We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful in Every Way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mansion del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Mansion del Sol to your Saves list
La Mansion del Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Moctezuma 1596 | Ciudad del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Punta de Mita, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Helpful in Every Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed two nights and needed some special services while back and forth to a medical clinic. The concierge helped my daughter and I with information, long distance calls, kept our luggage when our plans changed, and suggested private guides when we had some free time. One of the staff gave us a ride after dark to a place we could have walked, to help us feel safe. The rooms are lovely but they are lacking in paper, pens, phone directories and no information on how to make local and long distance calls. The only other issue that keeps them from "excellant" is the guide, who does make you very secure and knows the city well, but pushes favored stores that were high end items that would appeal to an art dealer or decorator, not an average tourist -- we solved that after a few stores in time, and making it clear we were not interested in those high end selections. He was faithful in looking out for us, and that was well worth it, and the cost was less than the cab fare to and from the places we went to.

Room Tip: There are rooms up the stairs and on the first floor. We had one on each and I preferred the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you for you comment. We really apreciate all comments. good or bad. That keep is improving. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    19
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
40
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California Central Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great service and a charming clean quiet hotel; the breakfasts were wonderful. My only critique is that the hotel is not located near the city center. We used a taxi and bus service to see other parts of the city. This hotel does not have a pool or spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you soon in your next trip to GDL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I travel a lot on business, and the Mansion del Sol in Guadalajara is now my home away from while I'm in Guadalajara. The staff are all very nice and greet me by name. The rooms are spacious, quiet and I feel 100% safe and secure while I'm there. The gardens are very peaceful and relaxed, besides being beautiful. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel.

The only drawback the hotel has is there are stairs everywhere, so if you're handicapped you will have a hard time negotiating the hotel.

Other than that, I highly recommend the MDS!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest! Thank you for your nice comment. All rewiews really help us to keep improving. Look faroward to greet you pretty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wow, loved every minute here. Beautiful rooms, an oasis in a busy city. This hotel is in a upscale neighborhood, but still centrally located. Staff is very accommodating and friendly. Good food, complementary breakfast too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest Thak you for you nice comment. I behalf of la mansion dle sol crew. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on a shopping trip and overall it's a delightful boutique hotel. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Each morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in a little corner of the garden. It's a full breakfast (fruit, cereal, eggs, meat, potatoes, etc) and they'll even cook your eggs to your liking. For us the garden provided a wonderful respite to the noise and hustle-bustle of busy Guadalajara. Our room was huge. The AC worked fine. Everything is in excellent condition. A full range of top drawer toiletries are provided. The day we checked out we had a long drive back to the coast and asked if they'd make up some sandwiches for us. 'No problem', and the sandwiches were delicious. On another occasion we arrived too late for dinner and the hotel resto was closed. The staff promptly appeared with a tray of sandwiches so we wouldn't go to bed hungry! My only knock is that our room window looked out to a light well, ie we're looking out at the walls of three other rooms. So avoid room 21. There was also a noisy machine operating intermittently at night on the roof above us or on the other side of one wall... it may have been an AC unit. A bit of a nuisance but not bad enough to keep us awake. It's about a 300 meter walk to a main street with 6 peso, 15 minute bus service to the centro. La Mansion is a bit pricey compared to other hotels in Guadalajara but in terms of value, it's got to be number one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. All comments are welcome to keep improving. We hope to see you in your next trip to GDL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first trip to Guadalajara and we were very happy with our choice to stay at La Mansion del Sol. Our room was huge, we had a king bed with plenty of room for a desk & sitting area -plus a large dressing area and a huge bathroom. Our room was located on a quiet courtyard and offered pretty views of plants and birds. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast (included in the price of the room) which offered fresh fruits, pastries, yoghurt, plus hot food dishes with meat & eggs.
We were also very pleased with the staff - Oscar, Salvadore, and Raul were all so helpful and acommodated our needs to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. We will be back again! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your nice comment. We hope to see you soon in your next trip to GDL. We send you our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of a 5 night stay at La Mansion Del Sol it exceeded our expectations. Our room was very spacious, immaculately clean and well appointed. The buffet breakfast offered an array of interesting food choices, with special requests also being accommodated. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant on 2 occasions and found the meals to be very good and also well priced. Located approx 20 min from Centro but cabs are inexpensive. We debated staying in the Centro area but were happy to return to this little oasis every evening as it is very quiet at night. The best aspect of this hotel is the amazingly courteous and helpful staff who do everything possible to make guests feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMansiondelSol, Manager at La Mansion del Sol, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting your comment. We hope to have you here again at La Mansion del sol, pretty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mansion del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mansion del Sol

Address: Av Moctezuma 1596 | Ciudad del Sol, Guadalajara 45050, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#13 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mansion del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mansión del Sol, is a small Boutique Hotel with 22 rooms with Fine Mexican Style. Located in an exclusive residential area, it’s also within the hotel area, 3 blocks from Plaza del Sol Mall and 10 blocks from Plaza Ciudadela Mall. In the heart of one of the best areas in Guadalajara. Surrounded by stores, hotels, restaurants, bars, discotec´s, coffee shops, theatres and movie theatres etc. Only 5 minutes from the Expo Guadalajara Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Mansion del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mansion Del Sol Hotel Guadalajara
La Mansion Del Sol Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mansion del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.