We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for Guadalajara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Guadalajara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Guadalajara to your Saves list
The Westin Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very good choice for Guadalajara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Modern and very comfortable hotel, conveniently located in Guadalajara close to the convention center. Rooms are modern and have a very nice design, bed is very comfortable and extra large bathroom is awesome (though it has no bathtub). Hotel service is also courteous and helpful. Restaurant food is good (dinner and breakfast), though pricey for Mexico. Also, not exactly sure how the the price works for breakfast buffet, was charged differently on two occassions, though I had exactly the same meal on both days -- obviously a mistake was made one of the two days, but still unclear how price worked, no menu/price guide was provided, so still don't know which price was right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Marie-NYNY
First of all I want to thank you for taking the time in share your opinion about The Westin Guadalajara.
We are glad to read that you enjoy the rooms and our Heavenly Bed and Bath. We want to inform you that we have available rooms with bathtub, but these have two double beds.
Regarding your comments about the price of breakfast, we offer to you an apology because of the mistake in your bill. Our Buffet breakfast has a cost of MXP $240 (about 18 dollars) while continental breakfast costs MXP $180 (about 14 dollars). Hotel also offer the option of breakfast à la carte.
We hope having you soon again at The Westin Guadalajara.
Cordially,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    82
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
36
9
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

House keeping is not consistent... Overall nice stay. Don't ask to your fellows to pick you up at least you are ready waiting for them in the valet area.. They could be very annoying. Food is great also the location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, General Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Patty A
Thank you for your review. You can mail us to reservaciones.gdl@westin.com in case that you want to tell us more about your experience at The Westin Guadalajara. For us is very important your opinion. We understand that although your overall experience was good, our cleaning and valet parking services did not reach your expectations. Believe us that we very much regret that and apologize for it.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you are planning to come back to Guadalajara.
Regards,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have tríes so many times to like this hotel as I need a regular hotel in Guadalajara but I now have given up.

The reality is that this hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed in. I put the problems on my forst two stays down to new opening pains but now so far on, there is an endemic lack of care for customers.

Anyone who writes here this is either a beautiful hotel, the food is good or there is an sense of customer service is not telling the truth or has nothing to compare.

The good -

The bed is very comfortable, noting else is good.

The bad -

You will arrive and there will be no-one to greet you, not a valet or a bell boy - this has happened every time. Staff inside will see you but ignore you so you sit and wait in your car and if you have any sense, drive off to another hotel.

At check-in no matter the time of day there will be one person and they will ignore you if busy - no acknowledgement, no call to another person, nothing. You wait because the staff resent customers.

Your room will be small and dingy if a deluxe room and large and dingy if a corner suite. Whoever designed this hotel was in an acid trip or resented the company and wanted to play a joke as it is a mix of dark fake woods, walls and carpets and near no lighting. In a word, dark and depressing.

Your fridge will not work as they disconnect them to save money as this hotel rarely has anything over minimal occupancy. Lights will not work. On one trip we had yellow water in the tub, a long power cut and guess what, not even an apology.

Breakfast has slightly improved but initially it was dried up bread, chees and cold cuts, an egg chef who could not cook eggs and the slowest service on the planet. Whatever you eat form the buffet, they will find a way to add extras to your bill - see below.

If you consider a drink in the bar, be aware that the bar,an will ignore you in favour of washing dishes or glasses and then not even have any red wine to offer. It is always a dead place anyway so better not bother.

The worst aspect of all is whatever your rate, agreement or package, you will always have incorrect extras added to your bill. This hotel simply has a policy of always trying to cheat guests with an inflated bill. Read all the other reviews here to see this is true.

I could go on about noise, faulty everything, no cleaning, dogs barking in adjacent rooms etc which all can happen but the way the management react with contempt you been dare to complain is the key here.

I am sorry to see such lack of training, management and sincerity manifested.

I will never return. Some of the staff like Jan are nice but he is fighting a losing battle.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed for one night in January and found the staff to be very helpful, the room was gorgeous with an amazing view father city from the 17th floor, which looked so beautiful at night. As everyone has said, the bed was unbelievably comfortable! We order room service because we were enjoying the view so much and the food was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear lloCon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Guadalajara with all the Trip Advisor community.
We are glad to hear that you enjoy our Heavenly Bed and the city views from your room.
Thank you for your comments about the quality of our food from room service, we hope you soon have the opportunity to indulge with one of the dishes of our restaurant “Casa de las Rosas”.
Cordially,
Manuel Diéguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Came here on business and chose it because of its quality for the price of the room. Upon arrival we were greeted by the valet attendant (no choice here) who quickly took our car after unloading the bags. Check in was smooth and polite.
The room was absolutely stunning and comfortable. A little more lighting would have been appreciated.
No problem with the internet, even if we did have to pay.
We opted for the breakfast buffet and were satisfied with the service and the quality of the food. The egg station was outside on the balcony which was a nice touch.
Check out was going smoothly until I got the bill and was disappointed to discover that the parking, phone calls on top of the internet were not included in the price of the room. In fact, the 3 phone calls I made with my calling card were not only charged to the room, they cost double the price of the room. That's outrageous, especially when this was not mentioned at check in. Nor did I notice any card or mention of it in the room (granted I may have missed it).
What was supposed to be a good value turned into one of the most expensive hotels i have ever stayed on business.
If you can afford it, stay here. Otherwise watch out for the fees.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Viewfr0mtheHill,
Thank you very much for your review.
First of all I want to offer to you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience at your check out. I regret that the entire Westin experience that you describe in you review was spoiled for a lack of information of your room rate and its enclosures. We ask that you please kindly send us a copy of your bill to our email: reservaciones.gdl@westin.com or by fax to + 00 52 33 3880-2701 in order to have the opportunity to review the mentioned phone calls in order to verify if there was any billing error.
Again thank you, your comments are really appreciated as they help us to keep on working to exceed all our guest expectations.
Cordially,
Manuel Dieguez R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel if you need to stay around the Expo in Guadalajara. There aren't many places to walk to nearby with the exception of the Expo but there are many nice restaurants and bars a few blocks away.

The rooms are huge with excellent views of the city; especially if you are high up. The gym is brand new and in wonderful shape which definitely isn't the norm that I've found while traveling.

The restaurant is excellent but be advised that the breakfast buffet charges different prices for the warm food and the cold food. They will even give you to go coffee if you ask.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MateoVerito,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience at The Westin Guadalajara with all the trip advisor community. I’m glad to hear that you enjoy our location, room conditions and WestinWORKOUT studio.
Regarding your comments about the price of our breakfast buffet, you are totally right, Continental and American breakfast have different prices and in addition, we offer service “a la carte” for breakfast, too.
Be well,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely but pretty quiet. We would have left after one night had the Food and Beverage manager, Jan, Vanhaelrwean not addressed several issues for us. He got our Internet connection working, had some maintenance issues resolved and found us a great Argentinian steak house for dinner.

And the beds are heavenly!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinGDL, Manager at The Westin Guadalajara, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear lalalalaLola,
Thank you very much in taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Be assured that Mr. Jan Vanhaelewyn will be congratulated on your behalf.
I’m glad to hear that the internet connection issues were solved and you enjoy so much our Heavenly Bed.
We hope to host you again in a near future at The Westin Guadalajara.
Cordially,
Manuel Diéguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Guadalajara

Address: Avenida de las Rosas 2911, Guadalajara 44530, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Guadalajara is in one of the most prestigious areas of this metropolis. Expo Guadalajara is next door, World Trade Center, corporate offices and numerous shops are nearby.Power up in the state-of-the-art WestinWORKOUT® Gym.Escape to one of our 221 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. The signature all-white Westin Heavenly Bed®, High Speed Internet Access, an LCD Flat Screen Television ensure that each space is a calming oasis where you can have a revitalizing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.