We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day in Lake Chapala and Ajijic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romantic Lake Chapala

Romantic Lake Chapala
Guadalajara, Mexico
303-394-6920
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #17 of 111 attractions in Guadalajara
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Port Alberni, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A day in Lake Chapala and Ajijic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Chose the Tequila grand Tour Company forca day trip to the area.
A stop at Vicente's ranchbwas impressive with the largest cowboy store in Mexico.

On to the town of Lake Chapala, walked the pier and thecwalkway along the lake front, checked outvthe market, the city hall mural and the photos in the museum.

To Ajijic for a walking tour of the artisan streets, impressed with one lady wear store as the seamstress worked right on site.
Lunch on the lake, beautiful setting and catering to foreigners... German , Italian and American choices

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    83
    34
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place for Weekend trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I visited this Mexico`s biggest lake in last June.We took a car from Gudalajara and travelled 1 hour to reach Chapala. It is wonderful place for weekend trip with family or friends.There we roamed around the lake shore.There are many hotel you can taste all kind of Mexican food,especially sea foods are really good.We rented one boat and went to Scorbian island.It is a scenic view during sunset.we enjoyed this oneday trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's a great place to live”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having lived in this area for well over a decade, we find it an excellent place to live and after having explored much of the rest of Mexico, I'd have to say that we haven't found anywhere which would be more suited to retirement living.

Over the years this has become a very international community with many newer residents from Europe as well as Canada and the United States.

The climate is considered to be one of the two best in the world, the other being an area in Kenya. Now, I doubt that I would enjoy Kenya at my age, so we're back to this area as being overall the best for retirement living, in our opinion.

The new Malecon in Chapala is a real attraction, beautifully done, and very easy to walk or even visit in a wheelchair.

A short ride from Guadalajara airport, for adults this would be definitely be on my list of places to visit, if I didn't already live here. There are many pretty decent hotels and B&B's, some are outstanding.

I would not advise extended stays with children or younger teenagers, there are really not a great deal of interesting things to see or do for these age groups, however it is a good spot to establish yourself for longer term stays and much easier to navigate than Guadalajara. Easy access to many other attractions within a 4 hour radius.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A nice place. Maybe too touristy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you're in Guadalajara for a few days, spending a day to tour this area would not be disappointing. It is nothing out of the ordinary, however. And you'll see lots of Americans and Canadians in the Ajijic area, which, at least in my case, was not something I went to Mexico to see. And with a large foreigner population comes higher prices.
In short, it's pretty, and it's Mexico's largest lake, so it's something to see. But if you have a short time in the Guadalajara area and have to choose between, say, the Tequila area and Lake Chapala, go with the Tequila area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

i love the place it is jus magical, no one would even suspect that it is just a few minutes outside Mexico's 2nd Largest city, you have to go and eat there, hace ice cream and enjoy the magical views

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romantic Lake Chapala also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Romantic Lake Chapala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantic Lake Chapala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Romantic Lake Chapala to your Saves list