We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Great Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagrantino

Sagrantino
Golfo de Cortes 4152, Guadalajara 44670, Mexico
33 38131379
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sagrantino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 483 Restaurants in Guadalajara
Price range: $22 - $35
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Huicholes y Tarascos
Description: Sagrantino, binomio de tradición e innovación que va desde su arquitectura hasta su cocina, se caracteriza por ofrecer una variedad de platillos auténticos, destaca su parrilla al carbón natural que hace de los cortes una especialidad, así como de su horno de leña donde se cocen tanto pizzas como el pan que se sirve en su mesa. La cava que se alza vertical en medio del salón permite al comensal apreciar la gran variedad de etiquetas que maridarán sus platillos. Desde el bar puede comenzar por tomar un aperitivo o bien una sobremesa de negocios o placer, ya que presume los mejores destilados del mundo. Su vista al parque le hará sentir en una atmosfera relajada y aislada de la prisa urbana. Lo esperamos!
Merida, Yucatan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Place - Great Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Arriving around 8:30pm, the place was abandoned but around 9pm it started to fill up.

We started with a Margarita (excellently tangy sweet and generous with tequila) a Manhattan (perfect) and a frosty Indio beer. We ordered a bottle of wine for the meal.

Our appetizers included the Concha de Neptuno- Lobster and shrimp accompanied pimiento morrón rojo and mixed grated cheeses. It was delicious! And, the Tártara de Atún
Trozos de atún acompañados de cubitos de mango, cebolla morada, guacamole marinadoen salsa Teriyaki, coronado con germen de alfalfa. Also excellent!

For our main course we ordered the Salmón Ratatouille, Pierna de Jabalí al horno and Lengua de Res al cilantro. All 3-plates were beautifully presented and the food was excellent. The leg of wild pig was a little tough but very flavorful. The filet of Salmon was, according to my friend, one of the best anywhere! It was served on a spicy papaya sauce. I tried a nibble and the flavors were tantalizing! The tongue was outstanding! Tender, flavorful and served with pimientos morrones salteados.

For desert we split the Pastel tibio de chocolate. OMG! Just do it.

We were all very pleased with our food the service and the atmosphere. The bill was the really unexpected surprise! Everything, including the tip came to around $1300.00-mxp! based on today's exchange rate, that is less than $100-usd.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    208
    51
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“San Valentin en GDL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent ambience and mood. Restaurant was packed due to St Valentines Day, however, there was no chaos by the staff. We made reservations and were seated promptly and service started almost immediately.

We had an appetizer, montaditos de camaron , which was the perfect way to start the evening and it went perfect with a margarita on the rocks and an incredibly cold beer. We ordered the ribeye, and the filete Reyeno, medium, for both. While the filete was delicious, my wife said the ribeye was superior in flavor. While I have enjoyed many good steaks in America, I had not had the pleasure of eating anything that even came close to the taste and flavor of the dish served at Sagrantinos in Guadalajara.

Our meal was served hot and was very tasteful, our service continued throughout the dinner, the staff was literary waiting on our every wish. we followed the dinner with a tiramisu and some coffee.

Please visit Sagrantinos if you happen to be in GDL. it is an experience not worth passing up.

Mr. and Mrs. Martinez

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have lived in Mexico for over 8 years in a small ex-pat community. The only thing missing is a good restaurant like many you find in Europe or the U.S.. Well, Sagrantino gives you the same Michelin type experience with wonderful food,service and a nice wine selection all in a contemporary setting. And, you don't have to get on an airplane. Go and Enjoy....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic dinner :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good wine, excellent food and customer service.

Had a dinner in Sagrantino and it was awesome, I was impressed by the place's design and environment. Excellent service, waiters giving good recommendations.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for good and tasty Italian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great b day!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Warm wellcome, great ambiance... Excelente Wine sellection.... Expedient service, giving the customer choices depending on what Type of food you would like to have on a special day... Would only complain about one thing.... It had to come to an end.... Gracias!!! We will be Back.... Excelente servicio... Atención al detalle es quizás lo más importante... Sigan así

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sagrantino also viewed

Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
Guadalajara, Guadalajara Metropolitan Area
 

Been to Sagrantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagrantino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.