We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden oasis in a busy city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ganz to your Saves list
Villa Ganz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden oasis in a busy city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were spacious with large comfortable beds. The decorations and atmosphere gives you a taste of well off Mexican urban life from 75 years ago. The staff was most helpful in arranging cabs, providing directions , and suggesting restaurants. The beautiful garden was a lovely spot to enjoy a late afternoon glass of wine.
The only downside was the nightly music from next door which could be heard in the second floor front room. It was not overpowering. We found the location near the university to be enjoyable with enjoyable walks and restaurants nearby. The central historic area was a 35 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
99
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marfa, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed a wonderful service on a recent stay at Villa Ganz in Guadalajara. The room and service was impeccable and the staff were obliging and polite. I highly recommend this family run hotel to anyone, 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Natalie r,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

We were honored to be part of your trip, and to assist you every day.

Everyone in our staff and myself thank you for your preference and we look forward to having you again when your travels allows it.

Best regards,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle, ma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rating of this hotel shows one of the problems with Tripadvisor reviews. This is a pleasant B&B. It might even be the best B&B in Guadalajara. But it certainly cannot be the best hotel. It has a pleasant small garden. The rooms are good size. The staff is friendly as you would expect. But it is rustic. The hotel is understaffed. The hot water and pressure in the shower leaves a lot to be desired. These are not things I would bother complaining about if I wasn't staying in the 'best' hotel in town. Seriously?

Room Tip: Get a garden room. Street noise can be very loud, especially on Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pileated11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. It was our pleasure to assist you.

As our name estates: Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, we are a Boutique Hotel (with a staff of 17 people working with us, for a 10 suites boutique hotel), where we pride ourselves of offering the best to our guests. Defining or having in mind the concept of a "hotel", any hotel, it may be as varied as defining what and how a person should look like or be. Most important of all, is to know what would be the best in your concept, in your likes and interests. We would´ve loved to have your comments while you were with us, in order to find what the best would´ve been for you.

We are honored that our guests are constantly commenting on their stays and providing very descriptive narrative and a lovely variety of photos. That, added to our website, is our best way to have a preview of what Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel provides to every one of our guests and clients.

Once again, we thank you for your comments, which we value and take into consideration to improve ourselves every day.

Warm regards,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebello, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome gem. Boutique hotel. Less than 10 rooms. Great staff. Feels like home. Comfortable. Anything at your request. Great restaurant across the street. They have a great breakfast fireside in the patio garden area. Fresh food. Great chilaquiles. The green ones! Evening wine available with a small snack. Fair warning if you're allergic to cats they have a very loving home cat. We will definitely return. With their beautiful grounds they do host wedding photography.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Padiboys3:

Thank you so much for sharing your comments of your recent stay with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. We enjoyed having you.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay (and our green chilaquiles!).

It will be our pleasure to have you again in your next travels.

Warm regards from everyone in our team.

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family an I stayed at Villa Ganz for the weekend, Its a beautiful appointed house from a bygone era of Guadalajara. Upon arrival you get warmly greeted by the helpful hotel staff, the rooms are quite, roomy, cozy and lacking nothing either in amenities or confort. The house has a beautiful garden in which you can have a nice breakfast or dinner. The food is very good and also the service. Its one of those places that you feel the instant you arrive like being at home.

Room Tip: All rooms have a different personality, all of them are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Doctor1972,

Thank you so much for your detailed comments regarding your stay with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. We feel honored by them and this encourage us to continue giving our best to our guests, to continue creating special moments for you.

Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel is always ready to welcome you and your family every time you are in Guadalajara.

Best regards,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an amazing stay at Villa Ganz - I would highly recommend. The location was easy to find, and the staff were very helpful with our excursions. The restaurants located near by were five star for sure.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kelly M,

How lovely of you to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay.

Thank you for allowing to be your hosts during your trip to Guadalajara. It is our main goal to make sure our guests enjoy every moment and feel pampered as deserved.

Always ready to welcome you every time!

Sincerely,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

It's a great little hotel -- love the quiet feel and great attention to details. We were given a dinner recommenation that was fabulous and very authentic. Thanks. Next time we go to Tequilla, we'll be sure to include a stop over here!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear BlueMoby,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share them.

We will be more than pleased to have you again next time you visit Tequila and surroundings. There are still so many other things to try and to go to, that will make your trip even more special.

Hasta pronto!

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Address: Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#5 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#6 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ganz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.