We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ganz to your Saves list
Villa Ganz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MXN1,500 (MXN)
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you're a couple and going to Guadalajara, do yourselves a favor and stay at the Villa Ganz boutique hotel. Owned for many generations by the family of professional golfer, Lorena Ochoa, this small, wonderful, high service hotel offers and opportunity to enjoy the best of Guadalajara. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and the staff accommodating in every way. Armando at the front desk, Xiomara, the chef who serves you breakfast, and each of the other members of the "team" are wonderful and helpful in every way.

The garden is beautiful and rooms off the garden provide an opportunity to just relax, have a drink after a day touring museums (go see the Orozco murals) and the city. The Grand Master suite is lovely and has a small terrace where one can lie in the hammock or have drinks to candlelight.

In the evening, you can order excellent Italian food that will be delivered to the hotel (no chef at the hotel in the evenings, currently) and presented as well as any high-end restaurant. But, you will eat on the terrace adjacent to the garden and, in the chillier evenings, the staff will maintain a wonderful and warming fire from the fireplace while you dine in candlelight.

If you have reason to go to the U.S. consulate, it is no more than a 10 minute walk. And there are more restaurants than you can count within 15 minutes.

We have been there twice in six months and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Grand Master Suite is wonderful with cross breezes and its own terrace and hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Michael,

We are delighted to read your comments regarding your experience (and thank you so much for taking the time to do so!), and to know you have enjoyed each time, every little detail we have put together to make sure you have a great stay at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

Everyone from our team, brings an element that makes each guests experience, unique, filled with that something that makes you feel at home.

It was so nice to have you twice already and we are so looking forward to have you once again very soon.

Greetings from our team and myself,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
91
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was by far the most relaxing vacation thanks to the folks at Villa Ganz. The grounds are exquisite with a beautiful garden. The Villa Ganz employees have mastered the meaning of customer service and hospitality. Armando is extremely polite, helpful and knowledgeable. I would definitely stay there again. I expected to be attacked by mosquitoes in their garden but not one bite. We were able to leave our terrace doors wide open.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Zentangle D,

We truly appreciate the time to post your comments. It is our honor to read your review, but best of all, it was our pleasure to have you with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel.

All of our staff says hi and will look forward to have you again in the future.

Sally Rangel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

this place is a little outside the city cinter but in a fvery nice and safe neighborhood with lots of restaurants around. The rroms ar very tastefully decorated and ours was also very big.

They have a lovely garden that is just perfect for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio M, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Gkrauss,

How lovely to read your review and to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. It was great to have you with us!

Thank you for sharing your comments to other travelers, but most important, thank you for allowing us to make your trip an experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you again in the future!


Sally Rangel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We traveled to Guadalajara with another couple ... a first visit for both. We were seeking a quiet place that was centrally located, yet offered a respite from city noise. We found it in Villa Ganz. Both couples won't hesitate to recommend this boutique establishment, once the home of the grandparents of world-ranked lady golfer, Lorena Ochoa. With twelve (12) very distinct,comfortable rooms, the hotel is truly an oasis in Guadalajara, hosting people of all nationalities.

From being greeted upon our arrival, to the daily interaction, the staff is first-rate and endlessly helpful. Similarly, the outstanding breakfast served on the patio was a favorite with a helpful chef and staff. The wives may go back just to get cooking lessons.

Room Tip: You do not need a car to get around. Taxi's show up immediately and are relatively inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Rob and Mary Alice,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guests in Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, and to be chosen as your hosts on your first trip to our lovely city, Guadalajara. We truly appreciate your comments and loved to read you had a great stay. It is our goal to make sure our guests make the most of their stay.

We´d love to have you back very soon, and have the cooking classes ready for you.

Hasta pronto,

Sally Rangel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great little boutique hotel in the middle of bustling city. Quiet and peaceful. Very helpful staff. Many restaurants and nighttime activities within walking distance. New home decor store a few steps away that is great. We were in town for a a Santana concert.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Sharontognietti,

Thank yoiu so much for making us part of trip to Guadalajara, for the Santana concert.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience, and we hope to have you once again in your next trip to our city.

Sally Rangel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Pescadero, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stay at Villa Ganz every few months and we absolutely love it! We feel at home upon arrival: the staff is warm, gracious and professional. They remember us fondly and make us feel special on each and every trip. The hotel is a beautifully renovated mansion in a vibrant, hip neighborhood: it is an intoxicating mix of old world charm and modern Mexican culture. On Saturday evening there is an excellent street scene on Chapultapec, with lots of action, including various musicians, hip hop dancers, skaters, and fun for all. It is so special to return "home" after the street chaos to the candlelit romantic hotel. The serenity offered at the Villa Ganz has allowed us to explore Guadalajara a little at a time. We head out on adventures knowing that at any time we are just a cab ride away from our glamorous sanctuary. If you value beauty, safety and outstanding service, Villa Ganz is worth the extra pesos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear FancyCoco,

It is always such a joy to have you back to Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. We are honored with your continued preference and love to pamper you every time you are here at home while in Guadalajara.

From all of our team, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and to let us know how important every little detail combined with the heartfelt service makes the difference.

We look forward to have you back once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Whenever we are GDL, we always stay at Villa Ganz - a wonderful boutique hotel with rooms that are both individually romantic and beautiful. The garden at the back is peaceful and a delight to sit in & have tea - you feel miles away from the big city and the outdoor area by the fire is very cosy and romantic for evening cocktails. The hotel is also well situated and easy to walk to many good restaurants or convenient stores. The staff are all very personable and helpful and always make you feel very welcomed and at home. Thank you - we wouldn't stay any where else!

Room Tip: The best room is Susana San Juan No. 15 or Pedro Parama No. 14 is also good - they overlook the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Xtinefoley,

It is always our joy to have you with us at Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. You have become a very important part of our extended family. We appreciate your loyalty and trust you have shown to us.

On behalf of every member of our team/family, thank you so much!

Sally Rangel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Address: Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#6 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#6 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ganz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.