaurant recs. We liked the people. And we liked our room #15 " called Susanna San Juan" which was well appointed. Also, the back patio is lovely with flowers and plants.

NEGATIVES - the Villa - through no fault of their own, is noisy. Here's what I mean:
1. There is major high rise apartment building just beginning construction next door. By next door, I mean 10 feet from the hotel's outer walls. Big earth movers and dump trucks make the area dusty and dirty. The quiet tranquil back patio is quiet no more, at least during the daylight hours. Construction started in March 2015 and will likely continue into 2016.
2. As buses and big trucks pass the Villa on Lopez Cotilla Avenue, the floors in our room vibrated. I asked the front desk manager if these were minor earthquakes and he explained that traffic caused this vibration. This is surprising and was disconcerting.
3. Stone floors throughout Villa Ganz make sure that sound such as slamming metal doors and moving furniture in distant rooms can be heard in your room.
4. Next door - on the other side, a small cantina called Buffalo plays music at night and this could be an issue if your room borders the cantina.

To combat the noise, we cranked up the AC to "high" and used a sound machine to drown out the unwanted distractions at night.

Also, we thought the breakfast was poor. On day one, we were served two toast slices and one stale muffin (awful) and fresh fruit (great). Our eggs order was poorly prepared and inedible. After day one, we went to Starbucks.

In summary, there are real noise issues at the Villa - issues that are beyond their control. It does not make me happy to point this out as the employees were so very nice.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Dear Mr. GalvestonJT,

…”Yes it is true: we are suffering from the effects of a construction site next door. (noise and occasional vibration during the day time). The developer advised that this will last for approximately two months more, while the excavation process is taking place. We do not know yet what further inconveniences to expect.

We are very much appreciate your comments as to the quality of our breakfast during the days of your stay. We apologize and would very much like to make it up to you in some way. There have been a very unfortunate change of personnel and we have taken care of the situation by now.

This being in no way an excuse of valid explanation, we sincerely ask you to accept our apologies. It is unfortunate that those comments were not put forward to us immediately or at least before your departure as it would have given us the possibility to remedy the situation straight away and, hopefully, convert your stay with us into an agreable experience.

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

The Director of the property made her desire to throw a Valentine’s Day party a priority over our comfort as guests. She assumed that holding a party and having music late into the night would not impact our stay.
Our flight left very early on the morning after the night of her party. Obviously, we would have liked to have gone to sleep at 8:00 or 9:00 PM so that we could be somewhat rested when forced to wake up at 4:45 AM. This was not possible due to the noise. Indeed though she had said that the music would stop at 11:00 PM, it continued until 11:40 PM and there was noise in the garden right outside my room until approximately 12:30 AM.
Having booked two rooms in her hotel, we felt as though she had turned around and told us that we were not important – her party was more important. Perhaps her Valentine’s Day party was making her more money? We both felt as though we had been taken advantage of and violated by this lack of consideration on her part. What kind of hotel deliberately sets out to antagonize its guests by holding a noisy party?

Room Tip: Make sure they are not holding a party while you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, April 6, 2015
Dear SFO David,

Villa Ganz welcomes your feedback and concerns regarding your stay at our hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to follow up on your comments.

Since 2001 Villa Ganz hosts an annual Valentines dinner party in our outdoor terrace and garden. Valentines Day is traditionally a time of celebration with food, drink and music. Our dinner is inclusive of hotel guests and the general public. All our guests were notified of our Valentines dinner party by an in house letter.

It is unfortunate that no concerns were voiced prior to, during and after the dinner party as we would have done our utmost to make your stay more enjoyable.

We deeply regret that your stay at Villa Ganz was not to your satisfaction.

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Address: Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#3 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#6 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ganz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.