We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Guadalajara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Mendoza

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Mendoza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Mendoza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Venustiano Carranza 16 | Centro Histórico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 110 hotels in Guadalajara
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Downtown Guadalajara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent three nights at "Hotel de Mendoza" in early August. The hotel is in the heart of the historical district. You can walk to many historical landmarks: churches, Teatro Degollado, squares, etc. The Tapatio tour bus leaves 3 blocks from the hotel and takes you on different circuits around Guadaljara, Zapopan, Tonalá and Tlaquepaque, which I found worth taking. The area is pretty safe during the day. At night, as in any other city, you need to be more careful. As far as the hotel, it is an old hotel, decently maintained, the rooms are spacious and they have everything you need. Yes, the mattress was hard but after touring Mexico for 17 days, I realized it is the norm. My room did not have a great view, although I paid for what they call a "superior" room. I am not sure if I regret it or not, cause the pool area gets noisy with children in the afternoon. My fare included the continental breakfast, which I tried one morning. It is not bad (ask for a fruit plate instead of the juice), but for only a few more pesos, you can have a "Mexican breakfast" or a buffet breakfast on Sunday (many Mexican traditional dishes are served). To describe the hotel staff I would say: some of them are "rather friendly and smile", while others are "correct" and simply do their jobs. They work at their own pace, which sometimes we perceive as "slow" compared to American standards. I consider it "correct". Why should we eat in a rush? Overall, the experience was very good. The price is unbeatable for the location and the service they provide you. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments about of the Hotel, this are very important for us.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit ti this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    81
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
31
36
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Mendoza is an older hotel with character which has been well maintained. The suites are spacious and face the street; other rooms face the courtyard or have an added sitting area. The beds are very hard, as are many in Mexico. The breakfast served in their restaurant was very good, but service can be slow. One of our group had paid for the breakfast included option, which was not worth it. It only included only fruit or juice and bread and coffee. Better to go with the a la carte. It is very convenient to walk to museums, the theater, the cathedral, the governor's palace and the mercado libertad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
Your comments are very important for us, to improve our service.
I expect to see you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We're from nearby Ajijic and stayed here on a Saturday night so we could catch a Sunday performance of Ballet Folklorico at Teatro Degollado with my sister, who was visiting. Perfect location, with easy walk to the theater, 1/2 block away. Also a great location for strolling the historic area in general. Temple of Saint Mary of Grace church is right next door, and served as the main church for Guadalajara from 1549 to 1618 - worth a visit if it's open. We had a nice view of the Guadalajara Cathedral spires from our room window on the 3rd floor. If you go up to the roof terrace, there are nice views of other churches and historic buildings as well.

Our room was #309, which was close to the elevator, but required going down a couple of steps or narrow ramp from the elevator. The room (suite) had lots of space, with two queen beds and a sitting area with table and chairs, plus a sofa. Beds were firm and comfortable, although the sheets were a little rough. Room A/C worked well, but we would have welcomed a fan to stir the air. There was one medium-size window in the room with black-out drapes... not a lot of light, but plenty of light fixtures in the room. The closet safe wasn't functional, so if that's an issue for you, be sure to inquire when checking in or making reservations. Bathroom was small but nice, with sitting area at the end of the tub for showers, etc. Toiletries, hair dryer, iron & ironing board are provided. The toilet in our room flushed VERY slowly, but did the job even under heavy load. Lots of tile, granite and marble provided a feeling of elegance. Everything was pretty clean but worn. That's to be expected in such an old building!

Breakfast for two was included with the room, but only a continental breakfast, so we opted to pay a few pesos more for the full hot buffet breakfast, which was quite nice... recommended. 5-6 hot items, plus toast, cereal and LOTS of fruit. The orange juice was wonderful. Not sure if they have the full breakfast every morning, or just on Sunday. It was fairly busy by the time we left (around 9:15), so you might want to go early if you wish to avoid a crowd. Even though there were three of us in the room and our reservation included an extra person charge, we only received vouchers for two breakfasts, so the third was full price.

Hotel staff were all very pleasant. Many spoke English, which was helpful. Secure, inside valet parking is available just past the hotel main entry (1-way street in front). Overall, a very good visit and we'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to inquire since this is an old building with some "adjust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
Your comments are very important for us, to improve our service.
I thank your preference and expect to see you again in your next visit ti this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and we had a lovely time. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the location is excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Guadalajara.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the service.
Your comments are very important for us.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I picked the Mendoza because of the reviews and was NOT disappointed. Friendly staff, wonderful Mexican breakfest and cold cervesa. Location is perfect for sightseeing and shopping for a nonspanish speaking gringo..Will recommend to anyone visiting Guadalajara and look forward to staying at de Mendoza in the future..PS must ride the tequila express...Hasta luego

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent service and location, the food is great and the rooms are big and comfy. The only drawback is no mini-fridge and microware in the room but otherwise is great!! I will recommend to anyone!! Prompt service, friendly, polite, and comfortable location.

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Really nice hotel with a perfect location for tourism. Staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Restaurant is worth checking out - breakfast is great but so is the rest of the menu. Short cheap cab ride to places outside the central district. Rooms show its age a bit and the pool is nothing, but it beats the soul-less high rise chains. Only downside is no bar - beer in the restuarant though.

Room Tip: Choose the two larger of the four rooms - still cheap and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erika188, Gerente at Hotel de Mendoza, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the service of the Hotel.
I thank your preference and I expect to see you again in your next visit to this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Mendoza

Address: Calle Venustiano Carranza 16 | Centro Histórico, Guadalajara 44100, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Guadalajara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Guadalajara
#24 Business Hotel in Guadalajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Mendoza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Mendoza Hotel
De Mendoza Guadalajara
Hotel Mendoza Guadalajara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Mendoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.