We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Coming Home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ganz to your Saves list
Villa Ganz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Like Coming Home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If when you entered your home there was always a smiling host ready to greet you with coffee, fresh-squeezed juice or wine, and a ton of insightful and spot-on recommendations on everything from food to day trips to current events. I have never stayed at another hotel or inn of any size in any place, where the staff went so out of their way to ensure as enjoyable a stay as at Villa Ganz. This is to say nothing of the extremely comfortable and lovingly appointed rooms, fantastic neighborhood location close to many eateries and shops (and just far enough from the historic City center to make it accessible but not touristy) and beautiful garden patio situated in the backyard.

Villa Ganz earned every one of its 5 stars every day of the 9 that we stayed there. They made our 10th wedding anniversary extra special. We will stay every time we return Guadalara.

Room Tip: We loved room 16. Others looked equally as nice. As an aside, a group of Culinary Institute graduate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Phi1481,

Congratulations once again on your wedding anniversary! We felt so honored you chose Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. Every one in our team enjoys making every moment unique and to make sure every detail is prepared thinking of your likes and needs.

Thank you for trusting us and for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us feel so proud and to continue doing what we love the most.

From everyone in our team, we truly look forward to have you once again to celebrate your next wedding anniversary, or why not, just because you deserve it.

Sally Rangel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
99
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A wonderfully restful oasis of peace and tranquility in the heart of the city with great, attentive staff and interesting guests. All ten rooms have individual characters and breakfast in the garden is a fabulous way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Williehearst,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience while in Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

We enjoyed having you as our guest and would love to have you once again, very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Villa Ganz is a charming oasis in the heart of Guadalajara's best restaurants. We got in late and we were shown to our room. We paid for the Grand Master suite (there are only three) but we were not very pleased with it so they brought us to one of the Master suites which was adorable and much more spacious just no bath tub - but fine with me. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The garden was well kept and beautiful. I highly recommend staying here on your next trip to Guadalajara, we will.

Room Tip: Room 17 was adorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Deb,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

We are glad we were able to accomodate you with a suite of your likes and needs.

Please receive a big hello from Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

a lovely boutique hotel. Well located and helpful staff. Interesting and unique decor in each of the spacious rooms. the courtyard is a little hidden gem. very relaxing for a morning coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Slgarry

We are very pleased to read your comments regarding your stay in Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, during your last trip to Guadalajara city. We like to encourage our guests every time to share with us their comments so we know where to focus more in the future to continue improving our service and facilities.

We are a down to earth, honest, hotel and take pride in not being pretentious. It is part of our concept.

Once again, we appreciate your comments.

Sally Rangel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Villa Ganz is a small little treasure in the heart of Guadalajara. I rated this hotel a '4' because it does not have a number of the amenities you would find at a large-scale luxury hotel. As a boutique hotel in Guadalajara it is a gem. The staff is great, the food excellent and the neighborhood well suited for jaunts to some of the best restaurants the area has to offer.

We try to spend a nice weekend at the Villa Ganz at east twice a year. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can, reserve one of the larger rooms. Also, if you can, arrive early enough to get one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Pnewbold7,

​Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience while visiting Guadalajara, specially you live so not very far.

We like to define Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel as a down to earth, honest, hotel and take pride in not being pretentious. It is part of our concept and style.

Once again, we appreciate your preference and we look forward to welcome you very soon.

Sally Rangel
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

our hotel stay at Villa Ganz was the highlight of our recent trip to check out the cool city of Guadalajara. Room 15 was magical, the staff was wonderful, the gardens were very peaceful and beautiful. The kittycat was a big hit too! Excellent location with good access to the historic city center. We appreciated that the renovation of the historic building was so well done. This area of town is on the rise and this hotel contributes to the revitalization of one of the City's charming historic neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Jim T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay and to know you had a great stay. It was our pleasure to have you with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel during your trip to Guadalajara and we look forward to welcome you in your next trip to the area.

Warm regards from the entire team of Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you're a couple and going to Guadalajara, do yourselves a favor and stay at the Villa Ganz boutique hotel. Owned for many generations by the family of professional golfer, Lorena Ochoa, this small, wonderful, high service hotel offers and opportunity to enjoy the best of Guadalajara. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and the staff accommodating in every way. Armando at the front desk, Xiomara, the chef who serves you breakfast, and each of the other members of the "team" are wonderful and helpful in every way.

The garden is beautiful and rooms off the garden provide an opportunity to just relax, have a drink after a day touring museums (go see the Orozco murals) and the city. The Grand Master suite is lovely and has a small terrace where one can lie in the hammock or have drinks to candlelight.

In the evening, you can order excellent Italian food that will be delivered to the hotel (no chef at the hotel in the evenings, currently) and presented as well as any high-end restaurant. But, you will eat on the terrace adjacent to the garden and, in the chillier evenings, the staff will maintain a wonderful and warming fire from the fireplace while you dine in candlelight.

If you have reason to go to the U.S. consulate, it is no more than a 10 minute walk. And there are more restaurants than you can count within 15 minutes.

We have been there twice in six months and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Grand Master Suite is wonderful with cross breezes and its own terrace and hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Michael,

We are delighted to read your comments regarding your experience (and thank you so much for taking the time to do so!), and to know you have enjoyed each time, every little detail we have put together to make sure you have a great stay at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

Everyone from our team, brings an element that makes each guests experience, unique, filled with that something that makes you feel at home.

It was so nice to have you twice already and we are so looking forward to have you once again very soon.

Greetings from our team and myself,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Address: Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#5 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#7 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ganz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.