We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added The Westin Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great business hotel convenient to convention center. Service was very good and the breakfast buffet offered nice choices with indoor and outdoor seating. I thought the front desk staff and bellman were especially friendly. I had A/C issues and had to change rooms one evening as the maintenance guy could not get it to cool down. As I walked between the 19th and 20th floor I found all floors have a locked door access. This would never be acceptable in the US due to fire codes. So be aware, don't take the stairs unless you wish to walk down to the very bottom to get out. The work out room is especially nice and I was pleased the guest room was stocked with complimentary water each day. The room also had a safe and had a modern updated look. Don't stay here however if you are looking for a pool as they do not have one.

Room Tip: Be cautious of rooms that face the afternoon sun as the A/C unit has a hard time keeping the room co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sparky061,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoy our facilities, breakfast choices and our Fitness Center, Westin Workout Studio.
With regard to what mentioned that found that in all floors the access doors are locked, I would like to clarify that this stair is a containment ladder that strictly follows national fire codes regulation; additional the building have another back stairs which access is open to every floor.
Westin Guadalajara is readily equipped with emergency access to roof and bottom floor, for emergency access to our guests. We have signs posted “This door must remain closed at all times on each floor on our push bar final exit doors.
Doors are an extremely important part of a reliable means of egress, and are thus an important part of any building’s fire protection provisions. Ensuring that doors are not blocked, that their hardware works properly, that fire doors will close and latch, and that they can perform their intended function is an important part of building maintenance.
We, at Westin Guadalajara exceed the standards and have a daily quality and safety checklist that are N.F.P.A. approved.
We hope have the opportunity to welcoming you again in a near future.
Cordially,
Manuel Dieguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    77
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
31
8
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
270 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Gorgeous, new hotel with stunning common areas and design touches. Room was spacious and well designed. Breakfast buffet was too expensive when compared to the room rate, however ordering off the menu is reasonable. Strangely enough, this hotel does not have a pool, which puts it at a competitive disadvantage compared to other nearby hotels of the same caliber. Staff are attentive and professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From check in to check out our experience couldn't be better. The front desk staff greeted us with enthusiasm and a happiness to see us. Our room was well appointed. Newer, clean, and all the amenities you would need. Even after checking in at 2am. they still were available for room service. Location is fine as it is right next to the Expo center and oalong all bus routes. Restaurant atmosphere is great and so was food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado travelinduoChicago,
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo en compartir con la comunidad de TripAdvisor su experiencia sobre su reciente estancia en The Westin Guadalajara.
Nos complace saber que su estancia estuvo a la altura de sus expectativas y que disfrutó de la habitación, la ubicación y nuestro restaurante Casa de las Rosas.
Esperamos que nos visite de nuevo muy pronto.
Cordialmente,
Manuel Diéguez R.
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Westin for a work trip. Even though I arrived a day later than my scheduled check-in due to flight delays, the concierge was helpful and thoughtful. The restaurant continued to serve delicious meals and was always served with a smile. Several waiters would make sure our group was pleased and I have no complaints about any of the meals. The breakfast staff along with lunch and dinner were attentive and the meals done well. The bar service in the lobby was also thoughtful with both seating indoors and outdoors. The passionfruit and tamarind margaritas are my favorites. The gym was kept clean, water available, towels, and machines functioning. I have no complaints with the room. Housekeeping did a great job and so did room service. The meal was the right temperature and drinks also delicious.

Although there was a slight complication with payment for my stay (due to my employer's delay in submitting payment information) the staff was understanding and kept me informed of the payment information. I was delighted to see an email from the staff regarding this issue and all was resolved within 24 hours of my check-out.

I am once again pleased with this hotel and look forward to staying there again on my next work trip in Guadalajara.

Room Tip: Make sure you sign up for Starwood Preferred Guest Program (SPG) to get points. You can request the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mundo-es-un-libro,
Thank you very much for taking the time in write for second time a review regarding your last stay with us.
It's really comforting for all the associates from The Westin Guadalajara that our frequent guests find the hotel in continuous improvement. For us there is no better reward.
It will be a pleasure welcomes you again at this, your home, The Westin Guadalajara.
Cordially,
Manuel Dieguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely rooms and building but no pool, and removed from centro. Staff are great, one of the nicer Westins we've stayed in but heck - what Westin doesn't have a pool especially in Mexico! After a long day of sight seeing it would of been great to relax pool side not inside a bar!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear debbietravels510,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
We are glad to learn that you enjoy our rooms and service. Hope have the opportunity to welcome you again soon at The Westin Guadalajara.
Cordially,
Manuel Dieguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pros:
- new building
- clean rooms
- location is good. For $5 dollars you can go in taxi to well known areas with restaurants etc. (no need to pay extra for a hotel right on Chapultepec for example, when you can pay $99 per night at the Westin, and get a taxi anywhere)
- super great price ($99)
- gym is well equipped.

CONS:
- food at the restaurant is BAD!
- room service is the slowest ever... Took them 1 hour to get me a coffee!!
- the concierge doesn't know what he/she is doing. They kept on recommending really bad restaurants (such as Coyote) with bad food and ambience.

- Next time, I will make reservations directly with Westin instead of hotels.com so I can earn points, and I will NoT eat at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Negroycanche,
Thank you very much for taking the time in share your comments about your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
Don’t hesitate in contact direct to us for your next visit in order to ensure you a real Westin experience. We will take special attention in order to try to revert your opinion of our food at Casa de las Rosas Restaurant. You can contact us in reservaciones.gdl@westin.com.
We hope have the opportunity of welcome you soon at The Westin Guadalajara.
Cordially,
Manuel Dieguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

First time in Guadalajara (to our way to Ajijic).
Front Desk, excellent service specially Miss Flores, who went out of her way to help us out.
Breakfast buffet- very good. Variety of food.
Bell boys- excellent (prompt to give you suggestions where to go, how much to pay for the taxis, where to have dinner and enjoy the Mariachis)
Rooms, good size, very clean, quiet, modern. Complimentary water every day

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear dottyfrank,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Westin Guadalajara.

It is always a pleasure to know, that our facilities and service were up to your expectations. Be sure that Ms. Claudia Flores will be congratulated on your behalf.

We hope we can be at your service in the near future.

Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guadalajara

Address: Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Guadalajara 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Guadalajara is in one of the most prestigious areas of this metropolis. Expo Guadalajara is next door, World Trade Center, corporate offices and numerous shops are nearby.Power up in the state-of-the-art WestinWORKOUT® Gym.Escape to one of our 221 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. The signature all-white Westin Heavenly Bed®, High Speed Internet Access, an LCD Flat Screen Television ensure that each space is a calming oasis where you can have a revitalizing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.