We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views from the higher floors!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Internet & free minibar
Ranked #18 of 113 hotels in Guadalajara
Cali, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views from the higher floors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for almost 2 weeks last May. Amazing hotel, in a great location. The hotel is new and has become a landmark in Guadalajara (tallest building too), visible from almost anywhere in the city. We usually had trouble with our room card keys not working so we would have to go back to reception all the time for them to fix it, but apart from that it is a great hotel. Amazing breakfast with so many options! You can sit outside in the sun if you want too, which is nice. Amazing views from the higher rooms! Cool decor and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    93
    26
    7
    17
See reviews for
46
43
6
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I had the same problem this morning very miss leading on the signage said free breakfest. Not the deal. No cool. Management was no help at all. The rest of the stay was good but left on a bad note. To bad the resort was good and good location.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The service was good by the pool. The front desk was helpful at check in and Esteban at the concierge offered to help us at every turn. However the phone service for information was less than satisfactory. Promised call backs and no reply. The breakfast restaurant "Decapolis" had a sign that said "breakfast for guests included in the room rate." Turns out that is not the case. Our bill was 1151.89 pesos for six (6) breakfast buffets. There was no offers from management to honor the notice..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was there for just 1 night, when we arrived at check in they tell you the first stock of the mini fridge is included and they sell it to you in such a way that you expect a fridge filled with drinks, candy, sodas, beer, etc... When you arrive and open it, it has 4 sodas and 2 beers, bummer, haha. its the tallest building in Guadalajara, I got 16 floor with a nice view of the city, nice beds, comfortable, the bath however was not working but it was fixed.
The restaurant is very big, went down for lunch for a very average sandwich, the next morning buffet breakfast with a lot of options it is nicely setup, but food is not that tasty, it looks like it’s the place to be because it was full of families for Saturday breakfast.
The location is very good, everything is close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

first time staying at the Riu what a great hotel. the room where big and clean and the mini bar was free. the pool bar was a great place to hang out doing the day and at night the lounge had great entertainment on Friday night and Sat. the buffet breakfast was great way to start your morning. the only problem was the wi-fi it kept droping. but it wsa free too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is very well decorated. We upgraded to a suite which was really worth it, it gives you access to the Crown Level Lounge where the is always cold soda, beer hot coffee white and red wine all day. There are snacks like fruit, sandwiches pastries all day. We enjoyed it very much.Also in the morning the breakfast buffet is spectacular! The suite is very spacious. It has
a comfortable living room with a TV couches and table to eat at. There is a fridge with water beer and soda. Also a coffee maker only problem is you have to purchase the coffee and drinks after the first day.

Room Tip: The suites are on the top floors above the 33rd floor and the views along with very large room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'll start by saying that the hotel looks real nice, the rooms are large, bed is good, bar is fine, and on the surface, it looks like a great hotel. Generally, the hotel let's itself down by some failures in service. My first visit my reservation was not honored, even though I had a guaranteed reservation (they sent me to another hotel for 3 nights!) - that should have been enough for me never to return and give the hotel a terrible rating. But, my company planned another stay here, and since other amenities are average, I will give it an average rating. On several occasions either myself of my colleagues had issues with the water in the rooms - some had no cold water, and some had no water at all for a number of hours - no toilet flushing! Again, writing this I feel I should have given it a 'poor' rating. On a couple of occasions, room service either took a ridiculous amount of time (>1 hour), or delivered the wrong food, or missing items.
Staff are generally very professional and polite.
So, in summary, could be a 5-star hotel if only the services were 5-star, and other issues are resolved.

Room Tip: In my experience, all the rooms were nice. A sunset view is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Address: Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 113 hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.