We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't care about your health or comfort then this might be the place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Laffayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laffayette Hotel to your Saves list
Laffayette Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. La Paz # 2055, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 121 Hotels in Guadalajara
Florida
1 review
“If you don't care about your health or comfort then this might be the place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

I read the reviews on this site before I booked the hotel. I saw the review from Khelm dated September 2006 and thought that this was just an unhappy person but to my surprise Khelm had the rating right on the money

If you goal is to save a few pesos and if you don't care about your health or comfort this might be the place for you.

I travel the world for Business and have been in many hotels, 3 star, 4 star and 5 star and at best this is a 3 star hotel. I have no idea how this place could be rated as a 4 star.

There are many negative things I can tell you about this place starting with the Staff's bad attitude, fountain as a pool, lack of cleanliness, hard beds, poor internet, paint peel from walls, no chain locks on doors, mold on bath mat, nasty smell in room, dirty carpet and much more . Since khelm"s review in 2006, this place has only got worse. Needless to say, I check out and found a better place because I value my health and comfort. http://www.laffayette.com.mx/ The photos on thier web site are much better then in real life and must have been taken many years ago.

JLS

  • Liked — !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JLSWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

I stayed here during a business trip earlier this month. No one in our party plans to stay here again.

On a positive note, we enjoyed the neighborhood and the staff was friendly even if they were not knowledgeable about the area (they are only a few blocks from some of the nicest restaurants in Guadalajara, but no one at the front desk could recommend anywhere to eat or anything to do in the area) or about the hotel (the member of our party who had reserved a room with a king-size bed, was given the room with two doubles and those who needed two beds were given the king).

The carpets were so dirty and smelly that I couldn't bring myself to walk on the floor barefoot. Also, the sewage gas smell in the rooms was unbearable during the night. Mattresses were not very comfortable. And the service in the hotel restaurant was so slow and indifferent that I walked out after being seated and then being ignored for more than ten minutes -- and they probably still haven't noticed.

We had a meeting room off the lobby (El Salón Petite). No windows and no ventilation. Close to unbearable.

There are lots of nice places to stay in Guadalajara. This isn't one of them.

  • Liked — Staff was friendly
  • Disliked — Staff was not knowledgeable; rooms were dirty.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guadalajara hotels

MP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

Where to begin. I can tell the story of this hotel in 5 facts

1. Lets start with the pool. We entered the lobby of the hotel, check in, and did what we always do; look for the pool. we saw a little pond in the center of the hotel, with a fountain and thought nothting of it. after 15 minutes of searching, we found out, that was to pool. About 15 feet at its widest spot, and 3 feet deep at most; it was dirty, cold, and had a nasty slime on the pools surface.

2. Next comes the staff. Yes, they spoke English, but they were rude, and mean. A girl in our travel group was walking into the lobby when a worker asked if she thought he was ugly, she said no, but he thought she said yes, yelled at her, and made her cry.

3. Next comes the elevator. It felt like a plane landing at the end, because you drop like 4 feet at the end. They feel like they're going to fall when they creak and groan as the climb SLOWLY to the top. Oh, don't bother looking at the floor gauge, its messed up and always read 8 or 9 or 1.

4. The floor was soft in spots, and wet with something, it smelled and wasn't clean.

5. The windows. Now no matter how much I research it, I cannot find out why there was a 5 inch gap on every window between the wall and the window frame. I could stick my hand out into the air. This helped explain the bubbling carpet and wet floors.

Over all, this hotel royally stunk. Do not go there ever!!!!!!

  • Liked — Absolutley Nothing
  • Disliked — Everthing
  • Tips/Secrets — !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Don't Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank khelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
207 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

The Laffayette Hotel is located in the business district and with in walking distance of down town. The rooms are nice, the staff is particularily agreeable and welcoming and the food is completely adequate. The bar has entertainment every night for a coupld of hours which is very nice. They also make the best Michelades I've found in a long while.

The hotel has a parking garage for persons with vehicles and tours will pick up at the front door. It isn't fancy but it is friendly, clean and very reasonable and well worth the consideration.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guadalajara hotels
0.2 mi away
LA FE Hotel and Arts
LA FE Hotel and Arts
#10 of 121 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Madonna
Casa Madonna
#94 of 121 in Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ganz
Villa Ganz
#2 of 121 in Guadalajara
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Demetria
Hotel Demetria
#12 of 121 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portobelo Hotel
Portobelo Hotel
#23 of 121 in Guadalajara
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Morales Historical & Colonial Downtown Core
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laffayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laffayette Hotel

Address: Av. La Paz # 2055, Guadalajara 44140, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 121 Hotels in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Laffayette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Laffayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laffayette Hotel Guadalajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing