We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guadalajara Plaza Expo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Guadalajara Plaza Expo to your Saves list
Guadalajara Plaza Expo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mariano Otero, 3261 | Prolongación Avenida de las Rosas, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Guadalajara
NL
1 review
“Details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Heating system didn't work.
Bathtub was broken. Even when it was not an impediment to take a nice bath, it looked bad.
Wi-Fi works pretty slow, even when I didn't play any videos or music (as per hotel regulations)

Pro:
Good noise isolation
Quick service Check-in / Check-out

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    123
    55
    17
    8
See reviews for
55
30
11
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

After a long bus ride from Michoacán. I had to look for a hotel. Out of the various choices in Guadalajara, this hotel is the one that got my attention. It has an upscale feel, very clean, and friendly staff. Checking in was a breeze. The room itself was very nice. Flat screen TV with some English speaking programs... loved it. I didn't use any of the amenities such as room service or or pool.

Would I stay here again? You betcha! Guadalajara Plaza Expo, I will be seeing you REAL soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Guadalajara! Thank you to share your comments about your recent stay in your home away from home. On behalf of our entire staff, we feel very pleasant that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all.
Guadalajara Plaza Expo is located in the most important business area of Guadalajara, we are the ideal place to enjoy the city regardless of the reason for your trip. Located very close to everything this beautiful city has to offer: business, dining, nightlife, shopping, and culture – yet far enough to ensure a relaxing and tranquil retreat.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Best experience of whole time there was the assertiveness of one restaurant waiter who took it upon himself to bring me a room service menu.
The rest of my experience. I leave it up to you to judge

When we arrived we stood at reception and waited 10 minutes. The staff didn't acknowledge us nor did they seem to work with any urgency.
Take a seat" or " I will be with you in one moment" would of been fine. The room price changed 3 times. The first price by booking.com. The 2nd after they decided to exchange. Then added another 200 pesos. The lady didn't speak English. And can't across nervous. Intact the waiter spoke better English. I called up to find out what time check out was. The lady said midday even though the information in the hotel room said 13pm. Breakfast was ok. The strawberry smoothie was awful. The bath tub leaked. It would of been cheaper in the end to take up the offer advertised for a double on the advertising board of the hotel. Disappointed in a hotel that undervalues its clients. Poor international hotel wannabe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to top floor for better views of night sky. Front of hotel can be traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Greetings from Guadalajara!
Please allow me to start by thanking you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your stay, we are happy to know that you chose us for your business trip in this beautiful city.
With great concern I learnt about your opinion after your experience in our resort. We deeply regret your dissatisfaction for the inconvenient during your stay.
We hope you will permit us the chance to host you once again on your next visit to Guadalajara and recuperate your trust in Guadalajara Paza Expo.

Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very good hotel, nice rooms, pool and gym area, and very good location. Also the prices are excelent as well as the staff crew very caring to the clients. The concierge was very helpfull giving maps and tips about Guadalajara, for example the Jose Cuervo Express Tour, which was AMAZING!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Mrs. Natasha,
Thank you for your recent stay and posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Guadalajara Plaza Expo guests have.
We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and services our great team is always happy to please any request.
We are very happy to hear that we were up to your expectations.
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I give this place five stars because of the exceptional service. It's true--the rooms were dated and not very sound proof but all the other amenities more than made up for those two minor details.

The pool was beautiful, the gym was small but new and clean and sufficient for my needs. The restaurant food was very good.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Particulary the bellhop Mario--Wow! His service was above and beyond helpful. He spoke English, he knew me by name, he gave me pointers on where to eat and what to do. The front desk was accommodating and friendly.

And, the icing on the cake, the hotel is across from a chocolate cereal or candy company and every once in a while you'd get this wafting scent of chocolate. Just added to the ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Mrs. Annie,
We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the Guadalajara Plaza Expo Experience, our accommodations, meals, gym, restaurant and services, all those details are part of our brand and the compromise that we have to offer to our guests.
I will extend your regards to our staff, thank you for your positive reviews. Your comments are really appreciated; reviews like this one motivate us to keep up the hard work.
Warm Regards,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COA, MEXICO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stood there fo an Expo, location, food and service were excellent, but it seems it is an old hotel, because bathrooms, baths and sinks look old and really could use a renewal!

It had WIFI service and for a business trip is super helpful

other than that is ok!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Mrs. Karina,
Greetings from Guadalajara! Thank you to share your comments about your recent stay in your home away from home. On behalf of our entire staff, we feel very pleasant that you enjoyed all the hotel facilities at all.
Guadalajara Plaza Expo is located in the most important business area of Guadalajara, we are the ideal place to enjoy the city regardless of the reason for your trip. Located very close to everything this beautiful city has to offer: business, dining, nightlife, shopping, and culture – yet far enough to ensure a relaxing and tranquil retreat.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Greetings,
Leaslie Gómez / lgomez @hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I didn't like it too much because the décor was a little dated and the bath area flooded because of poor drainage. Had to change rooms because the carpet was wet from the dirty water coming from the drainage hole late at night. To their credit, they did send someone up to help me move to another room pretty quickly, but I wouldn't stay here again if I can help it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Guadalajara Plaza Expo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
On behalf of Guadalajara Plaza Expo Hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion that definitely helps us to make sure that all our services and facilities fill up our client’s standards.
We also would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. We are taking care of your recommendations and taking the necessary steps in order to avoid these situations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guadalajara Plaza Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalajara Plaza Expo

Address: Avenida Mariano Otero, 3261 | Prolongación Avenida de las Rosas, Guadalajara 44510, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guadalajara
#17 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalajara Plaza Expo 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2009 The Guadalajara Plaza Expo Hotel features spacious rooms that offer modern amenities such as complimentary wireless internet access, spacious executive work area and more. The Guadalajara Plaza Expo Hotel is in the center of Guadalajara, where you will find Plaza de Armas, Libertad Market, the Colonial Cathedral and many more cultural relics of Mexico’s colonial history. After a long day sightseeing in the area, take a break and splash into our heated rooftop swimming pool or work out in our fitness center featuring state-of-the art equipment. You can take a scenic jog on our outdoor terrace featuring a jogging track. Whether you’re visiting Guadalajara for business or pleasure, you'll find the right accommodation to make your stay in this charming locale a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guadalajara Plaza Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalajara Plaza Expo Hotel Guadalajara
Plaza Expo Hotel Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guadalajara Plaza Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.