We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Alebrijes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Alebrijes Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Alebrijes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Libertad 1016 | Centro Historico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 49 Guadalajara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ixtapa, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed four nights in the large ground floor room with the jacuzzi bath tub. John, the owner, was gracious and helpful to a flaw. On my arrival, he spent lots of time giving me information about the hotel and the city, and inparticular, the gay scene. My room was spotless and remained that way throughout my stay. The place has been beautifully restored and has many thoughtful and tasteful touches. Ideally located, the hotel is within easy walking distance from just about anything one might need, including all the gay hot spots. I would stay there again without a doubt. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have better natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
35
40
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just spent the weekend at Casa Alebrijes and had a wonderful time. As you drive down the street you would never know that there is a gorgeous hotel behind the plain brown doors. We were greeted by John, the owner and given slippers, a souvenir alebrije ( a small wooden animal sculpture) as well as maps to the bars and tourists tips. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was still beautiful, with a blue sky and clouds painted on the ceiling. My friends stayed in a larger room next to mine and it was very impressive for the price. There are a few public areas to meet other guests and have breakfast. Whether you are interested in the nightlife or the historic areas, the hotel is in a terrific location and we walked most everywhere. As close as it is to downtown, it's really nice to get away from the crowds and chill out at the hotel, too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We just return from a trip to Guadalajara and stayed at this Boutique Hotel located in the hearth of Guadalajara. The service is excellent, we were welcomed by its owner (John), and since the beginning he did everything to take care of us, upon arrival he gave us a pair of sleepers and also a small “alebrije” (wood Mexican craft), very nice welcome package. He walked with us to our room and verified that everything were o.k., he suggested places to dinner and routes to walk at night to be in the safe side. The room is beautiful, very clean, with the necessary amenities and nice decoration. The rate includes a Continental breakfast that is also good and is served in a beautiful dinning room with Mexican accents and painting, the atmosphere is relaxing, upscale and intimate. When we leave the hotel, John showed us another rooms and they were also beautiful, the prices are very affordable and everything was A+++, we also bought an Alebrije to take home (he has a wide variety of alebrijes for sale). We will return for sure in our next trip to Guadalajara.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

A really first rate small hotel in old town GDL. Beautifully designed with an open courtyard and lovely fountain and pleasantly decorated. Comfortable beds with small touches to make your stay more enjoyable. Amazingly quiet considering the busy street on which the hotel is located - thanks to the super thick windows and front door. John, the owner could not be more helpful and accommodating.

The hotel is well located near Guadalajara's gay night life area with bars, clubs, and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

It is a very nice, comfortable and relaxing place to stay at an affordable price. A big plus is that it has only been open for a couple months so everything is nice and new which means everything works and is clean. The owner, John, is extremely friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable about Guadalajara even though he is a gringo which is a plus when you are a tourist! He has put alot of thought and attention to detail in his hotel; his linens and towels are definitely 6 star hotel quality. Since each room is unique and different be sure to talk to John about the best room for you; some rooms are small with a big bathroom, others are large with a small bath, etc. I plan to be in Guadalajara later in the year for about 20 days and will definitely stay at the Casa Alebrijes Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed here and was delighted parking was available and that the location was right on the middle of it all. John, the owner went out of his way to be helpful and when I saw the room I was delighted. Great bedding and a plasma TV and very comfy. The ceiling had been painted to look like the sky and there were many ther details that catch your attention. I will be back within a month with my partner.

Room Tip: Ask for a tour on arrival as I was shown all the .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Casa Alebrijes is new and there is a lot of attention to detail. Owner John is American but knows Guadalajara, and the hotel is very close to all the gay nightlife. It's also just a few blocks from the Centro for touring the historical area.

In addition to being clean fresh and new, with great beds, Casa Alejbrijes offers uniquely designed rooms, some with sitting areas and jacuzzis. There's an open courtyard in the building, hacienda style, where guests can meet and greet in front of a large fountain decorated with masks. The rooms are decorated with "Alebrijes" --cute little wooden toys handmade in Mexico.

There are nice LCD TVs with DVD players in each room, and great internet service, also guest computers. The owner could not be nicer! The large rooms offer a great value.

If you haven't been out in Guadalajara and you're gay, you need to go! It's a lot of fun, with dozens of gaybars, nightclubs and other types of venues (internet cafes, shops, sauna) to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Alebrijes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Alebrijes Hotel

Address: Libertad 1016 | Centro Historico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Alebrijes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Alebrijes is a boutique hotel for gay men and women and friends located in the Historic Center and just two blocks from the center of the gay nightlife area that has some twenty-five gay bars and discotheques within walking distance – Guadalajara is known as the San Francisco of Mexico.The hotel has two floors with 2 suites for 1-4 persons and 7 rooms for 1 or 2 persons. The first floor has a garden patio with a fabulous fountain. The second floor has a balcony overlooking the garden patio and fountain. This late 19th century home was carefully and beautifully restored in a traditional style to provide modern conveniences while respecting the existing architecture. The 15 foot high ceilings and 2 foot thick adobe walls provide a unique hospitality experience. Relax on the balcony or garden patio and enjoy the sight and sound of the Mexican style fountain. Eat your continental breakfast in the dining room while sharing experiences with other guests or at private tables on the balcony. Guadalajara has a wonderful climate all year and you will enjoy the open air areas of the hotel. Internet, luxury mattress, laptop size safe, continental breakfast, and parking included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Alebrijes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Alebrijes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.