We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ganz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ganz to your Saves list
Villa Ganz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MXN1,500 (MXN)
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our visit to the amazing city of Gudalajara and environs was enhanced by our good fortune to stay at Villa Ganz, a little oasis of tranquility in a a bustling metropolis. The staff were so kind, so genuinely concerned with our well-being ... our room and the public areas were immaculate, and every detail of decor and garden were clearly the result of thoughtful and imaginative taste. The neighborhood is busy, but full of wonderful restaurants, cafes, and bookstores: it's a brisk hike, or quick cab ride, to the old colonial center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Myra,

We are delighted with your comments. It is very important for us to make sure our clients enjoy their stay, and every little detail we have worked on to create unique memories.

On behalf of all our staff we look forward to welcome you once again, when the opportunity arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
95
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ganz for our weekend getaway - we won a nights stay in an fundraising auction for the Costa Verde school in Sayulita.
First, they were generous to donate a nights stay to such a good cause, with really no affiliation to the school, but just hearing the concept. So very human and kind.
When we arrived it was one delicious treat for the senses after another. A beautiful room with a tub in natural light to relax in, a wonderful comfy bed, a garden with songbirds and sweet smells, candles up the stairs to light our way to bed, a wonderful breakfast in the garden terrace....
But all of that wasn't the best part - it was the staff here, who epitomize classy. Not the fussy cold kind of well executed service, but a warm and professional embrace. The sweetness to offer to light a fire in the grandest fireplace to take off the chill in the morning air - just for us. The thoughtfulness to take it upon themselves to wash our embarrassingly dusty Sayulita car - seriously a great surprise as we left.
Really they couldn't be more thoughtful and wonderful people, at one of the most beautiful and comfortable hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying.

Room Tip: Every room here looked amazing, but I think we were happiest in ours - I love nice tubs in a perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear KO M

Thank you so much for participating in the fundraising auction. We love to support such a great cause, and to meet people like you is our reward.

Our most important goal is to provide the scenary, ambiance and service that will make your stay a memorable one. We appreciate the time you took to write your lovely review, and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again.

Sincerely yours,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I live in Eastern Washington. We are always crazy busy with our 2 businesses-- both here and internationally.
My husband especially, travels extensively--2-4 wks p/month (he is currently 5 wks in India and Sri Lanka).
When we want a little "escape" ....just for us....we book a stay with Villa Ganz.
This property is small, private, special and represents a beautiful colonial style.
The staff is impeccably trained and as sweet as fresh berries in July.
There are good restaurants close and anything more only a very short cab ride away.
Guadalajara offers much to see..we love to wander the markets downtown and always stop in Tiaquepaque ( arts and crafts district with galleries,restaurants and regional crafts). It has a bit of a Sante Fe ambiance and only about 20 min cab ride from Villa Ganz.
We will be there again in April....and have to tell you...I can't wait.
Book a room now....and enjoy the luxury of looking forward to a treat!

Room Tip: Really---there isn't a bad room here. Some are smaller and more intimate but all are delicious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Susan,

We are truly honored to be your getaway, your pick to recharge, relax and reunite. Combining two jobs, extensive travels and day to day responsabilities can be exhausting. Here in Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, love to be the place where you will find what you need, and our team is always ready to make sure you accomplish your goals during your vacations.
It is always our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to have you back once again.

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Villa Ganz is an amazing boutique hotel in a lovely & safe residential area within walking distance of Chapultepec Commerical area and lots of fine restaurants including Sacramonte, Cocina 88, Italia Mia. This hotel has well appointed rooms, within a converted colonial style mansion. Sally, the owner has done the decorating and introduced some amazing and tasteful antiques. The rooms are very clean. Your visit to Villa Ganz will make you feel like you are at a SPA. From the lovely guest rooms to the drinks in the garden or sitting room and your arrival home at night to your cosy room. The staff are well trained and embrace and anticipate client needs constantly. The breakfasts are most complete and the service is excellent. We are from Toronto and winter in Ajijic. We have visited Villa Ganz 5 - 6 times over the last three years. Sometimes as a couple, other times with family. It is a beautiful treasure, a lovely experience, a wonderful get away spot. Enjoy your visit!!! We always do!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. We have stayed in Room 15 within the main upper floor and also Room 13...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Katybud,

It is always our honor to welcome you to your home in Guadalajara: Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel. It is our goal to make sure our clients,enjoy their stay. Our team takes proud of being always ready to assist and to personalize every stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and to recommend us throughout the years.

Looking foward to welcome you!

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Service amazing! Beds comfortable and had a wonderful bath in a claw foot tub. Sit outside near the large fireplace for breakfast and enjoy the beautiful garden. You are in the heart of Guadalajara and walking distance to many services. I expected it to be louder but once you shut the window it was fine. You feel like a guest in their home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Oly99,

Thank you for your comments. When our guests are able to relax, enjoy our facilities and to truly feel welcomed, it is our pride and when our goal is achieved.

We hope your travels allows you to return to Guadalajara very soon. We would love to welcome you back and to make your next stay even better than the first.

Sincerely,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had one of the most relaxing holiday of my life. I enjoyed waking up between clean sheets, the beautiful spacious well lit room, with the views over looking the garden. Internet worked and my baths were always perfect! I enjoyed very much the wonderful breakfests. (The first delicious meal I had) It had been nearly 20 yrs since I last traveled to Mexico leaving in Singapore one doest ofetn take the TIME to travel so far. However it was worth it!
Villa Ganz remined me what a warm and inviting place Mexico is. Every one and every place Sally recomened was a pure delight. Sally and her son Silvio, couldnt do enough. I enjoyed the evening drinks with something tasty to nibble on , Before walking out for a bite to eat at the many resturants near by. Over all the whole of Villa Ganz couldnt do enough for me or my daughter I recomened this place for families with small children, A romatic getta way, most defanatly, Traveling alone youll get your privacy or there's always some one there to talk to. Even the business person can find time to relax as well as meet all their business needs.

Room Tip: I stayed in Villa 14. However I had a peek at the room next to mine. There all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Director General at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Defuk,

Thank you for your heart felt & very detailed review. We are honored you chose us for your return to México. It was our pleasure to welcome and assist you during your stay, and to be able to enhance your experience while in Guadalajara.

We are very proud to always personalize each guest stay and to create magical moments, even if you are on a busines trip.

Should your travel plans brings you back to México and to Guadalajara, Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel and our staff is ready to welcome you back.

Sincerely yours,

Sally Rangel
Director
Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our stay at Villa Ganz over Thanksgiving week was just amazing. We have never received better customer service, especially from the manager, Armando, and also Silvio and Manual, who made sure we were well taken care of every time we walked through the lobby or out into the garden. The grounds are amazing, especially the garden for breakfast and the covered veranda with a fireplace that was lit every night. Even the owner, Sally, stopped to talk to us a few times just to make sure we had everything we needed.

This boutique-style hotel and rooms have real Mexican charm, but then you can walk outside the gate into a bustling neighborhood full of great restaraunts and businesses. What an experience!

Thanks to Armando, Silvio and Manual for making our trip a great memory. This hotel is definitely on our list for return visits!

Marge and Joel Zink

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally_Rangel, Propietario at Villa Ganz, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
DEar Marge and Joel!!!
Wow what a review your wrote to us!!! my staff enjoyed very much your comments and I feel very flatter for your opinion.

How can I forget your stay, your nice attentions and your warm friendship for us!!! thank you again and again. Hope to see you in the next future, we would love to welcome you again.

May 2013 be a great year and another visit to us!!

Best wishes for you and your family!

Hugs, from Sally, Armando, Silvio and Manual!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ganz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ganz

Address: Lopez Cotilla 1739 | Col. Lafayette, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guadalajara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#7 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#8 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Ganz 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World elegance meets New World charm in the beautiful restored Villa Ganz Boutique Hotel, one of Guafalajara finest accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Ganz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ganz Hotel Guadalajara
Ganz Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ganz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.