We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, rejuvenating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added The Westin Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 110 hotels in Guadalajara
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Serene, rejuvenating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Westin Guadalajara was a beautiful hotel with accommodating staff. As an American traveling in Guadalajara, the hotel is familiar and the staff works hard to make you feel welcome. The lobby is serene with an amazing two-story glass sculpture above the bar. The mojito that the bartender made me upon arrival was tangy, not too sweet and refreshing, kind of like an alcoholic limeade.
My room was a quiet, lovely respite from the chaos of Guadalajara. My heavenly bed was so comfy! It made me happy I had booked a Westin. The room was modern, comfortable, with huge amounts of closet space. The bathroom was very spacious, with a lot of counter space for me to spread out all the stuff I travel with. And the shower was huge with amazing water pressure! I did have a little trouble getting the room to cool off enough at night. Even with the AC cranked down to 65, I couldn't get the room below 70 degrees. It wasn't bad in March, but later in the summer I can imagine it might be an issue. The only other drawback was that the hotel doesn't have a pool. And it was a little cruel to overlook the Hilton's pool right next door.

Room Tip: I was on the 11th floor and had no issues with my water, but colleagues staying on the 19th floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear HoustonBell,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
Thank you also for posting the photos of your room and our “Candil” located in our lobby bar.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at The Westin Guadalajara in the near future.
Best Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    65
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
28
8
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed for four nights in this pleasant modern hotel, literally across the street from the convention center. The rooms are standard Westin, which is to say they are very clean, very comfortable with the Heavenly Bed, and sufficiently spacious. Very nice views of the city, particularly from the high floors. The desk in the room was well suited to working, with plenty of convenient electrical outlets. The staff was friendly, engaged and focused on guest satisfaction. I had several breakfasts and dinners in the one restaurant within the hotel; the food was good but not outstanding. Nice workout room, but no pool, and massages are outsourced. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors have particularly good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Dan P,
Thank you very much in taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
Your room description will be for sure very helpful for other business travelers: The Heavenly Bed comfort, the room desk with all the electrical outlets and the hotel location, thank you for mark this points.
We hope having you soon again at The Westin Guadalajara.
Cordially,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Recently completed a one night stay at The Westin Guadalajara. Wasn't even out of my car and was already greeted. Check-in was a breeze. Was upgraded to one of their suites with having to ask. The corner suites have a stunning view. Literally a panoramic view of the city. I love how the suites have a half bathroom in the living room. The service was just excellent. We had dinner at the restaurant which was not pricy and very tasty food. But the persons who stood out the most were Jorge(FOM) & Pedro our bartender. Would I come back, in a heart beat. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear gabo29,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure learns that you had a wonderful stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
Thank you also for posting the photos of your meals and drinks of our Restaurant Casa de las Rosas & El Candil Bar. Be sure that Mr. Jorge Zepeda and Pedro Casares will be congratulated on your behalf.
We hope having you soon at The Westin Guadalajara.
Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a three day weekend getaway at the Westin in Guadalajara. The property is clean and comfortable with a welcoming atmosphere. The staff demonstrated consistently their desire to exceed expectations. I have visited this property multiple times in the last 6 months and I have never been disappointed with the service, hotel room or the dining experience in the restaurant.
Miguel Martinez is one of many noteworthy examples of the quality of people that add to the overall guest experience.
I am looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear CuttysharkCA
Thank you very much for taking the time in share your experience about your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
It gratifies us greatly to know that you enjoyed the Westin Weekend experience. Be sure that Miguel Martinez will be congratulated on your behalf.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Best regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I had an axcellent stay during a business trip in Guadalajara. I would stay here again and again.
Breakfast buffet is very good.

The small and only problem is that the Hotel is a little bit far from social things

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Haehner,
Thank you very much for taking the time in share your experience about your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara and I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and service.
Our hotel is located just in front of Expo Guadalajara which makes it unique for travelers coming for attend and event in there, adding to that, this area is very accessible and makes it easy to reach shopping areas, restaurants, etc. within a 10 minute taxi ride.
Please do not hesitate to contact our concierge desk to arrange you a nice night out on your next visit.
Be well,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. It looks almost brand new. Restaurant and bars have a nice ambience. Food is excellent and so is the service. Rooms are very nice with a nice and comfortable bed. Internet fees are expensive but it is the Westin. Best hotel in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear amorlindo,
Thank you very much for your review. We are most than glad to learn that you consider us the best hotel in Guadalajara and your enjoyed our restaurant “Casa de las Rosas”.
We hope have you soon again at The Westin Guadalajara.
Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Westin is a beautiful hotel if you like white, steel and alot of darkness. If you're at the Convention Center it's a perfect location. If you want to experience Guadalajara, you're at 10-15 minute cab ride away which is a hassle. It's sterile and in an isolated spot. Lobby very trendy though really dark.. Staff moderately engaged...just on this side of 'too cool to care.' The big
let down is the food -- it is TERRIBLE and really expensive. Wait staff also really doesn't seem to care about your being there at all. We ordered three simple meals off the menu and 2 of them were wrong (chicken instead of beef, with nuts versus without despite having a healthy discussion about a nut allergy). Mistakes happen....but should be fixed. It wasn't a language barrier. These guys could've cared less.
Rooms very clean and with full amenities. My corner room was a bit like being on a spaceship with incredible views but made one feel really removed from the city. By mid day, it was like being on the face of the sun despite blackout curtains..room unbearably hot despite AC going. Oh, they turn your AC off if you leave. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear WAHC,
Thank you for your post about your experience at The Westin Guadalajara.
Your feedback is very important for us because it helps to recognize our areas in need of improvement.
We hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate how compromised we are in offer the service that our guests deserve.
Be well,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guadalajara

Address: Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Guadalajara 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Guadalajara is in one of the most prestigious areas of this metropolis. Expo Guadalajara is next door, World Trade Center, corporate offices and numerous shops are nearby.Power up in the state-of-the-art WestinWORKOUT® Gym.Escape to one of our 221 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. The signature all-white Westin Heavenly Bed®, High Speed Internet Access, an LCD Flat Screen Television ensure that each space is a calming oasis where you can have a revitalizing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Media 8, Inc., Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Westin Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.