We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Mansion del Sol to your Saves list
La Mansion del Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Moctezuma 1596 | Ciudad del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a charming old mexican mansion turned into a 22 bedroom boutique hotel. It is kept
in excellent condition and it is immaculate. Our room (#9) was lovely and had all the amenities. The staff is professional friendly and welcoming. We arrived late afternoon and were invited
to come down to the garden and have a glass of wine, coffee and/or pastry.This was an unexpected extra. We will return…..

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 9..it has a view of the second garden and is near the small gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Director of Sales at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your comment about your recent stay at our La Mansion del Sol ..
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your visit. We look forward to see you back soon.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    22
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
43
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

outstanding service from courteous and professional staff at the desk, kitchen, and restaurant; hotel is well-kept classic building/mansion with a delightful garden; the oj was fresh squeezed and the chilaquiles terrific; and the room was larger than I expected; much more authentic and overall better Mexican experience than staying at comfortable but corporate-feel alternative; I'm returning here on a future trip to GDL

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Director of Sales at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Roma

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are very pleased to know that our staff service, location, rooms and food & beverage experience exceeded your expectations.

Looking forward to welcome you soon in La Mansion del Sol where you will be always welcome.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta de Mita, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My husband and I live about 3 hours from Guadalajara and visit the city about every 4 to 6 weeks for errands. We have stayed in many hotels in the city. This hotel is the best so far!! It is not a cookie cutter box hotel. The architecture and the rooms are interesting. It is in a nice residential neighborhood close to Plaza del Sol, Expo, a Walmart or Home Depot for convenient errand chores. It is CLEAN!!!!! Everything worked…TV, hairdryer, a/c, radio, lights, hot water…everything! And, that is not the norm for Mexico. The rooms are large and sunny. The bathrooms are also spacious with hair dryers, makeup mirrors, and an amenity basket with almost anything you could want. The gardens were a perfect place to unwind after a day in Guadalajara or Zapopan. The fountains attract many birds which were interesting to watch. It is so quiet and restful you would never know you were in a major city. The staff was friendly, especially Salvatore, who also prided himself on giving service and making us feel welcome. There is a complimentary breakfast buffet which was different each day. Also included was one cooked item off the breakfast menu. We asked the hotel for a taxi to drive us around the city for shopping errands. He was professional, knew the city, and didn't waste our time on circuitous routes. Highly recommend this hotel and we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Director of Sales at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Warm Greetings from ¡ La Mansion del Sol !

We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your visit We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience that definitely help us to make sure that all our services and facilities fill up our client’s expectations. Same as Salvatore, we all are really proud to provide service and make fell our visitors welcome. Thank you again and please be sure that the entire staff is looking forward on hosting you again in the near future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Centrally located boutique hotel. Wonderful staff, large rooms with all the amenities including WiFi. Staff eager to please and well trained. Lovely garden to decompress in. This is my go to place in Guadalajara.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Director of Sales at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking taken the time to comment about your recent stay .
We are very glad that your vacation experience was a great one and that we were able to satisfy your expectations, mainly through the attention and service given by our staff.
Once again thank you and we look forward for your next visit.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veigne, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A very nicely furnished hotel full of charm; large bedrooms; quiet; nice breakfast buffet (included in the price); free parking and wifi. A quiet hotel is not easy to find in Guadalajara; Mansion del Sol was perfect (at least my room, number 10, on the garden side). Very friendly staff. 5 minutes walk from the Plaza del Sol shopping mall; 20 minute bus ride from the historical center. Certainly would stay here again. Just one slight negative, the evening meal, it was OK but not up to the same standard as the rest. I would certainly recommend Mansion del Sol and would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Director of Sales at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest.

It's been a pleasure to serve you , during your visit to this beautiful City. On behalf of the entire team, working at La Mansion del Sol . We want to thank you for taking time to include all your comments about us and we appreciate the feedback about the evening meals. We look forward
To welcoming you back in the near future..
.
Our Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here only one night, waiting on a morning flight from Guadalaraja airport. The hotel is in a neighborhood full of chain hotels and restaurants, but once you are inside, it has a unique charm. Salvatore runs the hotel like a guest inviting someone into his home. The kitchen prepares excellent food. There is a beautiful interior garden and hummingbirds! You won't regret staying here for a night or for a week.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Director of Sales at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments.
We are very glad that your experience was a great one and that we were able to satisfy your expectations.
We look forward for your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great place to stay in Guadalajara. It's an old house converted to a hotel - so its situated in a residential area and very quiet. My room was large, clean and well appointed. The staff friendly, helpful and spoke English. The basic breakfast was good, but eating in the garden was the highlight of the morning. The hotel also serves a complimentary afternoon dessert selection. Many hummingbirds around the hotel as the staff feeds them. The only obstacle was that the location is remote from the city center. There isn't a lot to do near the hotel - just a mall about 15 minutes away by foot - but its just a mall like any other. However, it's very easy to get to the city center by taxi - fare is 100 pesos (about $8 each way).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Director of Sales at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Steve . thank you very much for taking taken the time to comment about your recent stay at our La Mansion del Sol ..
We are very glad that your vacation experience was a great one and that we were able to satisfy your expectations, mainly through the attention and service given by our staff.
Once again thank you and we will be waiting for you in a near future at your
"home away from home".
Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
2.8 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#1 of 115 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#8 of 115 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#4 of 115 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Guadalajara Country Club
1.7 mi away
Malibu Hotel
Malibu Hotel
#36 of 115 in Guadalajara
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mansion del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion del Sol

Address: Av Moctezuma 1596 | Ciudad del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#12 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mansión del Sol, is a small Boutique Hotel with 22 rooms with Fine Mexican Style. Located in an exclusive residential area, it’s also within the hotel area, 3 blocks from Plaza del Sol Mall and 10 blocks from Plaza Ciudadela Mall. In the heart of one of the best areas in Guadalajara. Surrounded by stores, hotels, restaurants, bars, discotec´s, coffee shops, theatres and movie theatres etc. Only 5 minutes from the Expo Guadalajara Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your La Mansion del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Del Sol Hotel Guadalajara
La Mansion Del Sol Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.