We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty scenery, Great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romantic Lake Chapala

Romantic Lake Chapala
Guadalajara, Mexico
303-394-6920
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$49*
and up
Ranked #12 of 154 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty scenery, Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We used to live here. We loved walking down the waterfront and enjoying the music on the weekends. The local coffee houses are good as are many of the restaurants. It is a quaint town with an American/Canadian touch. You can get by without Spanish. There are many English speakers

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank whitemexicans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Basically a place to have a beer and just relax, there are many restaurants around so a day´s visit is more than enough

Helpful?
Thank prosignia300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Once is fine but enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lake Chapala highly overrated. Lovely and good weather but not much to do, little culture. Mostly great if you want to interact with other Americans and Canadians.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharon33191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have done something else easily”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I'm sorry...I just couldn't find anything romantic about visiting a polluted lake where a bunch of canadians and americans live for the mild climate. It's a long drive and took up a day of precious vacation time. I'm sorry I missed going to the circular pyramids and went here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menorca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great day trip out of Guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You have to go to the old bus station to get a bus to Chapala lake. We chose to go to Ajijic and the direct bus took just over an hour. On the way back we took the bus via Chapala and it took nearly 2 hours.

the town of Ajijic is very beautiful, colourful houses, many flowers and trees, nice vibe and glorious setting with the huge lake and the mountains behind.

We spent hours by the lake just wandering along the very nicely laid out Malecon (lakeside walk) or sitting by the lake itself and enjoying a magnificent sunset. My wife and 13 year old also loved it.

We ate very well at a place by the 'beach', I don't remember the name, but it's near the pier...if you're behind the pier and facing the lake it's the second(last) one on the left hand side.

It would be a nice place to stay, not just to visit in a day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisMenorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantic Lake Chapala also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Romantic Lake Chapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing