We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Juarez 211-103 Centro | Colonia Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
Albany, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location and nice hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and we found it improved and kept in good condition. The rooms have a system in place that controls everything in the room from opening/closing drapes, AC, Internet, etc. that can be adjusted using the computer/TV. Be sure that the staff member, who shows you to your room, shows you how the system operates so you can make your own stay comfortable. The rooms are nicely renovated, modern and clean. The location is definitely ideal to explore the downtown historic area, with most popular sites within walking distance. If you need to go somewhere further away, just take a taxi. We recommend that you eat outside of the hotel, at one of the local restaurants. Our experience with having breakfast at the hotel restaurant inspired us to eat at La Chata - a local restaurant very close to the hotel, about one block away. You won't be disappointed if you try La Chata. Back to the hotel, our stay was very pleasant and we would definitely come back to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlalli L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest John C,

Thank you for your preference for Holiday Inn & Suites Centro Historico, we apreciate you return for the second time to our hotel. Your kind comments are highly valued as they encourage us to be better every day.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel, we hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Citlalli Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    67
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
43
62
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed there in March 2014. On the 1st night had a problem with the electronics that control the room and had to change the room. Management did not send a bell hop to help move our luggage nor did they called to ask if things were okay. When I did ask to speak with manager I was told that they were not in. I again asked to speak to the manager the next day but was put off. In the 5 nights we were there the manager never called. The service staff was helpful and attentive it is a shame that the management is not the same. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is ideal for visiting the old section of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlalli L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest Jacinto Aguilar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, your opinion is very important for us.
Please let me apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced on your last stay, our goal is guest satisfaction I´m sorry to hear we didn't accomplish our goal with you.
I hope you give us an opportunity to serve you again when you come back to Guadalajara.
Regards,
Citlalli Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is a really old building but the rooms are really update and modern nice place to stay
We stayed there for only one night
Why ? Because at the middle of the Night
Workers closed the street to fix a light and hell broke loose. They "Mexicans" are not afraid to use the honk just for the heck of it OMG super loud just 2 blocks away from the best places in guadalajara
During the day was really nice we visited hospicio cabanas the market the cathedral really really nice if you go to guadalajara you need to try a torta ahogada "a sandwich with carnitas drown in sauce but be careful they can be really spicy" and make sure you get to see the pantheon de belenes it was closed in April but I have seen it me and my family will be traveling to guadalajara again in December again oh take the tequila express it is a train that will Take you to tequila . Yes tequila is a city not just the drink you can sample lots of tequila for free.
I hope you enjoy guadalajara if you want more advice feel free to ask

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlalli L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest Joeytx,

Thank you for sharing your opinion, I'm sorry you did'n stay longer with us and I apologize for the inconveniences you had with the street noise. As you described we are located in a walking distance to all the main historical and touristic places and your description of the torta ahogada couldn't be better!

Once again thank you for your preference and we hope you give us an opportunity to serve you on your next visit to our beautiful city.

Regards,
Citlalli Lopez
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here January of 2014 and we loved it. The service was great, room was very clean and it is located in the heart of the historic area. Great hotel and very affordable. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They have a very high tech which I really liked, they have a computer in the room which allows you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlalli L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest Yadi13,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us, we are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, every effort in service and equipment is done thinking of you, our guests.
We hope to see you soon in our beautiful city and of course in our hotel.

Best regards,
Citlalli Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

..........and very clean and efficient. Great place to stay and explore the city. Staff is friendly and helpful. As a business hotel I should have given a rating of very good, but the hotel is definitely not a destination in itself. Rooms are well arranged to work in. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ..........I stayed at the back of the hotel, which I highly recommend for a quiet sleep. Cafe Milano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear NomadKevin,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am delighted to hear that our location worked for you very well and that you found the hotel very clean and our staff highly commendable. It is hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

Again, thank you very much and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

a beautiful hotel in the heart of the historic district we stayed in a jacuzzi suite and breakfast was included it was a real nice breakfast every morning a lot of mexican favorites that we liked the most. the staff was very freindly and very helpful helping us set a couple of trips to tequila . we dont speak alot of spanish and most of the staff spoke very good english and that helped us a lot toset up our day trips a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city looking foward to going back

Room Tip: we enjoyed the jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citlalli L, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest Robert P,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn & Suites Centro Historico, we love to hear that you enjoyed the jacuzzi suite and we hope to see you soon in our beautiful city.
Regards,

Citlalli López
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed two nights, and chose the hotel because of its location within walking distance to many of the highlights in the older part of the city -- Catredral, Plaza de Armes, Palacio Gobierno, the Rotunda de los Hombres Ilustres, Plaza Tapatia, Instituto Cultural Cabanas, Teatro Degollado. The building was a little dated, but had many features that countered its appearance. A flat screen TV on the wall lets one control many functions -- opening/closing the curtains, turning lights on and off, internet access, watch TV, control room temperature; this is the first time I have encountered such a feature and I enjoyed it once I got the hang of it. My room was on the Maestranza Street side, which was a bit noisy at times -- there is a taxi stand on the street at that corner. And the view was not by any means scenic. But if you can stand the street noise while staying in a New York City hotel, this one comes nowhere close in volume. I particularly enjoyed Dolce Mexico, the in-house restaurant. It serves an excellent breakfast buffet, as well as tasty entrees for lunch and dinner. I would especially recommend the Camarones al Mezcal. No problems whatsoever with the plumbing. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico

Address: Av. Juarez 211-103 Centro | Colonia Centro, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart, near the historical and cultural area, of the city are the only five star and International prestige brand in this area. Featuring all the comfort that business men and tourists require, our guests will be able to experience the combination of modern services and history of this beautiful city. Enjoy a room or junior suite with the best standards by Holiday Inn and more: the best beds to rest, pillow menu, wireless Internet access, use your own computer in room, alarm clock radio with iPod dock, and free parking. Entertainment, shopping, culture, business, all you are looking for, just steps away. Easy access to anywhere in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Centro Historico
Holiday Inn Guadalajara
Guadalajara Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Centro Historico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.