We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Classy & Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Mount Vernon, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Classy & Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is definitely a great hotel for business purposes/travel. The staff is great and there are lovely amenities. The only down side to our stay was that it was a couple's trip and the only room they had available for us was a room with double beds, wish it would've been one King or at least two Queen size beds in our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    120
    32
    7
    24
See reviews for
56
55
7
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff at the hotel is very friendly & helpful, the rooms are very spacious, and the breakfast buffet cannot be beat. I had a room on the 31st floor with gorgeous views. The location for me was out of the way for my work, but I don't think there is a better option. I wish there were more dining options in the hotel and I can't say I'd recommend the room service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Guadalajara. Food, drinks, room service and housekeeping is fantastic. The rooms are large and exceptional clean! Great view from the hotel rooms out over the city. Would recommend to anyone in Guadalajara on business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Nice new hotel in a great area in downtown, great shower, a couple of restaurants and breakfast included. Comfy bed, great service and a rain shower. Even a few English speaking TV channels and free wireless internet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is the perfect hotel for conventions or big groups, they are very efficient at the front desk, breakfast is good and very well assorted you can get almost everything. The Hotel is new and the rooms are on average of good size and very clean. The location is good but there are other hotels better located, its good for short stays but don't expect something special. If you are there during a convention the lobby might be transformed into a big disco...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A modern, clean facility, I was here for business and the hotel was wonderful. Large, open rooms with a clean, large bathoom facilities, the hotel met all my travel needs. It is located in a busy area, with cars coming and going, so there is a lot of activity at the front door. There are numerous stores and restaurants in the area, and I enjoyed walking the surrounding areas before dinner.

The inside of the hotel is modern, with several restaurants/bars as well as convention centers. We enjoyed a great dinner that was very reasonable priced, and the breakfast buffet was gigantic. The fresh fruit was delicious as were the other options. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and the staff was friendly and heolpful. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I go to Guadalajara twice a year and decided to give the RIU another visit after its original opening a couple of years ago. Their breakfast buffet is excellent - one of the best and a bit pricey for Guadalajara, but good. However, again I was dissapointed in the overal Hotel service and rooms. Although we had a lovely view - the attention to detail is very cheap, pool service is difficult to obtain unless you go directly to the bar for service. Spa services were nice - not great but nice. Steam room is available and also a nice aspect. The hotel is well located with good access and nearby rate exchange houses and stores. Reception was not as knowledable about things that are basic. Walls are very thin and everything is heard - load voices, fighting and if you like quiet ... youll need earplugs. Okay for business if you are out most of the day or maybe for families because of the pool if your expectancy is more on the location. The bar is very nice with live music. I would visit the bar and breakfast buffet - but won't stay there again.

Room Tip: On corner with no attaching doors or other neighbors. The higher the room - less concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Address: Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.