We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty- large lake in a quiet community.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romantic Lake Chapala

Romantic Lake Chapala
Guadalajara, Mexico
303-394-6920
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #19 of 111 Attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pretty- large lake in a quiet community.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If coming to GDL, it is a must to see. But it is changing all of the time. It is a long trip to have lunch and look at it for an hour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    93
    41
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating Lake Chapala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Since I moved to Lake Chapala from a very scenic location in the United States, it makes sense for me to love the place. Having put my residency cards on the table, let me talk more about the area. The Ajijic area, my personal favorite area on Lake Chapala, has many fine restaurants, entertainment and lovely views from many places. As I like to say: "It is a little piece of paradise."

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great setting for a day trip from Guadalajara. I especially enjoyed the San Francisco de Asis church very near the water in the town of Chapala. Along with our lunch on the shore of the lake in Jocotepec.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty scenery, Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We used to live here. We loved walking down the waterfront and enjoying the music on the weekends. The local coffee houses are good as are many of the restaurants. It is a quaint town with an American/Canadian touch. You can get by without Spanish. There are many English speakers

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Basically a place to have a beer and just relax, there are many restaurants around so a day´s visit is more than enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantic Lake Chapala also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Romantic Lake Chapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantic Lake Chapala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.