We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romantic Lake Chapala

Romantic Lake Chapala
Guadalajara, Mexico
303-394-6920
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Romantic Lake Chapala like an insider
$49*
and up
Ranked #21 of 146 things to do in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guayaquil
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Basically a place to have a beer and just relax, there are many restaurants around so a day´s visit is more than enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    115
    55
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Once is fine but enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lake Chapala highly overrated. Lovely and good weather but not much to do, little culture. Mostly great if you want to interact with other Americans and Canadians.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could have done something else easily”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I'm sorry...I just couldn't find anything romantic about visiting a polluted lake where a bunch of canadians and americans live for the mild climate. It's a long drive and took up a day of precious vacation time. I'm sorry I missed going to the circular pyramids and went here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menorca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great day trip out of Guadalajara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

You have to go to the old bus station to get a bus to Chapala lake. We chose to go to Ajijic and the direct bus took just over an hour. On the way back we took the bus via Chapala and it took nearly 2 hours.

the town of Ajijic is very beautiful, colourful houses, many flowers and trees, nice vibe and glorious setting with the huge lake and the mountains behind.

We spent hours by the lake just wandering along the very nicely laid out Malecon (lakeside walk) or sitting by the lake itself and enjoying a magnificent sunset. My wife and 13 year old also loved it.

We ate very well at a place by the 'beach', I don't remember the name, but it's near the pier...if you're behind the pier and facing the lake it's the second(last) one on the left hand side.

It would be a nice place to stay, not just to visit in a day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“¿La Clima Más Mejor?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A place to keep returning to year after year. Great temps, slow pace, easy access from GDL. Stay a week or a month and unwind.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantic Lake Chapala also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Romantic Lake Chapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantic Lake Chapala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.