We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Guadalajara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Guadalajara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Guadalajara to your Saves list
The Westin Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good stay in Guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I had an axcellent stay during a business trip in Guadalajara. I would stay here again and again.
Breakfast buffet is very good.

The small and only problem is that the Hotel is a little bit far from social things

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Haehner,
Thank you very much for taking the time in share your experience about your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara and I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and service.
Our hotel is located just in front of Expo Guadalajara which makes it unique for travelers coming for attend and event in there, adding to that, this area is very accessible and makes it easy to reach shopping areas, restaurants, etc. within a 10 minute taxi ride.
Please do not hesitate to contact our concierge desk to arrange you a nice night out on your next visit.
Be well,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    84
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
36
10
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. It looks almost brand new. Restaurant and bars have a nice ambience. Food is excellent and so is the service. Rooms are very nice with a nice and comfortable bed. Internet fees are expensive but it is the Westin. Best hotel in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear amorlindo,
Thank you very much for your review. We are most than glad to learn that you consider us the best hotel in Guadalajara and your enjoyed our restaurant “Casa de las Rosas”.
We hope have you soon again at The Westin Guadalajara.
Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Westin is a beautiful hotel if you like white, steel and alot of darkness. If you're at the Convention Center it's a perfect location. If you want to experience Guadalajara, you're at 10-15 minute cab ride away which is a hassle. It's sterile and in an isolated spot. Lobby very trendy though really dark.. Staff moderately engaged...just on this side of 'too cool to care.' The big
let down is the food -- it is TERRIBLE and really expensive. Wait staff also really doesn't seem to care about your being there at all. We ordered three simple meals off the menu and 2 of them were wrong (chicken instead of beef, with nuts versus without despite having a healthy discussion about a nut allergy). Mistakes happen....but should be fixed. It wasn't a language barrier. These guys could've cared less.
Rooms very clean and with full amenities. My corner room was a bit like being on a spaceship with incredible views but made one feel really removed from the city. By mid day, it was like being on the face of the sun despite blackout curtains..room unbearably hot despite AC going. Oh, they turn your AC off if you leave. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear WAHC,
Thank you for your post about your experience at The Westin Guadalajara.
Your feedback is very important for us because it helps to recognize our areas in need of improvement.
We hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate how compromised we are in offer the service that our guests deserve.
Be well,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I just completed 10 nights with my family at this property. Though the standard clientele is business travelers, we found it to be very appropriate for our purposes. Good breakfast, great beds, friendly and attentive service. We're not strong Spanish speakers so it was also reassuring to have so many English speakers on the staff. The highlight of the stay was the remarkably swift and direct response of the GM to a minor issue we had. It turned a good stay into a great one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Morerainplease,
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate your comments as they will certainly encourage other guests travelling by pleasure to try The Westin Guadalajara.
We hope having you again soon.
Cordially,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel is very modern, modern decor and amenities. No real character or things that displayed old world Mexico like the rest of Guadalajara does. But made it good for my business trip. Not really in a location where you could walk to anything, but it was convenient for business travel and they did a nice job hosting our small conference.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Burnszey,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your recent stay at The Westin Guadalajara.
We really appreciate your comments about the ambience and our banquet team service.
We hope having you again soon at The Westin Guadalajara.
Cordially,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very good service , the installions are very confortable and the decorations is great, is close to so many point of interes and the people works there is very kind, congratulations is a very good choice.

Room Tip: 702 because you can view the sun goes up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Rcavazosh,
We really appreciate your words about The Westin Guadalajara and our associates, thank you for taking the time in share your opinion with all the Trip Advisor community.
We hope having you soon at The Westin Guadalajara.
Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was a bit disappointed returning to a hotel I had previously given high marks, as it seems the hotel has lost its attention to detail. When I checked into my room, which was on the West side of the building, the central air was switched off - and my room was like an oven. It took several hours to cool down. The door to the bathroom wouldn't close, or stay open; it just rolled to the middle. The shower doors (glass) have a sizable gap that floods the bathroom with water (and no drain in the floor) so I was always standing in water or using every towel available to keep it contained. I spoke with the front desk twice, and was assured that housekeeping would fix it immediately - but they never even bothered to show up. It just didn't seem like anyone cared. The restaurant was a refreshing break, as the food and service was excellent; as it was on my last visit to Guadalajara. It's always a let down when you take the time to speak to the front desk and concierge - twice - and you're just blown off. I'm still a Westin FAN....but might look for other accommodations on my next trip this fall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face West....unless you love heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Tapio M,
Thank you very much in taking the time to share your experience with all the Trip Advisor Community.
We regret learn that this time your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Therefore we are glad to hear that you enjoy our Food and Beverage service.
We are already in contact with you personally and we are sure that your next stay at The Westin Guadalajara this fall is going to be the experience that you deserve.
Best Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guadalajara

Address: Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Guadalajara is in one of the most prestigious areas of this metropolis. Expo Guadalajara is next door, World Trade Center, corporate offices and numerous shops are nearby.Power up in the state-of-the-art WestinWORKOUT® Gym.Escape to one of our 221 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. The signature all-white Westin Heavenly Bed®, High Speed Internet Access, an LCD Flat Screen Television ensure that each space is a calming oasis where you can have a revitalizing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.