We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but needs maintenance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel but needs maintenance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed a few times here, definitely a great hotel. Rooms have good views over the town (a 10 minutes cab ride will get you downtown). Very good large breakfast, one of the best I have had in Mexico. The swimming pool is small but great with lots of loungers considering this is a city hotel. Very nice and friendly staff at the lobby, namely Sandra and Sonja!

However maintenance (considering this is a brand new hotel) is lacking, with small details (like broken sinks in the room and broken tiling in the swimming pool) needs to work harder! The beds aren't the most comfortable either (don't expect Starwood group kind of beds, you will be disappointed!) and the temperature control in my room didn't seem to work as it was freezing all night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    121
    32
    7
    24
See reviews for
56
55
7
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Maybe there are better places to stay in GDL but this place was exactly what I needed for a one night business stay. Comfortable, luxurious and safe. Great staff and a terrific breakfast. Will certainly stay here again next time. Recommended for those visiting from out of town. Excellent value too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great hotel, accommodations and service. The breakfast is excellent, rooms are spacious and clean, everything you expect from a Riu. The only negative side is location, which is not the best. Each floor is a different color and rooms have a beautiful theme.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here while on a business trip. The lobby is gorgeous. The rooms are exceptional!
I had a King Bed Deluxe Room.
Set up like Euro style. Pocket doors, euro and u.s.standard plugs everywhere. Door Key/Card is used to power on room.
--Bathroom: Shower you could fit 8 people in. Double sink in the bathroom If there were two people you could share this bathroom with ease.
--Bed area: Beautiful flower painting above bed, lights make it look like it belongs in a museum. Bed was comfy for me but I like a little more firmness. (They did have the foam topper on the bed before I arrived, I didn't even ask for it)
--Mini Bar/Fridge: First items in the fridge were complimentary. Water/Soda/Beer. Nice little welcome gift.
--Desk/Work Area: PERFECT for working in your room. Ample work space and fairly comfy.
--Sitting Area: Didn't use but looked nice and matched the decor and style of the room.
--WiFi: worked great in my room never had a problem connecting
--Breakfast Buffet: Great! Huge! Lots of selection. They did have some "authentic" Mexican food on the buffet but most was "Americanized" which is okay because you can get a little of both. Service was great.
Overall this place gets a 10 out of 10 from me. I don't say this very often but everyone was very pleasant and helpful and the place was immaculately clean and well taken care of.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view, want to see the whole city ask for a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Hotel is basically located in the city's main streets, as another review stated, everybody in Guadalajara knows where the hotel is.
The staff was always friendly and ready to help in any way. The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are pristine! All details are taken care of in this hotel. I would definitely recommend this to the most demanding travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at RIU for almost three months (September -- November 2012). Breakfast is served in Decapolis which always provided 5-star service and food. Fruit and juice selections are the largest I have ever seen and made my mornings. The cooks are friendly and gladly customize orders. Wait staff is excellent as are the hostesses. The gourmet restaurant Chardonnay can be wonderful or standard. The specials were always good but the chef does not vary the menu. Service was friendly and professional. The pool bar is 5-star and provides good food, friendly staff, and great drinks. The lobby bar Dreams brings in live music on Fridays and Saturdays, has a big screen for games and has good service, friendly staff, and okay food. The manager goes out of his way to make a visit special. Housekeeping staff varies from excellent to mediocre, Service is not consistent but if you report it, service improves to 5-star. I initially stayed on the 40th floor in a room with two full beds which were more like American twin beds. The beds were uncomfortable and maid service and turn down service was spotty. I moved to the 34th floor to a room with a king bed for the duration of my stay. Maid service was much better. The minibar was kept well stocked with bottled water after I requested it (hint: just ask). The hotel has a members' area that offers free refreshments, snacks, and computer use which gets an A+ on the beverages and a B+ on the buffet food. Room service was not always consistent but the staff was friendly and the food was good. Pablo, in particular, went out of his way to make guests feel welcomed and cared for. Wifi was better on the 34th floor than the 40th. The spa provided nice services and the best haircut I have ever gotten at a hotel. I recommend the chocolate pedicure and deep tissue massage. The conceirge was always helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a king bed room and get the minibar and breakfast inclusive package. Higher floors have great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

While the lobby is beautifully decorated, this hotel needs to step it up if it wants to compete with other 4 star hotels. What surprised me the most was the hard bed and the cheap sheets they used. When you are competing with the Heavenly Bed at the Westin and the equally comfortable beds at Hilton and Intercontinental properties, not a smart move to try and save money on the bedding.

As I was checking out and leaving, and quite literally stepping out the door, I was asked if I needed help with my luggage. Mind you they didn't care as I was struggling with my bags across the lobby, but when they saw a tip walking out the door they half assed enthusiasm to see if it would work. It didn't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Address: Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita | Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.