We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lot Of Small Things Wrong Here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Ninos Heroes 3089 | Jardines De Los Arcos, Guadalajara 44500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #57 of 114 Hotels in Guadalajara
USA
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
1,114 helpful votes 1,114 helpful votes
“A Lot Of Small Things Wrong Here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This hotel is not bad but it is mostly like you would expect in Mexico. Not a lot working like it is supposed to be with the exception of their credit card machine and/or payment clerk collecting funds for the hotel stay. That part works flawlessly and seems to be overstaffed. The rest of the hotel needs some attention. Internet slow and barely works, and sometimes doesn't work at all. Food service very slow and usually incorrect from what you ordered. But the rooms are decent and the stay is not bad. Good area around hotel and in a good location close to things. Just have to remember you are not in the USA. You are in Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGdl, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Larry8241
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, some things may be out of sight from us and only our very valued Guest can warn us from small details that make big changes in perception. We will improve our systems to make them more efficient.

Cordially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
8
7
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Select for 3 days while on business. We used a business room in the salon for two days of meetings. Professionalism if the staff was excellent and I would recommend! Rooms were nice and clean. Overall hotel was older and could use a few updates, but was nice acceptable and I would stay again next time I'm in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGdl, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciable Marc M
Gracias por su amable opinión, es muy importante para nosotros conocer la percepción de nuestros huéspedes e ir a las aéreas especificas de sus necesidades. Siempre será un placer recibirle y que los esfuerzos por mejorar día a día sean visibles y hagan mas agradable su estancia con nosotros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel is very clean, relatively modern and in a good location. I was not recognized as a Platinum Ambassador when I arrived as is customary and I paid to be upgraded to the Executive Floor. The staff were in general very personable, the room was clean and comfortable and the majority of the service was very good. The one failing was the Bar. They advertise a happy hour starting at 6pm with two for one cocktails. We arrived around 6pm and the bar opened just after 6pm. We were served a drink and then proceeded to have a couple more before retiring early. When the bill arrived we were not afforded the two for one pricing and when we enquired we were provided with an apology and advised that the tab had not been set up correctly and that they could not change it at that time, hence a "double" bar tab. This was mentioned to the front desk manager when we checked out and he said he would look into it but we have not heard anything further.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGdl, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Clive TPR
We apologize behalf our staff for this uncomfortable situation, We do recognize your Platinum member in a regular stay , when you use your accumulated points for a reward night it is not possible for the hotel to Up Grade the room, thank you for your understanding.
The promotion Two for One will be applied, Thank You for our feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. The elevators need upbrading. The internet was not working properly in the romos. I was upgraded to the executive floor as being a Platinum Member. I was toured through four different romos until we found one that has Access to internet. Still not working very good.
The executive room in lacking of service. I suggest to hae a freezer with wáter and soft drinks, as these are only available in the afternoon,

Room Tip: If you need Access to internet make sure it is working before installing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGdl, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear ETame
Thank you for so valuable feedback, as a member of our program you are aware of our needs and opportunity areas. We will check our Wi-Fi connection to the rooms to make your next stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I don’t really like to be that harsh, but this is something that Left me perplex, I stayed 1 night at this hotel this past weekend, I checked inn all good with the lady that made my registration, the hotel is old it looks a bit worn down, so I went to my room, bed mattress has seen better days, all in all the hotel is old, but that’s not a real deal for me, I’ve stayed at older places and for the rate and location you are paying it’s all good, however, when I arrived to the room later that night, around 12 PM I called for room service, the lady who took my order was great, she was funny, attentive to my needs and with great suggestions, so the time came and the waiter knocked on my door, I looked through the peephole and I saw the waiter with his tray, so I opened the door and he did not say a word, not a single greeting, nor “may I come in” nothing, he almost knocked me down as he rushed into the room, he did not asked where I wanted the food to be placed he just lay down his tray handed me the bill, and all this as I watched shocked at his bad manners and lack of service, believe me I have had bad service before, but this was by far the worst waiter I have encountered in my whole life. This man needs urgently to be trained to do his job well and they way it is supposed to do, se he handed me the bill, I signed the check, I even gave him a tip!!!! Silly me! And he did not even say Thank you, nothing, he rushed back at the door and then, he spoke…… good night…. That was all his word in the 3 – 4 minutes that passed, I hope the manager sees this, not to take action for that person, but to realize that his people need training, standards so they are able to deliver good service, the waiter’s name is Jesus, I saw his name tag as I watched in awe all this.
The next morning check out ran swiftly, they just had an issue with the credit card terminals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGdl, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Freaxs

This is in regards with your E-mail informing about the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara.

We deeply appreciate your time and interest and behalf our entire staff, we give you our most sincere apology for this inconvenience.

This matter is being thoroughly looked into so we can take the necessary actions to supervise our staff training.

You are a valued guest and your comfort and well being are our greatest concern. Please be sure that this situation will not happen again, please contact me or concierge staff for your next reservation at gcuartos@hisguadalajara.com.mx or concierge@hisguadalajara.com.mx

We are looking forward for your next reservation, we are sure you will experience the warm attention of our Staff.


Sincerely,

Norma Meza Rios
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was extremely immaculate. The location was excellent for business, shopping and banking. Close to excellent restaurants. Accessible to great public transportation. This is my go to hotel in Guadalajara.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGdl, Rooms Division Manager at Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jrankw:

This is in regards with your evaluation of the Hotel Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara.

We deeply appreciate your time and interest for bringing this matter to our attention.

You are a valued guest and your comfort and well being are our greatest concern.

Sincerely,

Rooms Division Manager
Norma Meza Rios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean and safe. Staff anxious to be helpful, but ability to speak English was more limited than I would have expected. Beds were very hard, which was fine by me, but might have been an issue for others. Restaurant had English translations for menu items, and some "american" choices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara

Address: Ave. Ninos Heroes 3089 | Jardines De Los Arcos, Guadalajara 44500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernity, Location, and efficiency. Land of Mariachi and Tequila. The Holiday Inn Select Hotel is located in the best area of the city close to Expo Guadalajara and main avenues, surrounded by business and shopping centers:Galerías, Gran Plaza and Centro Magno, only 20 minutes away to airport , 10 minutes to downtown area, 10 minutes from financial center, (Banamex - City group, BBVA Bancomer, Santander and others) 20 minutes from Tlaquepaque and Tonala towns and 10 minutes from the industrial zone. !Live Tequila Express and Tequila Cuervo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara Hotel Guadalajara
Holiday Inn Guadalajara
Guadalajara Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.